We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but a bit hard to find”

Zell am See Youth Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zell am See Youth Hostel
Dublin
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great location but a bit hard to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is a Youth Hostel, directly on the lake in a brilliant location. It is however quite a walk away from Zell am See. Parking is also not directly at the Hostel but a few hundred mtrs away. We had a family room (2 children and 2 adults) with a view over the lake and an en-suite bathroom. The room was very clean with modern furniture, but a bit on the small side. Breakfast is nice and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grantig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Great place for a school ski trip. Good sized, clean rooms, close to skishuttle bus. Continental breakfast filling and elaborate in the morning, and sets you up for the day. Without fear of exaggeration this loaction has to be one of the most beautiful in Austria. Can't wait to return next year to stay at the same location with 31ski. A big thank you to the JGH staff, Toby at 321ski and our pupils from JSSC. All of our pupils came back buzzing so full credit to everyone involved - sadly it takes a lot to impress them!!

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wyalong, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed at this hostel after a day long hike down from the Alps. We ended up staying in a private room, which had its own bathroom, table and chairs, wardrobe and a set of bunk beds. Everything was clean and neat. It was a little more expensive than other hostels (I think about 23 euro per person), but as we were in a private room it was not so bad. Breakfast is included in the price, and was a good selection of cereals, bread and spreads. The staff are also very helpful.

Zell am See is a beautiful town, with a variety of activities given it's proximity to the alps and the lake. I am looking forward to staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamaraM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

The 4-bed room had two bunkbeds, a private shower/sink and separate toilet. Everything was very clean. There were two wardrobes with 4 shelves on one side and several coathangers on the other side. Each bed had a little shelf and reading lamp. There was enough floorspace for the suitcases, hooks for coats and a good size table with chairs. The beds were comfortable and well-built. The room had a beautiful view across the lake. The breakfast buffet was good, the staff very friendly and helpful.
There is no washing machine. We used the wash service in town, which was expensive, but good.

We didn't like the shower which was fixed high up on the wall and delivered a far apart hard spray. The towels we rented were old and thin.
For most of our stay the central heating system was switched off, even though night temperatures were close to freezing.
The biggest problem was noisy groups. Noise echoes in the hallways, especially at night. A large group of teenagers filled up the breakfast room in the morning.
Families might be better off with a holiday apartment.

To get into town you can walk along the lake (Make sure you walk on the footpath and not the bike path !). If you want to get to the nearest busstop, e.g. to go to Kaprun, you have to walk along a high railway fence for a while, that separates this part of town from the main road.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyMumAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

The Zell am See Youth Hostel was the perfect inexpensive and gorgeous setting for us to stay in while biking on the Tauern Bike Trail in May 2008. The weather was great, there were very few tourists, and lodging was readily available.

Helpful?
3 Thank outdoorsyemptynester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#11 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Badhaus
Hotel Badhaus
#23 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zell am See Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zell am See Youth Hostel

Property: Zell am See Youth Hostel
Address: Seespitzstrasse 13, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Zell am See Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HostelWorld so you can book your Zell am See Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing