We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OLD HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpenland Sporthotel
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“OLD HOTEL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Its nice in the heart of the city , if you get mountain view is great but city view you will be facing the shopping mall wall , this hotel very old in every thing the rooms are small and the WC very small

Room Tip: try to get 3rd floor room facing to the mountain is the best at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdulwahab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Abdulwahab B,

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry for your experience.

Your booking was made for a Hotel room for a maximum occupancy of 2 Person and you are right, these rooms are not very large. We suggest that for the next time please make sure that you will reserve a larger room or even a apartment which gives you more space including a larger bathroom.

Look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Robert Schimak
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    163
    43
    12
    4
See reviews for
119
151
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

very well located for a relaxing holiday. Amazing scenery. Only an hour from Salzburg by rail. Direct trains to Munich also. 5 minutes from the train station at St. Johann. In middle of town thus 3 supermarkets in very near vicinity & lots of restaurants offering amazing food choices.

If you are staying Monday, take the trek with George. It is a half-day one but very good.

Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Request for 3rd floor ones facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemant_Ggn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello Hemant_Ggn,
Thank you for your nice feedback. I am happy to know you had such a wonderful time with us and my team managed to impress you by providing you a memorable experience, no doubt I will share your feedback with Georg, I am sure your feedback will put a smile on his face!
Please do come again and chill by the pool or wool bar may be!
Best regards,

Robert Schimak
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modi'in Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

ן came with my wife for vacation of one full week in Austria. It is a beautiful hotel and the city - St. Johan im Pongau is very well located in this side of Austria. The servise is good and it is very clean and nice,
But - they are trying to charge you for everything. We arrived at night and parked the car in front of the hotel. I came in and asked about parking. The lady said that they have their own parking under the building and it costs 38 Euro for week. I said that I do not want to pay for parking, she came out, checked my car's location and said that my parking is OK.
I asked about Wi-Fi internet connection: 3 Euro for 30 min, 18 Euro for week.
Breakfast: 15.5 Euro per person. Too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello Meir G
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Concerning the parking we always offer our guests the Underground parking because it is more convenient and safer.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Best regards

Robert Schimak
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel was not what we expected when we first arrived. While we knew it was in the middle of the town, we were surprised that there was another tall building right across the street blocking views for that whole side of the hotel. Also, it seemed a bit dated inside.

The front desk staff was fairly helpful, assisting us in printing tickets for a tour we booked. One thing they were not able to accomplish was finding us another room.

We were staying in a 1-bedroom suite, which was nice, comfortable and clean, but it was on the west side of the hotel facing the building across the street. A room with a mountain view would have been preferred, obviously, but the real problem was the noise. With no air conditioning in the rooms, we had to open the sliding glass doors to keep the room cool enough to sleep and with those doors open all of the sound from the street in front of the hotel came in. It is not a through street, so traffic wasn't horrible but the cars that pulled in for the hotel and the sidewalk cafe patrons down the block could make a lot of noise.

We did enjoy the pool facilities at the hotel. There were two hot tubs and a nice large pool leaving plenty of space for us to relax without things feeling crowded. The whole pool area seemed well kept, too.

We only ate two breakfasts at the hotel. For each of them we had the buffet which had a nice selection of foods to choose from. It even included some hot items (eggs, bacon, sausage, and you could order a custom omelet). The cold items available were good quality, including meats and cheeses, vegetables, yogurt, pastries, and bread/bagels. The only downside to breakfast here was the price. Compared to other options nearby, it was quite expensive.

Finally, if you plan on packing light and doing laundry during your stay, the hotel does have laundry facilities but they are pricey and take a long time. The two washing machines available were tiny and took almost two hours to complete a load. There was only one dryer available which was also small but got clothes dry in a reasonable amount of time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side overlook the street in front of the hotel and the building across from the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaeKwonDonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear TaeKwonDonut,

Thank you for our lovely feedback. I am glad to know you had an enjoyable stay with us. Do come and stay with us again soon!
Best regards

Robert Schimak
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weinsberg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

It started at the check in with the first discussion for the extra fee for dogs. I had called the place some weeks ago to ask for the extra fee for dogs. Normally you find this indicated on the homepage of a hotel, but this homepage is not very user friendly at all. So they told me on the phone that it was 9 Euro per dog per night - this is just the fee (per dog!) to stay with us in the room. Don't think that they would get any service or food for this amount. At the check-in they told us it was 15 Euro per dog per night now (since two weeks !!). We told them that this was not very funny at all to make such a price increase, and we were not willing to accept it. But the lady at the reception just said, that this was the new price and she could not decide (on her own) to go back to the old price.
The next surprise was that they wanted 18 Euro for WLan per week for only one device to be connected at a time. I was also wondering if I hadn't read on the homepage that WLan on the room was for free, but as I did not have WLan I could not check it immediately. So I decided to accept it to later find out that the homepage indicated that it was included!!
After this real unpleasent first surprise at the check-in we decidet not to take breakfast at the hotel. For 14 Euro per person - we thought - you will get a decent breakfast anywhere else in St. Johann (which was the case).
The best was that some days later I found a price list on the hotel room telling me that the extra feed for a dog per night was 9 Euro!!
We had a "nice" discussion at the check-out telling them that we will not pay more than 9 Euro per dog and nothing for the WLan. The "price" for the dogs they had to accept (with the price list on the room), the WLan he wanted to discuss, but finally gave up.
The good thing of the hotel seems to be the housekeeping. The rooms were very clean, and the daily cleaning was good.
That's all - we will never come again! Who wants to discuss those things every day when on holiday?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Anette C,

Thank you for your comment. I am sorry to learn about your experience, please accept my apologies on behalf of my team as they had given you a wrong impression about us.

I will certainly follow up closely with my team for improvement.

Best regards,

Robert Schimak
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our first impression upon arrival was that it seemed like a nice hotel and the surrounding mountains are beautiful. However the receptionist working that evening was rushing our check-in and wanted to get us out of there and didn't seem very happy to help us. She even forgot to give us our credit card and passports back. The rooms are very antiquated, looked like rooms in a nursing home. The balcony was nice and large though. I found it very annoying there was only one outlet in the whole room, it was very difficult to charge devices. Shower was tiny, reminded me of a shower you would see in a cruise ship. We didn't get a chance to use the pool and jacuzzi, but it looked nice. About 40 min ride from salzburg, 2 hours from munich, 1hr 15 min to hallstatt. Need a car to get around though. Don't pay for the hotel parking, just park on the street perpendicular to the lobby, all the parking is free as long as it's outside the blue/white box!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bella0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Bella0719,

Thank you for your feedback and I have shared your comments with my team, I will certainly follow up closely with my team for improvement.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your return.

With kind regards
Robert Schimak
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We got 2 rooms connected together via door - so more room then we needed for 3 of us (mom, dad, daughter 2y4m), but some of the things were not up to date.

Rooms were clean and they were cleaned daily, we had 2 full size beds, 2 toilets, 2 tv's, 2 resting areas and the bigger room with a kitchenette and both of them had wall-to-wall carpets - But

1. The wall mounted showerheads where different - One was Good the otherone was bad.
2. Only wall mounted bedside light in the room - no domelights at all.
3. Internet was WLAN accessible - but you had to pay for it (3€/h ... 18€/week)
4. 1 of the closet door in the kitchenette broke down during our stay - it was repaired, but will brake again.
5. The bed mattresses were a bit hard - Could've been better
6. Hotel-"taxi" to Alpendorf was not free - 2€/direction/person (5 persons for a week - over 100 €)
7. Hotel parking was neither free - 35 €/week - though 250 m away from the hotel you got to park free on lighted road, risk-free.
8. Breakfast was not included to room rate - 15€/person/day.
9. No pisspot for our young one - in the entire hotel!

Back home in Finland at least parking, WLAN and breakfast is normally included to the roomprice and you can easily borrow a pisspot, so this was a bit of a surprice to pay for "everything". Naturally we cooked our own breakfasts on our kichenette, parked the car to the free zone and paid only for WLAN, since so much IS but to the net (e.g this tripadvisor!)

But really helpful and kind staff - so we*ll do a return later on..

Room Tip: At least our rooms (138/139 connected via door) didn't have any A/C, so the rooms felt a bit war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtnalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear rtnalle,

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry for your experience.

To set the record straight about your reservation. Your booking was for room only so breakfast was not included and there is also a public ski bus leaving 5 minutes walk from the Hotel which is free of charge and all this Information was given to you at check in.

Again I am sorry about this and I have shared your comments with my team, I will certainly follow up closely with my team for improvement.

Best regards
Robert Schimak
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Johann im Pongau
14.6 mi away
Alpenland Sporthotel
Alpenland Sporthotel
#3 of 7 in Maria Alm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpendorf
Hotel Alpendorf
#2 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonnhof Alpendorf
Sonnhof Alpendorf
#5 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
#1 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
#4 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oberforsthof
Hotel Oberforsthof
#6 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenland Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenland Sporthotel

Property: Alpenland Sporthotel
Address: Hans Kappacherstrasse 7-9, St Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Johann im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenland Sporthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique combination of international flair and traditional Austrian hospitality of Salzburger Land. The 4-star Alpenland Hotel offers an in town, central location with top-equipped rooms, luxury suites, 2 specialty restaurants, modern conference rooms, and an indoor/outdoor wellness area that guarantee a relaxing vacation. The wellness area offers an 18-meter pool, 2 hot tubs, sauna, steam bath, solarium and a garden. The fitness trainer will guide you through your training, or you can take advantage of one of the aerobic courses where you can build stamina, strength and coordination. Other highlights include two onsite outdoor tennis courts as well as nearby golf courses, bike paths and hiking trails. Sports of all types - from easy to challenging. Alpenland Sporthotel is your ideal starting point for one of the best and most attractive ski areas in Austria. Whether it's a matter of sporting activities in snow or ice, reflective hikes or idyllic sleigh rides, the Alpenland Hotel fulfills all your desires. Inhouse ski rental and shuttle bus transfer available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HRS and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpenland Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenland Sporthotel Hotel Sankt Johann Im Pongau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing