We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job!”
Review of Gartenhotel Daxer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gartenhotel Daxer
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here 5 years ago in summer as a family, we wanted to return to Zell for a winter holiday with friends. It is a beautiful place and the skiing is fantastic. We choose the Daxer again primarily for its location near the cable station. We were happy with it first time, but it seems to have undergone a makeover in the meantime. Our room was lovely, very big, with a lovely balcony with views down to the town and lake. The place is spotless, the food well above 3 star standard, extremely friendly and helpful staff, and a generally welcoming feel. The ski hire shop is next door and the chap there couldn't have been more obliging. The hotel is certainly quite a way from the town and evening trips entail a long walk or an expensive taxi. It is well worth taking at least half a day to visit the town and lake, but use the free bus in the daytime. However after a day's skiing, a 4 course dinner and wine, we were not the least bit bothered about missing the apres ski nightlife. We did venture down one evening to what was a very grotty bar to attend the Crystal reps organised quiz night. We paid €11 down in the taxi then €20 for 4 drinks, only to be told the quiz wasn't on as too few people had turned up. €13 back in a taxi. From then on we stayed in the hotel at night apart from one visit to a neighbouring hotel bar for a change of scene.
All in all, if you are there to ski, or hill walk in summer, you could do a lot worse than the Daxer. If, however, you want nightlife or shopping, then stay in town and have the hassle of walking in ski boots and carrying skis to the bus or cable station. I know what I'd choose. This was my first European ski holiday and I will more than likely go back to the same hotel in the same resort as everything was ideal. Says it all really.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Islandgirl64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

We'll were do I start ,For a 3star hotel it has be one of the best I have stayed in up to now, the staff were so helpful and polite the food was as good as any four or five star and plenty of it and lots of choice .The rooms were clean and warm nice size bathroom lots of hot water at all times ,nice size swimming poll good saunas and steam room to relax at the end of the day. Literally two minutes away fro m the ski lifts , quiet at night good drying room and ski room . There is not much more I can say except try it for yourself I don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A gem of a place to stay. Very easy to get to the slopes. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the sauna and steam room provided welcome relaxation at the end of the day. The food was the real bonus with lots of choice and variation, tasty and plenty of it. I would have given it 5 stars but for two things. Firstly, the price of the drinks especially the bottled water (order tap water) and secondly payment can only be made with cash.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

What can we say, great hotel, staff, food, rooms, cleanliness, reception, all excellent. We stayed over New Year, beautiful Steak on New Years Eve.
The only minus point would be the cost of the drinks, don't get carried away, especially when ordering the table water!!!!
But when you go to the bars and resturants its on par.
Well done to Micheal - the owner, you have a great Hotel.
He even carried out a personnel welcome and good bye!!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Very handy for main Zell slopes and ski bus, food very well cooked, New Year party sounded good if we could've stayed awake. Typically clean Austraian rooms, with small pool and sauna etc. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billybusrammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We've just returned from our 3rd stay over New Year. Normally we wouldn't gamble on a 3 star but it's well positioned for ski-lifts, spotless rooms & a nice spa. You see many repeat customers, no better recommendation. The food has gone up a notch this year too, now excellent quality.

We think it's great value for money, with friendly owners, who go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay. If you want a small comfortable hotel, close to the slopes this could be for you.

Top tips: 1. no credit/debit card facility to pay bar bill at end of stay, so have cash on you. 2. Avoid paying €4 for water by asking for tap water.

Room Tip: Ask for high room with lake view. 124 a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahatBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

A group of 13 (age range from 7 to 50) of us stayed here for New Years and there is not a bad thing I can think of saying. Michael and his family create such a welcoming environment. The waitresses and bar staff could not be friendly. I felt like it was home from home.
The swimming pool, sauna, and steam room were a welcome site at the end of a long day on the slopes. The location was perfect for the slopes with nursery slopes for the kids on the doorstep as well as a range of blue and red runs at the top of the mountain.
The only way to ski to the hotel is via black runs but this didn't spoil our fun. It was a lovely down hill walk (15-20 mins) into zell am see but we tended to take a taxi (10-15euro) or the free ski bus back to the hotel.
One piece of advise will be that don't book through crystal as it costs twice as much as booking direct with Daxer. Also the ski hire at the shack next door is also half the price of crystal (who also use the shack) for example a helmet with crystal will set u back £25 and they charged us €7 direct.
The food was great, probably the best I've ever eaten at a half board hotel.
Thanks to all at Daxer for a fantastic new year. I think we will be coming back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jaybe1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
1,188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
406 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#7 of 42 in Zell am See
339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Der Waldhof
Hotel Der Waldhof
#14 of 42 in Zell am See
252 reviews
1 mi away
Seevilla Freiberg
Seevilla Freiberg
#28 of 42 in Zell am See
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartenhotel Daxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartenhotel Daxer

Address: Georg-Rendl-Strasse 8, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Zell am See
#7 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: £98 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartenhotel Daxer 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gartenhotel Daxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartenhotel Daxer Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing