We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gasthof zur Post
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kendler(St Gilgen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bachwirt(St Gilgen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Radetzky(St Gilgen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Hollweger(St Gilgen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonnwirt(St Gilgen)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gasthof Furberg(St Gilgen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garni Seehang(St. Wolfgang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
74
35
9
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
35
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable carvillage squarelovely hotelthe buslarge numberminute walk to the lakemost nightsst wolfgangevening mealhotel is locateda great place to staycomfortable roomchristmas marketlounge areahalf boardcharming townsoup
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2009

This is a great hotel - set in a beautiful location and is a great place for a relaxing break in the lakes and mountains of the austrian salzkammergut

The hotel is a former posthouse, located overlooking the central square in st gilgen (a typical picturesque austrian town), We really liked our room which was not only spacious and comfortable, but was beautifully decorated in a modern (and uncluttered styel). The room also had possibly the best hotel shower we have ever used!

Food in the hotel was also consistently good; a wide choice of good food at breakfast including fresh locally braked bread, cooked food, fruits and cereals; evening meals, which were generally based around local specialities, were also consistently good. Staff were also very accomodating of special dietary requests.

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area - sighseeing on and around the Wolfgangsee, and its an easy trip into Salzburg via public bus. Plus good walking around the lake and surrounding mountains - tho', not surprisingly, it gets very steep as you move away from the lake. When you get back to the town there is a choice of many quality cafes and patisseries, plus a number of nice bars

Overall, highly reccomended as stylish and comfortable getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edandsarahengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

My husband and I were in Austria for winter vacation(28 Dec-04 Jan) and we had excellent time at this hotel. Before going there could not find on tripadvisor any kind of review about the hotel Gasthof zur Post witch is absolutely great! St.Gilgen is a pitoresque village, small but not boring at all, near to Salzburg, were Mozart`s mother was born. The village is next to Wolfgangsee, one of the 33 lakes from Salzkammergut. We are not great at sky, but we had a lot to do, beside skiing.(there are many sky places around St.Gilgen). We visit also Salzburg with Mozart`s houses, the wonderfull advent astmonsphere, good restaurants. We stayed for one week and never get bored. Gashof zur Post is an excelent hotel, staff was very, very good-polite and helpful. Every time we needed assistance-from kitchen (our waitress Tina- was great and smiling all the time) to the owners of the hotel, like Katharina who even helped us to find a parking space-inside the full hotel parking). The hotel is in a old building, witch was a Post in 1800, but the room was 4 stars; refurbished, new facilities, bathtub and shower, TV, bar, very good acclimatisation. We stayed in a Nannerl suite and the view was absolutely breathless-over the frozen lake and over the Mozart’s square, illuminated like in fairy tails. During winter many small boutiques with boiled wine, candies, sausages and all kind of things was posted in teh square, beside small fire places creating a fairy tail ambiance(like in Andersen stories) and everithing coverby snow.... There is the lake were can go by boat to another village, there is a skating ring, coffee shops, souvenir shops. Regarding the restaurants, we ate mostly at the Gashof zur Post because they had the most exquisite food. Great sweats and wines also. Near village we visit Mondsee cathedral from "Sound of Music", the imperial vila and baths from Bad Ischl(15 km). Local people told us that in summer is even nicer so we wil definitely return for summer in St.Gilgen and Gastof Zur Post!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank IIoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mit Blick auf die Berge / See buchen
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbert L, Inhaber at Gasthof zur Post, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer nach vorne Richtung Rathaus, bieten einen schönen Ausblick auf St Gilgen.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbert L, Inhaber at Gasthof zur Post, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews