We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - but loses a point for booking policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Familienresort Ellmauhof-das Feriengut
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great - but loses a point for booking policy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We travelled to this hotel in February 2013 with children aged (just) 3, 7 and 9 and staying in a Wellness Deluxe suite. I can't fault the hotel - the room was spotless, spacious and generally magnificent, while the hotel itself had thought of pretty much everything in order to make holidaying with small children stress-free. Special mention must go to the delightful Robbie in the creche - my daughter still asks about him 18 months on! The food was fantastic, too - especially the cake selection at afternoon tea.

However... I do have to make a negative comment about the booking policy for the hotel. Once you have stayed, when you check out you are given priority to book the same dates the following year. What this means is that if you are not immediately sure if you can spare the time, or are just a new customer trying to book in a popular period such as spring half term, you are very unlikely to be able to get a room. Having been unable to commit immediately after our February stay, we were told in March they were taking new bookings for the following year at the start of May. But when I tried to book on May 1st, all the rooms had gone to repeat customers. I am all for customer loyalty, but not to the point of the hotel being all but a 'closed shop'.

Again, my review should be five stars (and I feel spiteful removing one), but it is incredibly annoying that I will not be given a fair chance to stay again!

Room Tip: Valley views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagicOtter73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Familienresort Ellmauhof-das Feriengut, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear MagicOtter73,

we are very pleased that you find some time and that you wrote this review. Your satisfaction with the hotel, the staff and all the surroundings makes us proud.  
But we take your constructive criticism about our booking system very seriously and are discussing a lot about this topic. 
In our hotel we want to give our guests the chance to book again for the following year in the time when they stayed in our house because there are a few periods in the year, especially christmas and spring half-term, where we get a lot of booking requests. It should be a goodie for our regular guests to be able to book again in these highly requested periods. If they do not want to book again for these periods we open them to other guests in May. Unfortunately the period, in which you wanted to spend your holidays in our hotel, was already fully booked by our regular guests from that period and there were no more vacancies in May. We are very sorry about this inconvenience.
We send the best regards from Saalbach Hinterglemm, 

Family Schwabl and the Ellmauhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    25
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
126
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Coming from Australia, we don't get too many opportunities to take the family skiing in Europe, so we researched our hotel very carefully because we didn't want to waste a rare visit. We are a family of five, with kids aged 9, 7 and 5, and the grandparents joined us for the week too. At the top of our list of the things we were looking for in our hotel: clean, kid friendly, and close to the snow.

After much research, we came across Elmauhoff. The images of the rooms were what we were looking for and the reviews were very helpful to see that it didn't just cater for kids, but had the traditional Austrian hospitality that adults were looking for too. We certainly weren't disappointed! The kids absolutely loved the hotel and the staff. The rooms, buffet, activities, and general friendliness of the hotel (other guests and staff) meant that they felt welcomed and we could relax. The pool, with its slide, was an unexpected bonus, which we didn't visit until the third night because it wasn't really what we were looking for in the hotel experience, but then spent an hour every afternoon after skiing in the pool while the kids went up and down the slide until any energy left after skiing was comletely spent. Now they consider a slide an essential consideration for any hotel pick in the future!

There were a couple of gliches during the busy week we were there, when the bus transporting the kids to the ski school was too full and we were left waiting for 30 minutes for alternative transport to pick us up...not a great start to the week. But this was soon forgotten as we relaxed into a fantastic family holiday. And I must note as an experienced skiier, I really appreciated the ski guided tour - a fantastic way to explore the whole mountain with a really nice local (and highly experience ex-olympian skiier) as host.

So, while it has now been 3 months since our trip, our kids still talk about the holiday as one of their best ever (and we travel a lot). My 9 year-old son wrote a very nice letter to the hotel last week that prompted me to write a trip adviser review. You guys at Elmauhoff deserve it, and the reviews really helped us make a choice that we will cherish as a holiday memory.

Thank you Famlienresort Elmauhoff-das Feriengut!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabella S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Familienresort Ellmauhof-das Feriengut, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Scott R,

many, many thanks for your positive feedback!
We are delighted that you and your family could spend such nice holidays in our hotel!

Of course we are already looking forward to welcoming you again,

With the kindest regards,
The Schwabl family and the whole Ellmauhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

You can pay so much more money in Hinterglemm and get significantly less for it. Great, friendly service, well designed rooms and everything your small (!) kids would ask for. All located with a great view over the village and direct access to the slopes. You have to be a lover of the salty Austrian cuisine, though. Food is plenty but average.

Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFoxhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabella S, Verkaufsleiter at Familienresort Ellmauhof-das Feriengut, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear LondonFoxhole,

thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel!

Already now we are looking forward to meeting you again.

Best wishes and regards,

The Schwabl Family and the whole eva,team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world traveller in Netherlands
Level Contributor
226 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel is located in Hinterglemm, near the slopes. You can access the slopes directly from the hotel, woth an easy blue slope next door. Just one lift further is a wealth of other slopes and lifts. The children ski lessons are in the centre of Hinterglemm, which is served by a train organized by the hotel and ski school. Furthermore there are regular buses going between the hotel and the centre.

The hotel itself is medium sized, specifically geared to children upto 12. Young children <4 can spend their time in the nursery, whereas our youngest daughter loved that. They have got several activities, like pony ride, treasure hunt etc etc. All well organized.

Our oldest daughters went to the ski classes in the city centre. Also well organized.

Rooms were large enough, unless you want to spend a lot of time in the room. Then it is too small. Bathrooms were nice, with added feature of a sink at kid's height.

The swimming pool is nice, and as described in other reviews consisting of a large one, and a baby pool (but also large enough to have a football team of toddlers playing around without them kicking each other). There are further play areas, and there is a petting zoo and pony stables to watch the animals.

The food is ok, but not really special. In general lunch is better than the evening meals. However when travelling with small kids, it was sufficient. Also great advantage that when your kid throws a tantrum, nobody even notices it.

One major disadvantage of the hotel was the lack of wifi. Only in the reception area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravellerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna M, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Familienresort Ellmauhof-das Feriengut, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear worldtravellerTom,

we want to thank you for your kind review here on Tripadvisor and we are very happy that you could spend lovely holidays at the Ellmauhof.

We would like to point out that we have several room types, all very well described and even with a 360 ° video on our website. So our guests can get a very good impression of our rooms - even before they book.
Concerning the lack of wifi we would like to explain that we do offer internet access in all rooms, but wifi is only available in the public areas of the hotel due to the rays. As a family hotel it is very important to us that the kids suffer as little as possible from electronic smog.

Maybe you would like to visit us again? This would be a real pleasure for us!

With the kindest regards from Saalbach Hinterglemm,
The Schwabl family with the entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel is very modern and nicely decorated. We had a large room for us parents and the kids had their own king size bed to share.

The kids club and and the ski school was pretty good but nothing really professional, your kid won´t get individual attention for the skiing lessons as the hotel employs only young, not so good, ski "teachers".

The good thing is that we as parents really could have some time on the piste and the kids enjoyed most of the activities.

The restaurant is ver nicely and fresh decorated but they have a huge buffet so theres that little stress everytime everybody wants to eat from the buffet, there is no way around it since the restaurant is connected to the buffet area.

The food is very average(read yeasterdays leftovers) buffet style mixed with ready menus (mostly good to really good).

We fully understand the logic of using the buffet this way, but the price we paid for the week is not reflected in the food for sure.

There are some nice and helpful staff and their are some older restaurant staff who is almost rude in their irritating ways, strange that they employ such different personalities?

All in all a great sunny week with snow and closeness to the pist from the hotel(you can ski in between), we would rate this resort to a 3.5 not mor but since the kids enjoyed it we might consider it for next year, but we will check around more...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmand24-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna M, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Familienresort Ellmauhof-das Feriengut, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Gourmand24-7,

thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy, that you and your family could spend lovely ski holidays with us.

Sorry, that you had the feeling that some of our kids club and ski school staff members were not professional enough and too young. We can assure you that they are all qualified for their profession and aged between 21 and 30. Our childcare team is also skilled with pedagogical education as it is required in all „Kinderhotels“ throughout Europe.

When it comes to the culinary lunch offer of the Ellmauhof, we want to inform you that everything is freshly made! During lunch time we offer a large buffet with several main dishes and side dishes such as salads, vegetables, pasta, potatoes, rice and so on. This is mainly used by the guests, who want to make a short stop in the hotel for a quick lunch and return to the slopes right afterwards.
For the guests, who want to spend more time in the hotel, we offer freshly cooked BBQ-dishes or light meals from our WOK.

As we read, your children loved it and want to come again to the Ellmauhof, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again next winter. So we have the
possibility to convince you – as parents – as well from our services.

Kind regards from Saalbach Hinterglemm
The Schwabl family with the entire hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just returned from the Ellmauhof

This was the 2nd year that we visited the Ellmauhof. I visited with just my 6 year old daughter last year and she loved visiting the stables and we were lucky that a foal was born when we were there. This year my 3.5yrs old daughter came as well.
They spent the morning in the kids club where Lenka made a real fuss of them, this allowed me to have 2.5hrs skiing and get back in time to join them for lunch. Then it was a combination of swimming, stables, pet zoo, toboganning or for my eldest daughter horse riding lessons. The amount of activity available in and around the hotel is fantastic and really keeps children occupied.

The hotel is really safe with my eldest daughter having a room key around her neck like many of the kids allowing her to stay in the play area later in the evening while the little one went to bed.

The quality of the accomodation is fantastic as is the food, no chicken nuggets and fries just lots of nice Austrian food for the kids. The drinks station is a fizzy drinks free zone too , which is a really helpful approach

All of the staff genuinely go out of their way to help you. Special mention to Lenka in the kids club, Anna and Karin who take the horse riding lessons and Sylvia and the other girls on reception. The family owners are normally in and around the restaurant and were happy for me to have someone for breakfast and lunch without any mention of a charge.

The problem now is the girls are expecting afternoon tea and cake everyday !!!. The girls were not too upset when they left as they have made me promise to take them back next year.

You'll notice no mention of the girls skiing. My eldest daughter had some lessons last year and didnt really enjoy it and I expected to be struggling to get any skiing myself this year but such is the variety of entertainment we all managed to do lots of what we enjoyed and most of it together as a family.

A wonderful week

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimski2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna M, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Familienresort Ellmauhof-das Feriengut, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Jimski2013,

wow, what wonderful words - thank you so much for this great review on our hotel! We are delighted that you and your daughters could spend lovely winter holidays with us at the Ellmauhof. We forwarded your feedback to our staff and all were really happy about it. It is always nice to hear that our service and effort is appreciated by the guests. What a motivation!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year already now and send the kindest regards from Saalbach Hinterglemm,
The Schwabl family with the entire hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Ellmauhof is a wonderful hotel that we will definitley be visiting again. There is so much to entertain both adults and children within the hotel and there's the skiing, which is ski in / out. The staff were very helpful and very child focused and the food was excellent and the choice each day was huge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyTulipNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna M, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Familienresort Ellmauhof-das Feriengut, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear DaisyTulipNorwich,

we want to thank you so much for your kind words and we are so happy that you could spend wonderful holidays with your family.
How great that you want to visit us again - we are looking forward to that already!

With the kindest regards from the Ellmauhof,
The Schwabl family with the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Theresia Gartenhotel
Theresia Gartenhotel
#2 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.1 mi away
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design H...
#15 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Familienresort Ellmauhof-das Feriengut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Familienresort Ellmauhof-das Feriengut

Property: Familienresort Ellmauhof-das Feriengut
Address: Ellmauweg 35, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#15 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Familienresort Ellmauhof-das Feriengut 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familienresort Ellmauhof ****SYour Spa, Sport and Riding ParadiseHere at the Ellmauhof the whole family can enjoy pleasant and adventurous holidays. The kids have fun at the daily child care from 1 year with lots of funny activities and the parents have time for themselves in order to enjoy beautiful holidays in the idyllic and at the same time exciting mountain scenery of Saalbach Hinterlgemm.Ellmauhof's highlights:- daily child care from 1 year- funny and adventurous mini, kids and teens program in summer & winter- professional riding school for beginners and advanced riders- indoor pool with tunnel slide- spa and vitality world- massages and beauty treatments- Ski course for the little one between 3 & 4 years in the winter directly at the hotel- lots of kids facilities such as: Adventure Gipsyland, Mini farm house, indoor petting zoo, 2 big playing areas, beachvolleyball area, football area, chill lounge with play station, nintendo wii, darts, billard, etc.- Cosy winter garden- wine cellar and a la carte restaurant RosslStube- and much much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Familienresort Ellmauhof-das Feriengut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Familienresort Ellmauhof-Das Feriengut Hotel Hinterglemm
Feriengut Hotel Austrian Alps

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing