We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks wonderful, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpin Juwel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpin Juwel
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Looks wonderful, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

The first impression was wonderful. But overall we were very disappointed.
The good things: the swimming pool and sauna, the breakfast buffet, the room, the bar (except for the smoking!!!)
The average things: 5 min. walk to the slopes (not on the slopes as mentioned), the atmosphere, the friendliness, the dinner
The disappointing things: only fast-food for the kids (every day french fries), badly organized, dirty halls and ski cellar, many things of the offer was not available at the end (massage, snow-bikes, toboggan, ski pass in hotel,..) and they even tried to change the price from the offer afterwards,....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mar3522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    52
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
84
129
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We have been to Ellmau several times over the last ten years and have always wanted to stay at this hotel, it didn't disappoint and lived up to all our expectations. The food was fabulous and if we didn't venture out to the slopes each day would have had a rather unfortunate impact on our waist lines. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the bath was an added bonus for the aching muscles at the end of each day. The staff were extremely helpful.. especially the restaurant staff, the only blip in the holiday was the bar steward Peter who we found to be rather rude, unhelpful and preoccupied with flipping cocktails rather than serving waiting guests.
Ellmau is and will be for a long time one of my favorite places to ski and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

First impression.
Upon check in we realized the price of the apartment agreed in advance was not the same the hotel intended to charge (the difference was about 1.000 Euros - ???). The staff was understanding and helpful, but interestingly, only the email with the confirmation of the pre-agreed price was missing. After about 20 minutes, after we showed the email on the smart phone, did they „agree“ to the price. (We have thought the event was simply a misunderstanding, a lost in translation type of a deal,but the story is not over, read till the check out.)

If you park in the hotel, you will be charged 5 Euros per day extra (curiously, they did not charge for that at the end). Who came up with that?

Room.
Very nice in general. We had a great view of the slopes and the sitting area is cozy. If you prefer to sleep in a complete darkness, plan ahead – blinds are automated and take ages to slide down.

Food.
Predictable and dull; standard menu found in any Austrian place with little ambition and/or even less vision and skill. Good variety for breakfast, but for any other meal go elsewhere. Cheese fondue is to be avoided at any cost.

Wine/alcohol list.
Decent considering the food and relatively well priced.

Service.
Milena at the reception was friendly as well as the maintenance staff.

Waiters at the bar did not pay us much attention. I guess they were being busy serving other guests. Or, perhaps they were instructed to follow different rules:
• No1. Changing glasses between serving Malbec and Brunello is snobbish, do not do it!
• No2. If you serve wine, do not serve water...even if they ask for it 3 times!
• No3. Guests are not thirsty after a bottle of wine...if they want to order more, they are alcoholics and should not be served!
• No4. If the ordered wines are of the same color, do not change glasses - glasses are to be changed only for the dessert wine (however, double check if really necessary).
• No5. If a guest inconveniences you and draws the AmEx card, charge 2% extra...6 euros to cover your expense, on top of 300 he/she just spent is, well, priceless!

Check out.
Hotel again billed us the amount not agreed originally and discussed already at the check in. After a 10 minute discussion and three attempts to charge other amount did we finally get the bill for the amount confirmed at the reservation. But, that's not all...we were also charged for a dinner you did not have.


Overall.
I can still try to convince myself, billing issues were all about the coincidence, a bug in a billing system, or whatever... Still, considering experiences with service in a presence of owners and seeing how the hotel is run in general, it seems our problems were due to management policies and procedures.

Alpin Juwel is simply a badly managed place. The staff, as much as they try to, cannot compensate for the lack of common sense and simple human courtesy in running the hotel. It’s a shame.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank igor2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We went on a one week wintersports vacation to Saalbach-Hinterglemm and this turned out to be a great place to stay.
I will describe our stay in the following 6 categories: 1: hotel 2: rooms 3: Food 4: Location 5: service 6: Spa/Pool
1: Hotel
The hotel has been completely renovated, expanded and reopend half of December 2012. It is in an impecable state! For the people going on wintersports, they have a heated storageroom for your equiptment with lockers that work with your roompass. The lockers offer heated shoe/warmers as well!
2: Rooms
The room we stayed was completely new. The bathroom was spick and span, had double sinks and a large bathtub with showercabin. The bed was comfortable and had blankets. The room had a balcony with a great mountainview.
It offered enough space for your (wintersports) clothes and was spacious in general.
See pictures attached.
3: Food
We booked the stay including breakfast and went out to dinner once at night at the hotel restaurant.
The breakfast is very versatile and has a lot of options to choose from. There are fresh regional products and there is a chef preparing all sorts of eggs with or without filling. You can get freshly squeezed orangejuice and great coffee. The waiters will service your table to bring you coffee and anything else you ordered.
They offer a wide variety of breads, cheeses, sausages, fish, fruits, yoghurts, oatmeals, juices , dried fruits and jams.
But most important of all, the quality of the produce was outstanding.
The dinner was of great quality, but rather pricy compared to eating out. (€55 for 2 compared to approx. €40 for eating out)
4: Location
It is ideally situated in a side street of the main village road. Hinterglemm itself is a small village and everything is within walking distance, even with ski shoes on. ;)
You have the Reiterkögelbahn within 300 meters walking and the Ubahn lift within about 500 meters from the hotel.
Since the hotel is centrally located, you might think you would hear some of the party outside going on, but none of that. The rooms pointed towards the slopes, so you don't have village noices, besides that, the Apres-ski finishes at 20/21 the latest.
Right next to the hotel is a pharmacy and 50 meters down the street there is a bank for your withdrawls.
The village itself offer various places to eat of which we tried 5 of them (reviews coming soon). Quality and quantity seems to be outstanding everywhere in Hinterglemm.
5: Service
Service during breakfast was always great. Service during dinner at the restaurant was great too, except the staff had problems explaining the a la carte menu and daymenu etc.
Cleaning of the rooms was very thorough. Reception was good, depending on the staff helping you. Some of the reception staff was in a bad mood.
6: Spa/Pool
The massage was incredible, relaxing, good priced (€50 for 45minutes full-body) and really professional.
Indoor pool was quite fresh. Panoramic Sauna is beautiful. Spa and Sauna area are free of use and can be entered with your keycard.
-
Overall this was a great and relaxing vacation and the hotel certainly can take a big part of the credits for that!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank van_dijk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

If you are lucky enough to stay also in the newest part of the hotel , then your experience will be complete!
This is the perfect hotel for your sky holliday. Close to the slopes ( 5 min on foot), gourmet restaurant, stunning views from the room .. and nevertheless the owner is very nice , ready to help in any question ..
Enjoy it !!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.1 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design H...
#15 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Theresia Gartenhotel
Theresia Gartenhotel
#2 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.3 mi away
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.0 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpin Juwel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpin Juwel

Property: Alpin Juwel
Address: Haidweg 357, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#9 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#11 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpin Juwel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Lifestyle hotel Alpine Juwel****Superior sets itself a side through a unique scenic location directly at a ski slope and comprises a perfect blend of modern & traditional Austrian architecture. The hotel offers 2 restaurants, 3 cosy traditional "Stuben", 2 bars and a wine cellar were guests are able to enjoy a wide variety of Austrian specialities. An "over the edge" panorama pool is one of the highlights located at the 800 sq. Sun bathing rooftop, which now also has a new Apres Ski bar to offer. For relaxation the AJ-Veda Spa offers different services such as Ayurveda massages, natural cosmetics and power sleeping rooms. "Exclusive, individual, different" are the cornerstone concepts of the hotels motto and are reflected throughout every point of its offering. Alpin Juwel promises exclusive living, healthy Austrian cuisine with local products, a cosy atmosphere and a unique sleeping experience within a scenic location overlooking the valley. Book your individualized board concept with breakfast until noon, half board or a la carte and enjoy more special services like wine tasting, 3x live music, a ski-day taking you to a private chalet, Ski VIP service with shuttle, ski pass service, ski school service, parking garage, children programs including child care, direct access to the town centre through our guest elevators and much more. We are looking forward to seeing you, Maria, Alex & the Juwel-Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alpin Juwel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport & Vitalhotel Ellmau Hotel Saalbach
Sport And Vitalhotel Ellmau
Sport Vitalhotel Ellmau Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing