We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hollweger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hollweger
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in St Gilgen
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Very good Hotel, with the best views in the village! Really enjoyed our stay there. We would love go back. We travelled there by motorhome (our friends all flew in) and the owner kindly let us 'plug' it into his electricity during our stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    33
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
66
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had a superior room from which the view was lovely, right across St Gilgen. However the room itself was a little tired and generally we found the hotel old fashioned and in need of a bit of a make over. It was pricey for what you got - very basic shower, hardly any toiletries, very small hard towels. Wifi was hard to get in the room, we had to sit in the corridor. However for a couple of nights it was OK. The staff were very nice, especially the lady on reception. Free parking right outside the hotel. 5 minute walk down the hill to the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SnowQueen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night in October while touring around Wolfgangsee. The hotel is located in the best spot of the town with a fantastic view over the lake. It takes 5 minutes to walk to the center of the town where there are shops and restaurants. It is a family owned place, well maintained with spacious rooms. The restaurant where we had breakfast also had great view with a lot of sunlight. The breakfast was also delicious. It is a perfect spot for a romantic getaway or a peaceful weekend break.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ZPinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My journey started at Stretton Interchange where I boarded a feeder coach bound for Stop 24 Interchange at Hythe. During the five hour drive I met Anne a very pleasant lady from Headingley Leeds on her way to Switzerland.
Sadly we did not meet again on the return journey, but hoping I may bump into her at Leeds Market on the 20th November.
At Stop 24 all luggage was swiftly transferred to the correct coach.

Soon I was on board the Ferry for the 90 minute crossing to Calais.
The coach took me to our overnight stop at the excellent Post Hotel in Liege.
After an excellent breakfast we continued our journey through Germany to St Gilgen Austria where I was stopping for 7 days.
I was with a group of twelve stopping at the 4* Hollweger Hotel.
A family owned hotel run very efficiently by Gerda Hollweger.
It was a pleasure staying at the Hotel where as a “ Travel Partner “we were treated like Royalty.
The food and service was excellent 5*, I would recommend anyone visiting St Gilgen to stay or have a meal here.
The Holiday Itinerary ran smoothly and the local area with its Cable Car and Lake were excellent.
Plus having a bus stop outside the hotel you could easily visit Bad Ischl , Mondsee or Salzburg.
On the return journey home our overnight stop was at the Park Inn Hotel Liege Airport which added the cream to an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is our 5th consecutive annual visit and this 4 star is better than some 5 stars we have stayed in. The Hollweger family and staff go out of their way to ensure your stay in memorable.
Quality of rooms and food are excellent. The facilities, excellent and location, superb. Can not imagine anybody thinking otherwise.
Another memorable say.

David and Joan
Leeds. UK

Room Tip: Strongly suggest mini suite or above worth extra expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Visited in July 2013 for 2 weeks through an Ingham's package. We were assured by the holiday company that we would be able to arrange with hotel management for food suitable for our 10-year-old son to be provided as part of the (very expensive) half-board package.

Didn't work. Staff very pleasant and polite, but hotel's clientele mostly pretty elderly and there is a hostility to kids you can feel. It took a week of argument and eventual involvement of Ingham's rep to get proper children's meals served. Prior to that we were getting random items from the adult half-board menu, with bizarre selections of lollipops and boiled sweets piled on top (frequently in the gravy).

Excellent swimming pool, but spoilt by constant aggro and dirty looks from grannies trying not to get their hair wet.

Hotel is lovely, but quality of rooms varies greatly. We had a "junior suite" which was a basic double room with extra bed, plus a good balcony. Room was far below the spec shown on website and in Ingham's brochure. Much of problem down to Ingham's misrepresenting the place, admittedly.

If I go to St Gilgen again (unlikely), the Hotel zur Post is cheaper and looks a lot more fun.

Room Tip: Stay away from the top floor in hot weather. Balcony facing the lake a big advantage. I would strong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. We arrived in the rain and the staff came hurrying out of the hotel with umbrellas to shield us and to help with our luggage. Apart from a couple of heavy showers on a couple of evenings, the weather was hot and sunny.
After reading some of the reviews here, we ensured we had a room with a balcony at the back of the hotel (which obviously cost more than a room facing the road), but it was worth every penny. We were in the old block and our room and bathroom were excellent. We have no complaints about the food, which we thought was really good and the waiter recommended some excellent Austrian wines.
We would definitley recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, definitley book a room at the back of the hotel with a balcony and a lake view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann2shoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Gilgen
1.3 mi away
Gasthof Furberg
Gasthof Furberg
#3 of 10 in St Gilgen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#1 of 10 in St Gilgen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Billroth
Parkhotel Billroth
#4 of 10 in St Gilgen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sonnwirt
Hotel Sonnwirt
#8 of 10 in St Gilgen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollweger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollweger

Property: Hollweger
Address: Mondsee-Bundesstrasse 2, St Gilgen 5340, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Gilgen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in St Gilgen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollweger 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hollweger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollweger Hotel St Gilgen
Hollweger Sankt Gilgen
Hollweger Hotel Sankt Gilgen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing