We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in wounderful peaceful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Margarete Hotel Garni
Ranked #4 of 63 Zell am See B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

i sayed there with my wife for 3 nights , it was perfect place just in front of schmitten cables which is a real plus. rooms despite a little pit small are well furnished , very clean , safe in room is a good advantage, the balacony in the room is marvellous , WC is very good and convenient. the breakfast is very delicious and fresh , the hotel owner do all the best to help you and facilitate everything , we were leaving 5 am in the morning , the owner made lunch box for us hanged it early in our room door. the zell am see - kaprun card is a real real plus and good save . there is a bus stop just in front of hotel however the last time is 6 pm also the earliest is 8 am , we had no car but we could manage this by using taxi on returning late to the hotel which costs round by 8-9 euros . however still this hotel is a very good deal. definitely i recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashraf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Pension Margarete Hotel Garni
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights and there is absolutely nothing for complain. It is family run hotel/pension, it is little bit far away from the lake and town, but on the other hand it is very calm ( we´ve been there in summer), The stuff/owner(s) are very friendly ,rooms are small but in this beatiful location is not expected that you will stay on the room whole day ;-). So for us absolutely ok , sleeping quality excellent. Yes, by car is better cause for us "climbing" by foot to uphill from the town was small "adrenaline trip" but for someone could be OK ;-). In overall - very, very good stay what we´ve enjoyed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel_Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was really lovely.
It is in Zell am See but up by the ski slope, it would be a long walk up hill (mountain) if you didn't have a car to go to and from the town and lake.
The rooms are good but small but all have a balcony which was wonderful.
The breakfast was great, the owner lovely as are her staff.
Down sides which is not a criticism for me but might be for some, no English TV channels and no kettle.
The location was great as it is next to the cable car which I would imagine in the ski season would be a huge bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

To make a long story short my girlfriend and I picked up a nasty flu and were bed bound for a couple of days during our week in Zell am See. Not only did Erika (hotel proprietor) go out of her way to make sure that we were ok (checking in on us and bringing tea and toast up to our room). She even made a chicken noodle soup for us for lunch (unasked for), meaning we didn't have to drag ourselves to town, which at that point was going to be an ordeal. I have worked in the travel industry for over 10 years and during that time have stayed in some pretty incredible hotels and resorts, of an impeccable standard. I will not say that the Pensione Margarete is 5* accommodation because it is not.
However, for the price it is fantastic value for money. The rooms, are clean, bright and comfortable. The breakfast was a good selection of cold meats, bread, eggs, cereal etc. - plenty of energy for the days skiing. The location is perfect if you are in Zell am See to ski given its proximity to the largest, and fastest gondolas (they are in sight and literally a 1min walk from the hotel). If you don't have a car the hotel is a 20min walk from town, worth considering if this is a problem for you. Ultimately the hospitality we received at the Pensione Margarete will see us return next time we are in Zell am See. A Warm thank you to Erika.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Our stay at Pension Margarete was an amazing experience. We felt at home. Rooms are small but we felt it was adequate for our stay. Comforable and clean. It has nice balcony with wonderful view.
The whole pension was decorated well and gave a cosy feeling. Owner Erica was always there to help and advise on everything about Zell Am See. Her co-workers who helped her during breakfast were friendly and very energetic. Her housekeeping staff are nice as well.
Breakfast spread was awesome. Everything is so fresh. We would recommend Pension Margarete for those who visit Zell Am See. It is good if you have a car as it is about 2km from the town centre. It was truly a gem. Thank you Erica & team
Regards: Anita

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mulan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is an inexpensive place to stay but the bedding was very thin and the room was quite dated, although bathroom had had a renovation.
There are lots of signs telling guests what not to do, which I found a bit disconcerting.

However the hostess was polite and pleasant and the breakfast the next morning outside was a lovely environment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivalee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The pension is situated some way off the centre of Zell am See, which we knew in advance and which is not a problem if you come by car. For us, having a cycling holiday, it was good training cycling up the hill every afternoon after our bike ride. But on the other side the views it offers are great.
The place is nice, clean and well looked after. The breakfast offers whatever you can imagine, from cereals, bread, ham, cheese, fruit, sweet bakery products to jam, honey, eggs. The only shame is they do not offer dinners. You can select smallish dishes from the menu such as goulash soup, toasts, omelettes and something like a pancake.
The land lady was pleasant and always tried to accommodate our wishes. When she saw we had a small son, she immediately took out this toy garage and a swinging toy to play with.
We recommend this pension if you are looking for a cosier place than a big hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tvrzice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#13 of 42 in Zell am See
394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
403 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Der Waldhof
Hotel Der Waldhof
#14 of 42 in Zell am See
250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Pension Hubertus
Hotel Garni Pension Hubertus
#1 of 63 in Zell am See
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Margarete Hotel Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Margarete Hotel Garni

Address: Schmittenstrasse 123, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Zell am See
Price Range: £73 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Margarete Hotel Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy 3-star pension directly next to the cable cars of Schmittenhöhebahn, trassXpress and Sonnenalmbahn in Zell am See! Ideal for skiers - no car/ski bus needed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Margarete Hotel Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing