We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Christmas experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Salzburgerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fabulous Christmas experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

A wonderful hotel where we have just spent Christmas. The service is superb, the ambience warm and friendly, the food excellent, we can't really fault it. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and the 24 December Gala Dinner was lovely - cocktails first, carols around the piano, a visit from Santa and a seven course dinner. This is a hotel to which we shall definitely return in a wonderful village beautifully decorated for Christmas and lots of snow!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosquito Magnet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    31
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
65
171
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

This hotel was very comfortable. A restaurant is designed well and selection and quality of food is excellent. The room is also very well equipped and the best thing about this hotel,that is not in any others is that the lighting in the room is very bright!this is important for me,because I have a bad eyesight. All in all,I liked this hotel)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Our third stay here and we've just booked again. Why do so many guests return ? The service, the food, the location and above all the care which is shown, all of which adds up to a wonderful relaxing atmosphere.
Many other reviewers have commented on the facilities and I'd like to correct or add to a few of the comments. There are no tea or coffee-making facilities in the rooms because of fire regulations in a traditional wooden-built hotel. You can request (and pay for) early morning tea of course, but tea and coffee are available free of charge in the Spa bistro from 1pm, where you can also get a light snack, fresh fruit, etc -and of course more substantial cakes are in the bar in the afternoon. (Who commented they didn't get enough to eat?!!!)
Yes, some of the waiting staff are students, but they are (mainly second-year) students from hotel schools who are learning how to do the job properly and this is an important and obligatory part of their course. A little patience is all that is needed - and let's face it, service can sometimes be "leisurely" here - but, hey, you're on holiday aren't you.
Frankly the only hitch we encountered this time round was an honest error on our bill, quickly corrected.
WQe arribed totally frazzled after weeks of building works at home. We left at peace with the world. For a totally relaxing break in lovely surroundings and with marvellous food and attentive staff, this hotel takes a lot of beating.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are quieter, but if you want a lovely lake view the higher floors are best for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leeGlosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this lovely Hotel, in the small lake resort of Zell Am See. The Hotel is family owned, and very homely, friendly and everything is of the very highest standard. Our room was a family room, and was on the road side of the hotel, so yes, a little noise could be heard, but it certainly did not affect my sleep! The Garden rooms have a spectacular view, not just of the gardens, but of the mountains behind, so I would say they are worth requesting. Food was fantastic and plentiful, our half board included a "snack" which was basically a wonderful lunch/afternoon tea and cake (the Apple Strudel was divine!!) the dinners were very decadent, 5 courses, and whatever the children wanted was made for them. Wine was expensive but very good. Service from all the staff was just brilliant, so professional, efficient and friendly always. The facilities were very good - several swimming pools to choose from, and free use of bicycles, which we thought was excellent. Another point to note, the Hotel will gladly give you a lift to the start of the Schmittenhohe cable car, and then pick you up again when you return, you can also use the facilities of the Grand Hotel, which is on the lake, and the Strand baden, (an outdoor lido by the lake which my children used every day free of charge as guests of the hotel!) So there is a great deal of added value to staying here. To walk to centre of town takes two minutes, and is a very nice small place to explore. All in all, a very very nice time was had by all and we will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Choose a Garden Room, the views are stunning of both gardens and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The minute you arrive in the lobby, you understand that this is something extraordinary. Salzburgerhof is in the centre of Zell am See, that is a lovely village by the sea. The rooms are spacious and elegant. The hotel have its own made lake, outdoor - and indoor pool, and ofcourse a great spa. From your room, you can see up to Scmittenhoe, or out on the lake, depending on witch side you are on - And here comes the only warning for this hotel - dont stay on the sea side if you are a light sleeper - the train goes close by!
When this is said, I will say that the food, and service is the best about this fabolous hotel. And maybe the price - best value for money!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth_Norway_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We appreciated our stay in the Salzburgerhof very much. It’s a typical Austrian hotel run by the family Holleis. We were nicely welcomed at our arrival and the Salzburgerhof provides nearly all the facilities you can expect from a hotel like that! A special mention has to be made for the extraordinary alpine garden, the cosy terrace and the beautifully decorated room we had. We felt that the price was quite fair in comparison with the product we got. Food quality was excellent and we could also enjoy a fabulous choice of wines.
We experiences however two or three small disappointments: first, you will be not especially warmly welcomed if you come after 11am at breakfast although it’s supposed to run till 11.30 am. The service could also be more attentive at the restaurant, particularly at breakfast. Depending on were you stay for dinner, you will hear quite a lot of noise from the kitchen : that should be quickly changed !We didn’t manage to have WLAN access in the room either. Without air conditioned it can be disagreeable during the hottest days of the year. At last you have to know that the majority of the clients in the destination comes from the Arabic countries in June and in the first two weeks of July.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olympicchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Salzburgerhof is a genuine five star hotel with exceptionally well trained and helpful staff, most of whom speak good English. The decor is traditional Austrian and perhaps slightly on the austere side - which is the way Austrians and Germans seem to like it. The gardens are quite wonderful in summer and include a natural swimming pool (ie a pool built to look like a natural lake - it's very authentic). The are two other swimming pools - indoor and outdoor, the outdoor one has swimming jets for training. There is an amazing spa area with a gym, sauna (which is outside in an authentic sauna hut with an outside shower), tons of relax beds, water beds and rocker beds, many different types of steam and hot rooms, two jacuzzis and various massage and body treatments. There is even a sauna meister who gives lessons in how to use the saunas as well as running various fitness classes. There is an indoor golf range. The hotel has a fleet of bikes that are free to rent, one of which is electric assisted. The food here is very good, the Stübe restaurant gets 16 points in the Gault Millau guide which would be about 1 Michelin star but this restaurant wasn't open during our stay - I think it operates in the ski season only. The food in the main dining room is still very good and there is a decent wine list dominated by Austrian wines. The hotel is right in the centre of Zell, so very convenient and has car parking. However, Zell is quite a noisy town, the rail line runs across the lake shore only a few yards from the hotel and is busy most of the night with freight trains, the dustcarts come around every morning at 5.30 and delivery lorries seem to need to do a lot of reversing. At 6.30 the postman comes with his cart and the church bells start at 7.00. None of this matters if you have your double glazed windows closed but in a hot summer and with no air con in the bedrooms you will probably have them open.the solution is to avoid the rooms with a lake view and go instead for a garden view room which will be away from the noise and cheaper to boot. Although the lake view is hypnotic, the garden is very lovely too.

Room Tip: Go for a garden view room to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brownbear101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.5 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salzburgerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salzburgerhof

Property: Hotel Salzburgerhof
Address: Auerspergstrasse 11, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#3 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#5 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Salzburgerhof 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior wellness facilities and elegant accommodation in one of the most beautiful Alpine regions. Stylish garden suites with own steam room, sauna and open fire place - as beautiful as a luxurious private house! The restaurant is awarded with 2 GaultMillau Certificates. The Salzburgerhof's exquisite spa complex, the WELLNESS-SCHLÖSSL has been presented with the highest award, the 4-star-Relax Lily, and offers unique fitness and wellness facilities within a fairytale ambiance. Enjoy a unique, diverse sauna world as well as an extensive therapy and beauty care centre. Indoor- and outdoor-pools, a natural pond and private beach at the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Salzburgerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburgerhof Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing