We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Having travelled the world and stayed in many hotels this is one of the best
My wife and I stayed for 5 nights whilst travelling through Austria celebrating our anniversary the room was lovely food and staff excellent especially Paul who served us drinks in the bar lounge
the log fire and general comfort was fantastic .Will definitely return next year

Room Tip: All rooms are great even the basic we had junior suite with lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham123489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    31
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
73
180
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the Salzburgerhof for 5 days of rest and relaxation after 10 days in magnificent Vienna. We were a little worried that we'd be sorry that we hadn't stayed in Vienna till we needed to go home, but the moment we stepped into this warm and charming hotel and were offered our "welcoming champagne" in the gorgeous garden we knew we had made the right decision. We've stayed at many inns and hotels in Europe but nothing compares to the understated luxury and pampering of this wellness/spa hotel. Our large room was immaculate and beautifully furnished, with a view of the garden, pond and pool, flower boxes from every window, and of course, the snow capped mountains. I couldn't stop walking out onto our terrace to take pictures.

The facilities are outstanding, especially the "wellness castle" attached to the hotel. Their indoor pool opens into a heated outdoor pool that can be used year-round (for the hearty). There are several different indoor and outdoor saunas, serene and beautiful lounging areas, a gym for working out, and every kind of spa treatment you can imagine (treatments for additional cost of course). I had a massage and facial which were both wonderful. Although we had some rainy days, it never impinged on our stay because there was so much to do without leaving the hotel.

And now for the food! We took half board which turned out to essentially be full board. Breakfast buffet was out of this world, the "snack" during lunch time is a small very ample buffet, the afternoon coffee/tea and pastries in the lounge hit the spot, and the 5 course dinners were gourmet level. The dinner portions are small (by American glutton, doggie bag standards) but more than enough. Each course was a work of art and a taste sensation. Vegetarian, fish and meat options were offered every night. Desserts were to die for. The service was flawless...attentive without being intrusive. A live pianist serenaded us every night during dinner to add to the ambiance provided by the light wood, old world Austrian beauty of the dining room. The world just drifted away as we ate the fabulous meal, drank the wonderful recommended wines, looked around at the beauty, and hummed along with the music. Wunderbar!

The best part for us is that this hotel is not pretentious. We didn't need to dress up or feel out of our element (we usually go for the relaxed, cozy, casual b&b or inn). We felt comfortable wearing our jeans everywhere in the hotel and (like most others) wore the cozy bathrobes they supply when heading for the wellness castle. For dinner, we spiffed up just a little but there was still a wide range of acceptable dress even then.

While this hotel is certainly not cheap, it is worth every euro we spent considering the accommodations, facilities, and all meals. We were spared the highest rate because we went during the off season (neither ski season nor swimming season). The town of Zell am See ( a few steps from the hotel) is small but charming and the view surrounding the lake is picture postcard beautiful. During the ski and swim seasons, the town must turn into a bustling, lively place given that it sits between the chair lifts and the lake. But we enjoyed the quieter strolls around town and around the lake. The hotel offers bikes for free that can be used on the paths surrounding the lake. We passed that up, but took a nice ferry ride around the lake to catch a glimpse of the scenery from all vantage points. Lovely!

We would highly recommend this hotel for a restful, peaceful and soul nourishing vacation in the Austrian alps. It was a perfect pairing with our stay in Vienna where we walked for miles to take in the beauty, charm and culture of this magnificent city (a three hour train ride to Zell am See). We will be dreaming about both Vienna and the Salzburgerhof for a long time to come.

Room Tip: We took the advice of others and booked a room on the garden side of the hotel to avoid the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asherikamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

An outstanding hotel nestled in the grounds of beautiful gardens overlooking the majestic Lake Zell. Hotel offers a vast array of spa and fitness treatments and the facilities are recognised by the Austrian Spa Awards 2013. Ideally located near the centre of Zell Am See. This is a perfect place to relax, enjoy fine cuisine and take in all that the hotel has to offer. You would seriously struggle to find fault with the hotel - it's that good!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Take a picture postcard setting on a lake surrounded by meadows and mountains, add an elegant but cozy hotel with its own courtyard swimming pond, wooden sauna lodge and elaborate spa. Now staff it from central casting - cheerful people in the traditional local outfits who have ideas for outings, park your car, whisk your luggage to your room, and seem to do it out of hospitality without waiting around for a tip. And, you won't go hungry. Between the lavish breakfast buffet (don't miss the homemade yoghurt, homemade jams and great fruit), the lunch, the afternoon cake buffet and the multiple course multiple choices sit down dinner, you will have more than enough calories to fuel your bike-ride around the lake, your hike in the mountains, your swimming etc. Free WIFI throughout so you can relax without worrying that the office back home is falling apart in your absence. The town itself is charming, a bit of shopping, a bit of sightseeing. Two things to be aware of: it is very popular during high season so you need to book in advance or go off-peak. And it is a European spa, so the dress code in the sauna area is a towel and that's all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank checkpointcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Brilliant holiday @ the Sulzburghof spent 10days half board being spoilt in the restaurant by Christina & Anna plus all the supporting staff excellent service!! The spa is very relaxing quiet & very clean. The swimming pool good temperature & so welcoming after walking or cycling around the lake. Food is presented so well all five or six courses each evening, drinks are not over priced. Room are comfortable & serviced very well every day & evening turn down!! Afternoon free drinks & cakes etc if half board can't be resisted. The owners are available at all times & are ensuring guest are enjoying the hotel. Thank-you we will be BACK!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived here without reservations and were graciously accommodated with a 'family suite.' The room was comfortable, though simple. The real magic of this place is the staff and the grounds. Their inner courtyard is a beautiful oasis... Swimming in a pool or a lake; plenty of places to just relax and enjoy the sun; in the evening, it becomes a beautiful setting for dinner. Spa was great and it seems that afternoon drinks and snacks are gratis. Staff were super nice. We were the only family with young kids, so it was a bit uncomfortable at times, but all in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TUCK1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Over the past 10 years we have stayed here four times.
Our most recent stay was in June when the bad weather caused flooding in Saltzberg! We knew from the long range forecast that the weather was poor and we would not be able to do much walking.
However, because of the superb facilties we knew that this would not matter and spent the first three days in the spa using the excellent facilities - pools, lounge areas, flotation pool, small gym and treatments on offer. I love the fact you can wear your hotel dressing gown and take the underground tunnel from the hotel to the spa area.

We stayed in a spacious junior suite overlooking the beautiful gardens.

As usual the meals were first class, with a good selection of fresh local produce. One of the best cheese selections I have seen. Very tempting to keep going back.

It is also telling that a lot of the staff have been there since we started going to the hotel. They are all pleasant and well trained with an eye to detail. The owners are also visible and make a point of greeting guest and chatting to them at dinner.

We have been fortunate enough to travel and stay in some very good hotels around the world but this is one of our favourites and well deserves it reputation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneDavidB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#6 of 43 in Zell am See
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salzburgerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salzburgerhof

Property: Hotel Salzburgerhof
Address: Auerspergstrasse 11, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#3 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#5 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Salzburgerhof 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior wellness facilities and elegant accommodation in one of the most beautiful Alpine regions. Stylish garden suites with own steam room, sauna and open fire place - as beautiful as a luxurious private house! The restaurant is awarded with 2 GaultMillau Certificates. The Salzburgerhof's exquisite spa complex, the WELLNESS-SCHLÖSSL has been presented with the highest award, the 4-star-Relax Lily, and offers unique fitness and wellness facilities within a fairytale ambiance. Enjoy a unique, diverse sauna world as well as an extensive therapy and beauty care centre. Indoor- and outdoor-pools, a natural pond and private beach at the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Salzburgerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburgerhof Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing