We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacatin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in alpina hotel 5 nights in september.we were a big family group: grandparents, childrens and grandchildrens. We all loved it. Service was perfect.
Food was good, the sauna was the best we have seen, the rooms (designrooms)were huge and beautiful and the service for the young kids was perfect- great kids club and fa ilifies for kids. If you have time play tennisin the in-house courts.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orit a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights with our two little children. The location is great, and we got a room with magnificent view. The children could see the cable lift from the window which they loved. The room was spacious, well equipped.
We chose this hotel for being a Kinderhotel, thinking that the hotel offers something extra for this price for the children - this we did not really experience. The playroom for the children was not well equipped and the person there did not show any intention to notice us. The playground on the photos does not belong to the property, so you can use it whether you stay here or not. We stayed in children friendly hotels before, where you do not think of leaving the hotel for days because children have so much fun there, but this was not the case here. The reception staff was rather unfriendly and they have place to improve in customer service.
On the positive, the restaurant was great, food very good, staff helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cf781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

it is the second time we visit the Alpina Wellness & Sporthotel • Alpendorf 8 in the last 3 years . this is one of the best hotels , the rooms are great & clean , the view is amazing , the resturants and food are amazing . we recomend on this hotels for families that visit in austria .

Room Tip: monutain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erez k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This has been our second time in Alpina, and I wish we could have come back earlier...It is a pleasant place to stay: nice views and surroundings, close to Salzburg, Hallstatt (you can´t miss these places), excellent cooking (specially dinners!! with great variety of dishes), very good facilities for children (we got two -11 and 7 years old) and they are the more enthusiastic of us about returning here), the rooms, the spa, all clean and confortable. But, over all that, there are people willing to make you feel special and very well treated. My best regards to them.
To make a long story short, as my older son says "They deserve many more stars..."

Room Tip: We only know one type of suite with mountain views, and very quiet.I guess that the right choice rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We spent a fabulous week at the Alpina Wellness & Sporthotel in Alpendorf (30 June - 6 July 2013). The two bedroom apartment with a little kitchenette was perfect for our family, and had fabulous views over the countryside. The staff in the restaurant, sportsclub, kids wonderland & reception were very helpful and friendly, and made everything very easy. In particular, our 3.5 year old boys loved swimming lessons with Tomas and their time in the Kids Wonderland - the staff and the facilities were the best we've ever come across (they seem to genuinely take an interest in the kids and the activities were varied). The food was of a high standard for all meals and the buffet variety made sure it did not become boring. The indoor pools are lovely and warm, and indoor tennis provided welcome variety for mum and dad (as well as a well equipped gym). There is so much to do in the surrounding area (castles and the nearby gorge to visit, the kid-friendly 'ghost mountain' up the cable car behind the hotel and Salzburg only an hour away) we always had something to do. Overall, a great holiday and we will (hope to) come back in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel with a panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We are already a returning customers as we spent the New Year vacation at Alpina and went back at the end of February for another two weeks. Not sure where to start from as everything was simply great. The hotel is run in a very professional manner by the owners themselves and the staff is very polite and always there to help you with anything you have asked for.

It is an excellent starting point for a perfect ski vacation. Located just next to the Gondola which takes you in 15 minutes to the slopes. You can ski back down to the hotel door. There is a dedicated locker for your ski equipment right next to the Gondola with heated hangers for your ski boots. Nice start of your ski day...!!!

The rooms are very clean, spacious, well equipped, cleaned and maintained perfectly.

The dining was just great with an excellent variety of food and drinks at breakfast and dinner. Of course, you can also have a lunch in the restaurant or in the pizza bistro of the hotel.

Our daughter loved the kids club and the little gym room they have. The girls in the club are doing their best when looking after your precious child. So you can relax and enjoy a well deserved holiday.

The service was impeccable. We will surely go there again.

Room Tip: We had three different rooms over the two times we stayed at the hotel. Room 470 - spacious and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElinHristov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

we really enjoyed staying in this hotel. Service excellent at all times, very friendly personnel and we weren't the most easy to cater (a large group of people (45) and took quite some noise at times into the hotel after an exciting day of skiing and a few drinks in the apres ski). Food is great and breakfast buffet excellent. Location is fantastic, right near the ski lifts. Wellness is awesome, very beautiful relax area and many sauna/hammam options. There is also an Asian Spa where you can book a massage/treatment. The rooms are not all equally good, some are renovated, others are old. We had an old room but we liked it, it was very clean and had great views. But initially we were given another room, with horrible views and small spaces so we did ask to change. Overall, good value for money and would go there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronique_Axelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Johann im Pongau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberforsthof
Hotel Oberforsthof
#5 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonnhof Alpendorf
Sonnhof Alpendorf
#4 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
145 reviews
20.6 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Alpenland Sporthotel
Alpenland Sporthotel
#2 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
#1 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
230 reviews
10.2 mi away
Travel Charme Bergresort Werfenweng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel

Address: Alpendorf 8, St Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Johann im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#4 Spa Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
Price Range: £149 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alpendorf directly at the gondula station of the "Ski amade" with a breathtaking view over the valley. Bath/Shower, TV, telephone, hair dryer, bathrobes, minibar, safe, balcony. Breakfast buffet, 5-course menu including a salad bar, WIFI, panorama restaurant, pizzeria, cocktail bar & lounge with open fireplace & sun terrace. Underground parking for all guests. Ski room next to the piste, Apres-Ski-Pub "Eule". ASIAN beauty & spa: Body- and facial treatments, classic & Far Eastern massages. Infinity-Rooftop-Pool, Lagoon swimming pool, kids adventure pool. Wellness- & health courses. Professional child care beginning at 1 month ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Wellness And Sporthotel
Alpina Wellness & Sporthotel Hotel Sankt Johann Im Pongau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing