We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Zwolferhorn Cable Car
from US$849.64
More Info
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
271
102
35
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
271
102
35
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spectacular views wolfgangsee gallen lakes ride zwolferhorn snow austria hallstatt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We were lucky and the weather was beautiful, the views stunning and we found a great rocking chair to sit in and enjoy the scenery and sun. Definitely worth a visit and the cable car is easy to find in St Gilgen

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank JEAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Had to wait a couple of days for cloud cover to clear before heading up but so worth the wait. Absolutely stunning views over lakes and mountains.
Nice restaurant/bar to have a snack or drink before descending.
Walk from station to summit requires a bit of effort if you are in your seventies

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Vanmann25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We headed up about 2:00, waited for the clouds to clear out at least somewhat. The line took about 15 minutes, very fast moving since the cars run continuously. The views from both angles, headed up and down were breathtaking, complete with cows grazing below. From the top, you can see all of the lakes and the water is stunning in shades or blue and green. It would be perfect on a clear day, but unfortunately for us, this was our only open day. It is chilly up top, so be sure to have something warm, which I know is hard when you are traveling in summer. Our rain shells provided good wind block. It was a bit crowded, but we were there in July, so expected. Although we did not hike down since we got a late start, I think it would be a great way to end the day.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank livealoha1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

It's worth doing this just for the wonderful views of the surrounding area, but obviously needs to be on a good weather day. The cars are very old, but are soon to be replaced. The ride is about 15 minutes, so a long way up. There is a cafe at the top, and a WiFi area.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We had great views on the way up and planned to go ahead on the pilstein route (1.5 hours, pretty flat)
But than a storm came and the cable car stopped. We didn't know when to expect it to start working again.
Eventually we made it:)

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank 992hagitn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews