We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from lifts, but downtown citywise - Additional fees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpenland Sporthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We got 2 rooms connected together via door - so more room then we needed for 3 of us (mom, dad, daughter 2y4m), but some of the things were not up to date.

Rooms were clean and they were cleaned daily, we had 2 full size beds, 2 toilets, 2 tv's, 2 resting areas and the bigger room with a kitchenette and both of them had wall-to-wall carpets - But

1. The wall mounted showerheads where different - One was Good the otherone was bad.
2. Only wall mounted bedside light in the room - no domelights at all.
3. Internet was WLAN accessible - but you had to pay for it (3€/h ... 18€/week)
4. 1 of the closet door in the kitchenette broke down during our stay - it was repaired, but will brake again.
5. The bed mattresses were a bit hard - Could've been better
6. Hotel-"taxi" to Alpendorf was not free - 2€/direction/person (5 persons for a week - over 100 €)
7. Hotel parking was neither free - 35 €/week - though 250 m away from the hotel you got to park free on lighted road, risk-free.
8. Breakfast was not included to room rate - 15€/person/day.
9. No pisspot for our young one - in the entire hotel!

Back home in Finland at least parking, WLAN and breakfast is normally included to the roomprice and you can easily borrow a pisspot, so this was a bit of a surprice to pay for "everything". Naturally we cooked our own breakfasts on our kichenette, parked the car to the free zone and paid only for WLAN, since so much IS but to the net (e.g this tripadvisor!)

But really helpful and kind staff - so we*ll do a return later on..

Room Tip: At least our rooms (138/139 connected via door) didn't have any A/C, so the rooms felt a bit war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tero H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear rtnalle,

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry for your experience.

To set the record straight about your reservation. Your booking was for room only so breakfast was not included and there is also a public ski bus leaving 5 minutes walk from the Hotel which is free of charge and all this Information was given to you at check in.

Again I am sorry about this and I have shared your comments with my team, I will certainly follow up closely with my team for improvement.

Best regards
Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our stay was a one week gift certificate and it was indeed a nice gift.
It is the right place for ski sport lovers, I'm not one of them but my little girl like to play with snow and in fact there was plenty of it.
The hotel is well located in sankt johann, with plenty of shopping and facilities in a walking distance. Very close to Salzburg, specially we were driving and easy to find parking everywhere.
If we got a chance to go back again, will for sure choose the same hotel but in a different season.

Room Tip: Try to book the rooms with the mountain view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hello Jack M,

Thank you for our lovely feedback. I am glad to know you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Do come and stay with us again soon!
Best regards,

Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a very nice hotel , the rooms are quite large and they have a balcony.
The spa area is great !!! And include warm indoor swimming pool , zacuzi ,Gym dry and wet Sauna .
The breakfast is very rich but quite expensive ( 15.5 EUR per person !)
It is located in the center and the hotel has a parking (35 EUR per week)
That's my second time in this hotel and I like it

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Gilad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Gilad R,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am glad that you had an enjoyable time here with us.
Do come again soon.
Best regards

Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have visited this hotel on several occasions over the last 8 years for family ski holidays and it really is fantastic . Its in the middle of town so within easy reach of all the local restaurants and also has two of its own. Robert the hotel manager is fantastic and nothing is to much trouble for him.Looking forward to seeing you at the end of the month!
Ps need you to book a table for 6 at the steakhouse please on the 28th or 29th please !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lpkcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear LPKcars,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! I am indeed thankful to read your review and for sure I will share your feedback with my team, I kindly ask you to contact me at the Hotel for your booking at the Steakhouse.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and we remain
with warm Regards

Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We came on this trip as our first holiday away without the children, but they seemed to cater well for those that we saw. We had a very relaxing time, the pool was warm and had two Jacuzzis, a sauna and steam room. We were half board and the breakfast was excellent. The set evening menu had three choices and were very good mostly. The Italian buffet night was a bit disappointing though (no pizza!) The staff were amazing and it felt like a family run hotel...unusual for a hotel of this size. Room (240) was spacious, clean and quiet and had a lovely view out to the mountain. Free shuttle transfer to Alpendorf 10 mins away and ski storage made it all very relaxing but the town bus was also free and ran frequently. The town is small but we were too tired/relaxed to go out much anyway. We would have stayed in the hotel bar more but my husband wasn't a fan of the "Bontempi" man who didn't seem to have a home to go to! Highly recommended by us and we will (probably) bring the kids with us next time!

Room Tip: We were in room 240 it was next to the lift but you couldn't hear it and we had a view of the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Matt H,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! I am indeed thankful to read your review and for sure I will share your feedback with my team, I am sure our talents will be happy to know you have commended high on our service.

Look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and I remain

with warm Regards

Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel in January, 2014 as we were on a ski trip to Amade. The hotel is in a good location.....center of town and next to a mini-mall and full supermarket. The town is small, however.

The drive to Alpendorf ski slope is about 5 minutes away and the drive to Fachau ski slope is about 20 minutes away. The hotel offers a shuttle to Alpendorf every 30 minutes in the morning. The hotel has a bar and restaurant but the town is so small that you can easily walk to any restaurant. The rooms themselves are comfortable but not fancy. They do not have many outlets and are not well lit. Try to get a room facing the mountains as they may be a little quieter. The hotel front desk staff ranged from excellent to not very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the mountains as they may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Italian-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hello Italian bird,

Thanks for your time to share your feeling about our property and services during your staying with us.

I have shared your concerns with our Front Office Manager to improve our Services.

Hope to welcome back again soon.
Best regards,

Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Returned in december for pre christmas ski trip with son after exams, was as good as before. booked to return in january with the rest of the family, still wonderfull. The rooms spotless, lots & lots of hot water, exellent heating through out. Housekeeping staff can not do enough for you, ( extra pillows ect ) All you have to do is ask. 2 well stocked bars, bar staff very helpfull with local news. The food very very good, & again if you can not see anything you like all you have to do is ask. the head chef is also helpfull. a real GEM.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Stuart E,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am glad to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us again, we constantly strive to provide excellent personal service if possible, we are here not just to meet but to exceed your expectations! I will certainly share your feedback with my team, I am sure it is a good way to pay off their hard work.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards

Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Johann im Pongau hotels
1.6 mi away
Sonnhof Alpendorf
Sonnhof Alpendorf
#4 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
148 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
#6 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
215 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oberforsthof
Hotel Oberforsthof
#5 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpendorf
Hotel Alpendorf
#3 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alpines Lifestyle Hotel Tannenhof
Alpines Lifestyle Hotel Tannenho...
#12 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
61 reviews
2 mi away
Gut Berg Naturhotel
Gut Berg Naturhotel
#8 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenland Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenland Sporthotel

Address: Hans Kappacherstrasse 7-9, St Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Johann im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
Price Range: £94 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenland Sporthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique combination of international flair and traditional Austrian hospitality of Salzburger Land. The 4-star Alpenland Hotel offers an in town, central location with top-equipped rooms, luxury suites, 2 specialty restaurants, modern conference rooms, and an indoor/outdoor wellness area that guarantee a relaxing vacation. The wellness area offers an 18-meter pool, 2 hot tubs, sauna, steam bath, solarium and a garden. The fitness trainer will guide you through your training, or you can take advantage of one of the aerobic courses where you can build stamina, strength and coordination. Other highlights include two onsite outdoor tennis courts as well as nearby golf courses, bike paths and hiking trails. Sports of all types - from easy to challenging. Alpenland Sporthotel is your ideal starting point for one of the best and most attractive ski areas in Austria. Whether it's a matter of sporting activities in snow or ice, reflective hikes or idyllic sleigh rides, the Alpenland Hotel fulfills all your desires. Inhouse ski rental and shuttle bus transfer available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alpenland Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenland Sporthotel Hotel Sankt Johann Im Pongau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing