We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Theresia Gartenhotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a large family group for 1 week in sunny March. The service and friendliness of the staff was second to none. Food quality superb. Our room was really well laid out and appointed for our family of 6. Location to skiing and village was excellent. Kids facilities very good. Indoor and outdoor pool and spa very attractive. All told, it was a marvellous hotel in a wonderful setting. I hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    43
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
261
189
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very nice hotel. Very well located, much better than being in centre of Hinterglemm (where busses are not allowed). Busstop right outside hotel to all main lifts (which have a busstop !).
Very nice rooms - well maintained. Very good food.
Hotel had a lot of guests with children at the time - those with and those without were well seperated - demonstrates the thought and care taken by the owners / staff.
Well worth considering if you want a stay in Hinterglemm - would be top of my list for a further stay.

Good sound insulation between rooms, but hardwood floors (in bedrooms) - which are nothing like as good at sound absorbing as carpets - hence, if you get noisy / "heavy" people above (as I did for the first two nights - from c5:30 to c7:30 a.m.) it can be a bit of a problem.
However, basically could not hear later "normal" guests.
Noise disturbance was movement related - dragging chairs / slamming doors / etc. - so could occur in any hotel and the only thing the hotel can do about it is to fit carpets - not hard floors.
(A pet hate of mine, in hotels, as you may have deduced !)

Only other "negative" was that only seemed to be able to book via (automated) email or via Inghams - I'm certain they would be booked up more in advance if it was easier - though perhaps this is a "positive" from the point of view of those of us who have stayed !!.

In conclusion, doubt you will find a better place to stay in Hinterglemm - unless you want night-club atmosphere 24 hours a day !.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a great week in the Theresia Gartenhotel. Staff are friendly, hotel is beautiful, and the food exceptional.
Great kids club for the kids.
Ski school right on the doorstep of the hotel. Very helpful staff although the kids ski school was very busy over school holiday period.
We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaylorPLBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Cannot understand the negative reviews. We found the food to be fantastic and all the staff were friendly. Wonderful family atmosphere was helped by the kids taking the ski school together which helped them make friends.

Fantastic room, quiet, clean and spacious.

Hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We enjoyed a lovely Christmas here on the Winter Special package over Christmas week.
Upon arrival (after a long drive) we were greeted by friendly staff who offered us a drink and chance to start to unwind before heading to our room. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. The hotel all feels extremely well laid out, modern and homey at the same time. We felt like we were at home within a couple of days, relaxed and able to just take it easy.
All of the meals are outstanding and the staff were all very friendly, knowledgable and professional. It is like they're all one big family, working well together and trying very hard to make everyones stay special. Some of the staff are exceptionally professional and patient, as we witnessed during some testing times during meals times with some of the guests. Being at the front end of customer relations can be exhausting and draining when dealing with people who are difficult or just plain rude, we really felt for some of the staff.
We enjoyed the spa area, although the outdoor pools did seem to end up like kids play grounds in the late afternoons when parents just leave their kids to run wild whilst they stay in doors oblivious to the madness going on outside. This meant that the outdoor pool and hot tub became no go areas during kids play time (which also fell to just when the skiers return and fancy a soak in the hot tub). However, this is not exactly a fault of the hotel, more of the parents.
Areas are well signposted around the hotel, however, as there is clearly such a high number of Russian guests attracted to this hotel, I would suggest that some of the signs are also translated into Russian. This would save the inappropriateness of Russian children wandering into the adults only spa area etc.
I would recommend this hotel and we hope to return some time in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biscuits_in_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

After a fantastic week in the Theresia Gartenhotel, I can wholeheartedly recommend it. The service is exceptional, from being greeted with a glass of fizzy wine on arrival whilst our bags were whisked away to our room, to the extremely helpful, friendly waiting staff. The reception staff were lovely, and even the cleaning ladies went out of their way to be friendly. Absolutely first rate service.

The food was excellent throughout. As a vegetarian, good food is often hard to come by in typical ski hotels, but this hotel is far from typical. The salad bar was excellent, and four further vegetarian courses were varied and delicious every night. A fish option was also available for each starter/main courses. Breakfast was a good selection, with omelettes available too. The fresh bread was beautiful. In short, we felt thoroughly spoiled by a week of wonderful food (I came home several pounds heavier!).

The hotel is in a quieter part of Hinterglemm, on the outskirts, but that suited us to a tee and was part of our reason for chosing it. It was just a 10 minute walk into the main part of town. Unfortunately, the piste which should have made it virtually ski back to door (piste 39a) was closed during our stay, but the ski bus runs regularly (every 20 mins) and we had no problems getting to lifts in a morning or coming back in the afternoon. There is a lift just a 5 minute walk (in ski boots) away, from which you can work your way round the ski circuit.

All in all, we could not find fault with the hotel, the food or the staff. After 10 years of skiing, this is the best hotel we have stayed in and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna_10111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuFerrera Hotel, Torrox
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our group of 4 adults & 1 child (2) have just returned from this hotel. From the moment we entered the doors to leaving we were spoilt. the staff did all they could to help with any query from the bedroom cleaning ladies, the waiters, the reception and the owners. The food was first class and beautifully presented. As you imagine with al a carte menu, the 5 courses for evening meal were not huge portions, but, after eating all 5 courses there was more than sufficient. The rooms typ3 were spacious and had a lovely balcony and outlook.The rooms were lovely and quiet overnight.
We took advantage of borrowing a pushchair and also a sledge which were free of charge. The childrens play room we also used a little.(you cannot leave a two year old for long) but while he was in there, he was secure, and loved it. It was quite funny to see our just gone two year old 'talking' to a german child of about four years old, goodness knows what the conversation was about.
My only negative comment was while I was reading one day with the balcony door open a cat walked silently in straight past me and sat at the door to go through into the corridor and into the hotel however. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation but I'd keep my doors closed

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brettermeier, Inhaber at Theresia Gartenhotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear family Mags,
thank you very much for your very nice review. We are very pleased, that you liked your stay in our house so much. Please excuse the bad behavior of our 16-year-old black (with a white spot under the chin) family cat Peter. Unfortunately, he will never understand that not the whole hotel is his home, but only our family apartment and terrace on the first floor of the hotel and the surrounding hotel garden.
We really hope to welcoming you again in our hotel! Please opt for a room/suite on the 2nd, 3rd,4th or 5th floor next time, because Peter is too old to jump upwards on your balcony and therefore you can then leave your balcony door open.
Kind regards from Saalbach-Hinterglemm,
Family Brettermeier & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.9 mi away
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
292 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#18 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
95 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theresia Gartenhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theresia Gartenhotel

Property: Theresia Gartenhotel
Address: Glemmtaler Landesstrasse 208, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Green Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Theresia Gartenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRADITION MEETS ECO-CHIC At the heart of Salzburg's Grass Mountains, the Gartenhotel Theresia Superior combines exclusive interior design and contemporary art with timeless tradition and ecological philosophy. The stylish "Mountain Green SPA" with heated indoor and outdoor pools, an organically certified gourmet cuisine (2 bonnets Gault Millau 2016), gorgeous rooms, children's club and ski slopes, lifts and partner skischool right on the doorstep as well as ski rental at the hotel. The proprietor also runs private tours through the hotel gallery, featuring artist like Andy Warhol. Free guided walks, biking tours and use of cable cars, tennis courts in summer. Additional guided tours with the hotel owner include trips to local organic farms. The hotel is selected member of: Health & SPA Premium Hotels, AllergyProfis - hotels & restaurants, Family Salzburger Land, Bio Paradies Salzburger Land, Autriche pro France Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Theresia Gartenhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theresia Gartenhotel Saalbach
Theresia Gartenhotel Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing