We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Berner
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Der Waldhof(Zell am See)
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Neue Post(Zell am See)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Fischerwirt(Zell am See)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Latini Hotel(Zell am See)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Der Sonnberg(Zell am See)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seehof(Zell am See)(Great Value!)
US$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sporthotel Alpin(Zell am See)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
185
24
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
24
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo brotherson arrivalcourse dinnerbrilliant teamowning familyafternoon cakessleigh ridefireworks displaychristmas packagegreat advantagesnow fallingfamily run hotelpool area ismassage jetsminute walknight skiingeach guest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

After extensive research on hotels in Zell am See we chose this hotel.
Our family stayed here from 19th - 26th August 2011. We had a Suite and a Junior suite next door to each other on the 4th floor. Both rooms had lovely views of the lake they were both spacious, comfortable and very clean.

We arrived to a warm welcome and were offered welcome drinks, our luggage was taken care of. All the staff were friendly and always greeted us.

Breakfast was Buffet style with the usual breads, cheeses, meats, yoghurts, toast, fruit, bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages and was lovely.

Dinner menu was chosen at breakfast. There were 5 courses. The menu did vary from Beef, Fish, Veal, pasta etc. However we did choose to have dinner out on a few nights to sample some local cuisine too. Drinks were a bit pricey at 2.10 euros for a coke which was slightly smaller than a can! To buy a can of coke in the local Spar was 59c! So we had tap water instead!

Lovely cakes were served from 3-5 in the lobby area.

The new spa area and swimming pool was great. The pool was warm and we never had a problem getting a sun lounger.

The hotal is set back from the town about a 5-10 minute walk, however walking back to the hotel is slightly uphill. We were grateful to be more set back as it was more peaceful where as if you are nearer to the town there is a railway track with regular trains passing by.

There is no Air Conditioning, we had warm weather during our stay and we think some fans at least could of been available.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and would recommend the Hotel Berner and would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KAP_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We travelled as part of a group of 19 people (5 families) in March 2011, staying at the Berner for a ski trip of a week's duration. This was not a cheap option and all none of the families would return. It appears that the winter vomiting bug was prevalent in March this year (this happens as the thaw sets in). 6 of our party became ill. There were no warnings signs and no hand sanitisers in the hotel. Management were not welcoming of families: my pianist son was not allowed to play the piano before dinner, food was not always familiy friendly (e.g. they offered the kids pancakes as dinner one evening), when we had to leave early for the airport, we were obliged to carry all our luggage downstairs through the basement and up a steep incline to the waiting taxi. Not family friendly. Very expensive for what was on offer. One positive note: the young staff in the hotel did their best to be friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gallens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Chose this hotel because it is close to the town and the lifts/buses and because it had it's own leisure facilities. We had barely stepped out of the taxi before we were greeted by Christoph Berner who gave us the most genuine welcome and spirited away our luggage. This marked the start of a perfect ski holiday. Our room was outstanding. The food from start to finish was of the highest quality. The Berner brothers and their dedicated team of staff were super-efficient but in an understated way. The hotel is elegant and absolutely spotless but for all that you can really relax here. We have no hesitation in giving this hotel, made special by it's owners and staff, the highest of marks. We would return tomorrow. Thank you 'Team Berner'.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevNAndy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Again we had a great time in hotel Berner.There was still snow and it snows also and we had sunny days. The Berner hotel was good and skiing/snowboarding with the brothers is always fun, meet afterwards at the Breiteckalm for all the family.Coming by train from Holland is a pleasant and relaxing way of travelling.Arrive at Saturday late in the morning and leaving at Saturday a week later late in the evening.So you have two days quiet skiing at the mountain.Nice to have one room Saturday for changing clothes.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgebilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

This was our second visit to the Berner and we received the same warm welcome as before. A welcome drink while we completed the formalities and our luggage was taken to our room and the ski cellar.
Our room, whilst not large was adequate for our needs and was well furnished (recently refurbished) and spotlessly clean. Our balcony overlooked the outdoor swimming pool (access from indoors so you don't freeze), the ski piste (just theother side of the private road) and then fabulous views over the lake and down the valley to the glacier above Kaprun.
Food is excellent and plentiful with enough choice to suit most tastes.
By comparison with some hotels, the spa area appears a little small and outdated but I understand that this will be upgraded and extended in the very near future.
All of the staff are extremely charming and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The owners are actively involved in the running of this delightful hotel and do their very best to ensure that your stay will be a memorable one for all the right reasons.
Definitely one of the best!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ticino57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews