We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a view!”
Review of Parkhotel Billroth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Parkhotel Billroth
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in St Gilgen
Reviewed 11 July 2013

beautiful hotel with huge bedrooms, some with a marvellous view on the lake. Big terrace, garden, calm, walking distance from the village. Nice staff.
Breakfast could be better by Austrian standards. Otherwise a real treat, but not a cheap one.

Room Tip: I recommend and I am rather picky! I did not try the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viennoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

On a motoring holiday, we wanted to stay right on the Austrian Lakes. We drove up to a few hotels a lakeside towns to inspect the rooms they had to offer. When we arrived at The Billroth, the staff showed us a spectacular lake view room which was available for the next three nights we wished to stay. We barely wanted to leave the room, rather sit and take in the stunning floor to ceiling view of the lake and the mountains in the background. Breakfast was included and was a stunning start to the day out on the terrace once again overlooking the lake. We also enjoyed our afternoon stroll down the path to the quaint town of Sankt Gilgen where we would stop to enjoy our coffees, strudel and ice creams. We will forever remember this part of the world and the Billroth!

Room Tip: Make sure you pay the extra for a lakeside room otherwise no point staying at a hotel with a stunnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Our travel club first went there in 2007. We loved it! We went again in 2010, and loved it again. We are going again next year. Can't wait.The tennis court, the private boathouse, the location on the side of the lake, the view and easy access to St Gilgen, St Wolfgang and Salzburg, sitting and dining on the terrace make it very desirable. The service is first class, the food is good. What more do people want? I find it incredible that someone would want to have a moan about somewhere like this. Are these people socially inept, or what? Get a life! Something said in Engish by a German is not always taken the right way, so don't get upset when you don't get the answer you expect.

Dave B

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed in July 2012 for a wedding that took place on site. Rooms were very spacious, modern, clean and comfortable - ours with a big terrace and view of the lake. Lovely wooden interiors on the ground floor and spectacular views from the main hotel terrace. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient, and the breakfast was good (nice fresh wholegrain bread). Very relaxing place - we would have liked to stay longer than a weekend.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank MandJ-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Theodore Billroth was famous surgeon In the mid nineteenth century, and this was his private home. His friends included Brahms and Klimt, so you can imagine Brahms trying out some of his new works on Theodore, whilst looking out on that amazing view; even the Emperor stopped by for a visit, perhaps on his way to the rack and pinion track up the mountain which sets off from near the famous White Horse Inn further down the lake.Any surgeon worth his/her salt will tell you that Theodore also developed two famous surgical techniques for Gastric surgery, namely Billroth 1 & 2, so this place has quite a History. It is presently owned by the Austrian Red Cross and managed by the Viehofer family, Peter and Elisabeth, and you cannot help but enjoy your stay there, especially when the weather is good. The hospitality is fantastic, and I can thoroughly recommend the Billroth for business conferences and private parties. Take an evening out at the nearby Holzinger farmhouse for a traditional Austrian Jausern served with copious amounts of local cider (known as Most). You'll love it!!

Room Tip: book nearly and ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Good Standard
Hotel is very nice located over the lake. Views from Terrace is wonderful an surroundings was peaceful.
Staff are really welcoming and particularly friendly. Wee head only breakfast, it was good, nothing special, but OK.
Rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable. Obviously, there is a big different between rooms regarding position, but there is also big different in praise: it is your choose if you will pay much more for room with lake views, or less for good room without views. My advise is to avoid rooms in basement (“Erdgeschoss”).
I would like to visit Bilroth again.

Room Tip: My advise is to avoid rooms in basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trawellangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

The hotel offers stunning views of the Wolfgangsee and the Schafbergmountain from its public rooms and also has the great terrace for all meals (but beware of the wasps!).
It also has its own private boathouse down at the lake (and it took me not the 10 minutes mentioned in one review, but rather two or three...). It is a great place to bathe in the summer. The hotel is an old-fashioned grand hotel with lots of public rooms, gardens, and the terrace to enjoy the view and location. So if you want to use these nice rooms and want to economise you could go for a room at the back (which we did, although at a higher floor). If not, you'll have to pay a lot more to get a room with a view (and a balcony).
The room was very spacious, the bath clean (and with a tub and shower).
The food, served on the terrace was very good for dinner, breakfast was not the most sumptious, but quite good by Austrian standards. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming (the only drawback being that you probably have to belong to a family that has been going there for forty years to be able to reserve a table on the terrace. Still, we always got one, if not one in the 'front row').

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Gilgen
0.5 mi away
Hollweger
Hollweger
#1 of 10 in St Gilgen
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#3 of 10 in St Gilgen
118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gasthof Furberg
Gasthof Furberg
#2 of 10 in St Gilgen
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
6.3 mi away
Sheraton Fuschlsee-Salzburg Hotel Jagdhof
Sheraton Fuschlsee-Salzburg Hote...
#2 of 2 in Hof bei Salzburg
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jugendgaestehaus St. Gilgen
Jugendgaestehaus St. Gilgen
#5 of 10 in St Gilgen
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Billroth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Billroth

Address: Billrothstrasse 2, St Gilgen 5340, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Gilgen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in St Gilgen
Price Range: £160 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Billroth 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Salzkammergut a resort area of Salzburg directly at the Wolfgangsee, “Billroth” offers its guests the charming combination of a sophisticated lifestyle with the flair of older days combined with modern facilities. IMMERSE YOURSELF! Summer feeling at the Salzkammergut in “Billroth” is a tradition fostered all year around. We are looking forward to your visit! Daniela Schachl & Your Billroth Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Parkhotel Billroth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billroth Hotel St Gilgen
Billroth Sankt Gilgen
Billroth Hotel Sankt Gilgen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing