We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Gartenhotel Daxer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gartenhotel Daxer
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a week in the Daxer- super little place. Great location right by the slopes, good room, excellent food and facilities. Booked as a budget ski trip but felt like it should have cost a lot more. Strongly recommend this excellent hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthurives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    64
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
83
98
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

An excellent hotel and I would really recommend it. The hotel was spotlessly clean, I had a fairly small room tucked underneath the eaves, but I booked last minute at a fantastic price, so didnt feel that mattered. Some of the rooms have great views down to the lake. The food was absolutely superb. Breakfast had hot and cold options and the evening courses were home cooked with a couple of soup choices and an extensive salad bar. As is common for most Austrian hotels, you make your choices for evening meal at breakfast time. My partner is a vegetarian and the hotel provided lots of options from the menu and the salad bar. The wine selection from the menu was ok and reasonably priced. In the restaurant area, the views down to the lake at breakfast time are lovely. After the meal, yes the hotel and the surrounding area is quiet but this is offset by the close proximity to the slopes. The hotel has a small lounge area with a log fire and a few sofas. There is a bar in the restaurant area where you prop yourself up on a stool and have a coffee or a couple of beers. There is an outside bar area at the back of the hotel but only used this a couple of times. I thought all the staff were helpful and hardworking so couldn't fault the service I received.

In terms of the location, yes the hotel is a fair distance from Zell, which is a gut busting 30 minute walk back, particularly after a late night! However, the hotel is bang on the slopes, so I would rather walk at night in comfy shoes rather than ski boots. Another benefit is that the rain in Zell often falls as snow at the Daxer, which is much more pleasant! Finally the Schmittenhoe lifts are not dogged by the queues that affect the lifts such as the CityXpress. There is a ski hire shop practically next door but my view is that the equipment is of a better quality at the InterSport shop 100 yards away at the bottom of the lifts.

The hotel has a small pool sauna and steam room, which is great after a day's skiing. For the benefit of readers, especially the Brits, the dress code for Austrian wellness facilities is no costumes, though not an enforced rule at this hotel. There can be a lack of maturity about these things with some people thinking you are Donald and Jacqueline from Benidorm - so get over yourself!

The resort is great for buidling confidence in intermediates and I thought some of the red runs may be blue elsewhere. The Sonnenalm area is great (and empty) in the mornings but softens quickly is the afternoon sun. From the top of the Hochmaisbahn, you can use the slalom course and see yourself on camera via the internet, which is good fun. For food on the mountain try the Pinzgauer Hutte at the bottom of the Kapellenbahn, which has great food and is especially memorable for the snowmobile tow you get back to the slopes. I also ventured across to Kaprun, which is really worth doing as the skiing on the Kitzsteinhorn is amazing. It is a bit of a fag though, requiring a couple of crowded buses each way, plus the cable cars up.

Overall, a superb hotel and I wouldnt hesitate to book it if you are wavering.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This is one of the most friendly hotels you could visit. The staff are so helpful , happy and friendly. It all leads to a great atmosphere . The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. We had our own garden . I was particularly impressed with the ski and boot room that had a really cleaver heating system. It was a pleasure to use the heated indoor pool together with the stream room and saunas after a days skiing. But the real delight was the food which was excellent. Access to ski lifts was also great. We just met someone who had been here 35 years on the trot, and can understand why. We are already planning our next visit, which may be in the summer.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

For those who have never been there (Zell am see or Daxer hotel) - the place is mostly log cabins types, really "villagy", if there is such a word. Yet there is good shopping etc.

The people who run Daxer clearly really want your business - bearing in mind that it is a Pension and has one of the lowest rents there - so, the half board food is really, really good. You get a choice of 4 mains to choose each morning for thaty evening, always including a veggie option. But there is a starter buffet, which is actually well laid out, plus desert, and a well stocked breakfast which has everything you might want (within reason). The staff are well spoken and cannot do enough for you - this won't be accidental - somebody has been giving good training and instructions on how to look after people properly.

This is not a 5 star hotel - for which you would be easily paying three times as much - but for what they charge, it is most excellent. But then there is a pool and sauna, and I believe a pool table in the basement? It is also large, rooms are more than adequate and kept very clean, and the showers are powerful and hot (especially appreciated in the winter). The rooms are also warm in winter (or even too hot if you leave the heaters on during the night).

My wife and I have now been there two years running, and as much as I did not really want to tell people how good they are (so as to ensure we get some rooms next time), it would be unfair. They really try hard, and our money was well spent.

They also have a bar, etc etc., and fab sound proofing, but then you are next to the mountain anyway so there is not much noise at night at all.

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel looks onto great views of the Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heyd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Location is halfway up the mountain opposite three gondolas, doesn't get better than that. The hotel is exceptionally clean with its own boot room.
Now lets get down to the menu...loads of choice at breakfast including full cooked help yourself buffet + cold options, help yourself hot and cold drinks.
Evening meal surpasses everything i have had before, salad buffet, choice of 2 soups, extensive starter buffet all help yourself followed by a choice of 4 main dishes including veggie and buffet, fish or meat, ending with sweet sometimes again extensive buffet.
Well stocked reasonably priced bar run by superb waiters and waitresses, ( well done Maxine and Holman)
We had a great time and cannot recommend the Daxer too highly. We will certainly return and hope it does not become too popular and fill up too soon.. thankyou to the lovely owners and all concerned

Room Tip: too busy to use pool, sauna etc but told excellent Everything spot on with no problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed for a skiing holiday - great food and very clean hotel with good facilities for swimming and sauna. Very helpful staff. My only gripe is the price of sparkling water 4.20€ for 75cl and also that the hotel was in general very warm ! Other than than excellent and would recommend - well located for the slopes too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Looking around for a budget ski holiday through tour operators we found this hotel and decided to try our hand going direct. We didn't get the fastest responses but they organised a package that was right for us (6 friends) which included ski passes. We found the hotel to be warm, clean and in a great location, only 5 mins walk to the ski lift. The staff are friendly and the food is of a good standard and more than sufficient quantity. Ski hire from the shop next door was convenient and the chap running it was very friendly and helpful. The fact that the hotel did not accept any cards was a little annoying as we had to have the cash lying around for a week. Overall we had the holiday we expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a view down the valley overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben_Townsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
1,128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 42 in Zell am See
576 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartenhotel Daxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartenhotel Daxer

Property: Gartenhotel Daxer
Address: Georg-Rendl-Strasse 8, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zell am See
#7 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartenhotel Daxer 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Gartenhotel Daxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartenhotel Daxer Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing