We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is awesome 11/10”
Review of Gartenhotel Daxer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gartenhotel Daxer
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This place is awesome 11/10”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Location is halfway up the mountain opposite three gondolas, doesn't get better than that. The hotel is exceptionally clean with its own boot room.
Now lets get down to the menu...loads of choice at breakfast including full cooked help yourself buffet + cold options, help yourself hot and cold drinks.
Evening meal surpasses everything i have had before, salad buffet, choice of 2 soups, extensive starter buffet all help yourself followed by a choice of 4 main dishes including veggie and buffet, fish or meat, ending with sweet sometimes again extensive buffet.
Well stocked reasonably priced bar run by superb waiters and waitresses, ( well done Maxine and Holman)
We had a great time and cannot recommend the Daxer too highly. We will certainly return and hope it does not become too popular and fill up too soon.. thankyou to the lovely owners and all concerned

Room Tip: too busy to use pool, sauna etc but told excellent Everything spot on with no problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    62
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
79
95
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed for a skiing holiday - great food and very clean hotel with good facilities for swimming and sauna. Very helpful staff. My only gripe is the price of sparkling water 4.20€ for 75cl and also that the hotel was in general very warm ! Other than than excellent and would recommend - well located for the slopes too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Looking around for a budget ski holiday through tour operators we found this hotel and decided to try our hand going direct. We didn't get the fastest responses but they organised a package that was right for us (6 friends) which included ski passes. We found the hotel to be warm, clean and in a great location, only 5 mins walk to the ski lift. The staff are friendly and the food is of a good standard and more than sufficient quantity. Ski hire from the shop next door was convenient and the chap running it was very friendly and helpful. The fact that the hotel did not accept any cards was a little annoying as we had to have the cash lying around for a week. Overall we had the holiday we expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a view down the valley overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben_Townsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here 5 years ago in summer as a family, we wanted to return to Zell for a winter holiday with friends. It is a beautiful place and the skiing is fantastic. We choose the Daxer again primarily for its location near the cable station. We were happy with it first time, but it seems to have undergone a makeover in the meantime. Our room was lovely, very big, with a lovely balcony with views down to the town and lake. The place is spotless, the food well above 3 star standard, extremely friendly and helpful staff, and a generally welcoming feel. The ski hire shop is next door and the chap there couldn't have been more obliging. The hotel is certainly quite a way from the town and evening trips entail a long walk or an expensive taxi. It is well worth taking at least half a day to visit the town and lake, but use the free bus in the daytime. However after a day's skiing, a 4 course dinner and wine, we were not the least bit bothered about missing the apres ski nightlife. We did venture down one evening to what was a very grotty bar to attend the Crystal reps organised quiz night. We paid €11 down in the taxi then €20 for 4 drinks, only to be told the quiz wasn't on as too few people had turned up. €13 back in a taxi. From then on we stayed in the hotel at night apart from one visit to a neighbouring hotel bar for a change of scene.
All in all, if you are there to ski, or hill walk in summer, you could do a lot worse than the Daxer. If, however, you want nightlife or shopping, then stay in town and have the hassle of walking in ski boots and carrying skis to the bus or cable station. I know what I'd choose. This was my first European ski holiday and I will more than likely go back to the same hotel in the same resort as everything was ideal. Says it all really.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandgirl64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huyton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We'll were do I start ,For a 3star hotel it has be one of the best I have stayed in up to now, the staff were so helpful and polite the food was as good as any four or five star and plenty of it and lots of choice .The rooms were clean and warm nice size bathroom lots of hot water at all times ,nice size swimming poll good saunas and steam room to relax at the end of the day. Literally two minutes away fro m the ski lifts , quiet at night good drying room and ski room . There is not much more I can say except try it for yourself I don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A gem of a place to stay. Very easy to get to the slopes. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the sauna and steam room provided welcome relaxation at the end of the day. The food was the real bonus with lots of choice and variation, tasty and plenty of it. I would have given it 5 stars but for two things. Firstly, the price of the drinks especially the bottled water (order tap water) and secondly payment can only be made with cash.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

What can we say, great hotel, staff, food, rooms, cleanliness, reception, all excellent. We stayed over New Year, beautiful Steak on New Years Eve.
The only minus point would be the cost of the drinks, don't get carried away, especially when ordering the table water!!!!
But when you go to the bars and resturants its on par.
Well done to Micheal - the owner, you have a great Hotel.
He even carried out a personnel welcome and good bye!!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
1,016 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
561 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartenhotel Daxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartenhotel Daxer

Property: Gartenhotel Daxer
Address: Georg-Rendl-Strasse 8, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Zell am See
#7 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartenhotel Daxer 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Gartenhotel Daxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartenhotel Daxer Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing