We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous, friendly, service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Marvellous, friendly, service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay, enormously. Every member of staff had a smile and could not do enough to make sure our stay was as pleasant as possible. Food was great (we stayed half board), although by the time we arrived for the afternoon snack, the choice was limited - our choice to ski longer!
The hotel is brilliantly positioned, opposite the ski lift, and the spa was great - although, as others have mentioned, if you are uncomfortable walking around naked, with strangers, it is a bit challenging!
I woudl sign off by thanking all the staff, who made our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmacg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    21
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
68
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Truly lovely hotel! Plan to go back only for longer so I can enjoy all of the amenities! Amazing decor and so many things to enjoy inside the hotel and in the surrounding community. Went for skiing and the lift is right across the street. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hydro_Rocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Wonderful hotel - only disappointment is that we could not use the lovely spa area as no swimwear is permitted and if you're not comfortable with mixed nudity, you're limited to using only the swimming pool. We have come across this before in Austrian hotels and cannot understand why they cannot be more accommodating to those guests who find this unacceptable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

It was our 3rd time in the hotel. We have spent here Christmas and New year holiday this time. Family atmosphere of the hotel and excellent attitude of the staff were the major reasons why we really enjoyed that. All hotel areas are perfectly clean, location is really strategic for skiers - cable car station in fact across the street. Quality of the food is very good and increasing even according to our opinion. Both Christmas and Silvester galadinners were on the gourmet level with very pleasant atmosphere ( as well very good balanced between formal and relaxed element ). That is multiplied by the service both in the restaurant and in the bar. Hotel swimming pool is perfect - large and clean. The only issue we saw this time is an extreme level of noise and splashing in the swimming pool after all children are back from skiing and go there. We believe, we are tolerant having 2 children but those situations were not according to wellness status of the area. But that concern goes more to parents than to the hotel staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Normally Good hotel, but there were some thing’s stolen in or room. (ipad) So I will never go back.
The hotel manager was not correctly about this steeling, and the police in Alpendorf was very difficult to work with.
Good advice, go to another hotel….

Room Tip: go to another hotel….
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerwoehnhotelBerghof, Geschäftsführer at Verwoehnhotel Berghof, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Mr. Serge,

thank you for taking time to review our hotel!

We remember the incident. Probably some electronic devices were stolen from two rooms. The police was informed but they didn’t find any traces of burglars. Also the evaluation of our video cameras (directly in front of the room doors, exits, etc.) was without any results, so no unauthorized person entered the room. Now the question arises whether the goods have been actually stolen, because we have no evidence.

We are a little bit disappointed from guests, who want to harm us. We did our best, we informed the police and tried together to find out what was happening.
We unfortunately do not know why some people would do all in their power to make us stand in a bad light.

With best regards

Verwöhnhotel Berghof
The Rettenwender family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel. Beautiful environment, close to everything, perfectly clean, excellent food. The best way to enjoy skiing in Austria. Just across the street is gondola. The owners are so friendly and helpful. Large spa area. Great swimming pool. Beds and pillows are so comfortable. 4-stars superior experience. High quality food, excellent restaurant. Looking forward to visit again. Even beautiful in summer with the outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Beds and pillows are so comfortable. 4-stars superior experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haidaw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We just came back from a fabulous weekend in the Berghof. This is a very nice hotel right at the beginning of the Alpendorf. The hotel has 4 and a half stars which are more than deserved. With about 70 rooms the hotel has just the right size - not too big, not too small.

Food - staff - pool area - spa - accommodation / all very good.

This is a place we would recommend to people who like to treat themselves. We definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endaxi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerwoehnhotelBerghof, Inhaber at Verwoehnhotel Berghof, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you very much for this friendly and positive words.

We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and hopefully we will see you again as soon as possible!

Best Regards
the Rettenwender family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Johann im Pongau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpendorf
Hotel Alpendorf
#2 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonnhof Alpendorf
Sonnhof Alpendorf
#5 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberforsthof
Hotel Oberforsthof
#6 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
#4 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpines Lifestyle Hotel Tannenhof
Alpines Lifestyle Hotel Tannenho...
#10 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alpenland Sporthotel
Alpenland Sporthotel
#3 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verwoehnhotel Berghof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verwoehnhotel Berghof

Property: Verwoehnhotel Berghof
Address: Alpendorf 1, St Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Johann im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in St Johann im Pongau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Verwoehnhotel Berghof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hearty welcome to Wellness Hotel Berghof! A holiday at the Berghof Hotel - indulge yourself in the stylish atmosphere... Sit back and enjoy everything the family-run Wellness & Spa Hotel Berghof in the Salzburger Land in Austria makes so unique. Right in the middle of the wonderful Alpine mountain scenery of St. Johann - Alpendorf, at an altitude of 800m is where you will find this wellness oasis. The Berghof Hotel offers exceptionally stylish and comfortable rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Verwoehnhotel Berghof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing