We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly manager”
Review of Kristiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kristiana
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Very good location for skiing, good food, very friendly service at dining room.
Too many smokers at the bar. The bar smells with cigarettes. Not good for kids.
Management not very friendly and helpful at solving problems with room, it was quite disappointing.
There are certainly friendlier accommodations in Saalbach!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 535michal535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife and I plus two friends have just returned from Saalbach and the Kristiana Hotel. Whilst we agree with many of the comments made by previous guests and do not wish to over old ground, we must say that the food and service is excellent and the postion of the Kristiana good if you want be just off the main drag as we prefer. The wellness centre is clean and modern and well worth a visit. The decor of our room was dated but our friends room was good so I suppose it depends on your views and luck of the draw. A special mention for Claudia who runs the bar and reception on a evening, nothing was too much for her, she was friendly, charming and always had a smile for us. Would have no problems recommending the Kristiana.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hryzko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just back from a great skiing week in Saalbach where we stayed with Crystal at the Kristiana Hotel.

It was mostly everything you would want. Good service, friendly staff, lovely food (although the arrival dinner on Saturday night was only all right - but we putty that down to them trying to cater for guests arriving at all sorts of peculiar times). It has a nice sauna area (mostly unused and not used at all by Brits due to the nudity), small games room, good ski storage etc. The rooms are a little basic but are spotless, cleaned, serviced and towels changed daily. The hotel is well positioned, three minutes walk from the Berkogenbahn lift and near to but far enough away from the resort centre to avoid night time noise.

We have two issues. The first is that apart from the quite small and sometimes very smoky bar there is no where to sit. It has no lounge. To get away from the smoke, on three evenings we retreated to the restaurant and played cards in there. The staff and manager were ok with this so we suspect it has happened before.

The other issue is the cat. She is a gentle friendly creature, but if, like me, you suffer from a cat allergy then her presence can only be difficult as she is allowed to freely roam around the hotel. We encountered her in the bar - of course, the lift, the dining room and the lobby (where she settled comfortably on our ski bag the moment we arrived). Anecdotally we also heard from other guests that she had been in their rooms and, as I woke up streaming more than once we did wonder if she had been in ours when it was cleaned. The effect was this spoiled things for us as I had to put up with the symptoms of a severe cold all week - due only to the cat. It could have been much worse though as I usually get very severe asthma attacks when exposed. Fortunately (and possibly due to the fact that the hotel was kept spotlessly clean so no cat fur spores were left around) I escaped this.

I make a point of this because there was no mention of the cat in anything we saw from Crystal and we think there should have been. Quite simply, we would have gone elsewhere if we had known and we made this clear to the Crystal rep as there are many people who suffer from the same issues. I can only envy the guests who could pet the cat - who was really a very nice and popular animal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mousie401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We found the service excellent and the staff were always friendy, helpful, attentive and thoughtful. The food was always of a very high standand and only served when we were ready for the next course. Our room was a good size and comfortable. The ski room is the largest we have been in with heated boot storage and lots of room for sitting down. The hotel is well situated, close to lifts to both Saalbach and Hinterglemm systems. I would happily recommend this hotel for anyone, including families, who wish to visit this ski area, summer or winter.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EandIonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just back from a great skiing holiday in Saalbach. Stayed at the Kristiana and was shocked that the cat was allowed to roam around anywhere in the hotel and also in the dining room when guests were having dinner and breakfast, totally unhygienic and would be unacceptable here in the UK. On one occasion the cat was trying to jump onto our table as dinner was being served. One day the cat was sick in the hotel lobby, it was disgusting.

Our room was number 205 which was very much in need of a refurbish. There was flaurecent lights at the side of the bed which would have blinded you we had to cover them up with maps of the resort. There was a half inch gap in the bedroom door we had to drape a dressing gown down the side of the door to have some privacy.The only good thing about the Kristiana was the food but the cat would put most people of, on that note we would not go back and stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We found the hotel friendly and welcoming. The food was extremely good and nicely presented. Everything was unhurried and gave you a relaxed feel about the stay. Would definately recommend this hotel, the friendly family, comfortable rooms, plus the excellent quality of all meals. In addition Saalbach is attractive and has excellent access to lifts with brilliant walking and mountain views.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are very quiet if you wish for a silent night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff are so helpful and hospitable. The food is first class and total cleanliness throughout.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
2 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#14 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#10 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
255 reviews
0.8 mi away
ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#1 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bauer
Hotel Bauer
#24 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alpine Palace
Hotel Alpine Palace
#9 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
378 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design H...
#16 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kristiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kristiana

Address: Oberdorf 40, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#14 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range: £232 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kristiana 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kristiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristiana Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing