We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Berner
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sporthotel Alpin(Zell am See)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Neue Post(Zell am See)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel zum Hirschen(Zell am See)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel St. Georg(Zell am See)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Timez(Zell am See)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Feinschmeck(Zell am See)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Glasererhaus(Zell am See)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Stadt Wien(Zell am See)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lebzelter(Zell am See)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
185
24
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
24
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo brotherson arrivalcourse dinnerbrilliant teamowning familyafternoon cakessleigh ridefireworks displaychristmas packagegreat advantagesnow fallingfamily run hotelpool area ismassage jetsminute walknight skiingeach guest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for a week, mostly playing golf in the area. The hotel is typically Austrian (we know them from skiing trips to similar resorts). The staff are excellent, couldn't do enough for guests and were very friendly and helpful. We had a very nice dual aspect junior suite, which was very helpful in keeping the room cooler in the unusual 33C temperatures. The breakfast is good but I missed there being no croissants. The multiple course dinners were also very good and with adequate choice to suit most tastes. The outside pool was just right for cooling down at the end of the day.
The stay would have been superb if a few things had been better, for example:
we could have taken our meals outside in the lovely weather as the dining room was too warm even though it was claimed to be air-conditioned; the wifi connection was weak except in reception; we don't think our bed linen was changed during the week.
Nevertheless, a summer stay here was a delight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay in the Hotel Berner and found it to be very charming and in a superbly quite but central position for an easy 3 or 4 minute stroll into Zell am See. We travelled by car from the UK and the hotel's private garage was absolutely first class.
The gondola's and lifts are within a few minutes stroll and with the Zell am See/Kaprun card given to guests by the hotel, it cost absolutely nothing to use all the lifts as well as the boat trips on the lakes and many other attractions in the area were also free to enter with the card.
The hotel pool was fantastic, being beautifully sited in the sunshine with excellent quality sunbeds with deep pile cushions the like of which you would struggle to find in a five star beach hotel in the Caribbean! The leisure facilities - sauna - steam room etc were also excellent and there were always an abundant supply of clean pool towels available.
All the staff in this hotel are unbelievably friendly and went far out of their way to ensure our holiday was enjoyable and we would like to give particular thanks to the owners, Christoph and Gottfried, who were so helpful and friendly.
This is a gem of a hotel that you feel sorry to leave and we will definitely return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusPassHolders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This hotel sets the standard against which all others should be measured. The warmth, charm and impeccable service provided by the Berner Family (yes, we met them all) demonstrates perfectly the extent to which an outstanding hotel can be the critical factor in the enjoyment of a holiday.

The Berner Hotel surpasses expectation on all counts: on arrival (late in the evening, tired and cold) we were welcomed personally and warmly by one of The Berner Brothers (capitalisation necessary), shown to our (upgraded) room and then invited down to a delicious meal that they had prepared especially for us.

Our room was palatial - huge with a lovely view of the lake, a balcony, two (yes, two) televisions, an immaculate bathroom and comfortable beds. We returned to it every day to find that it had been cleaned carefully and left in pristine condition. It actually felt like a small flat, so we didn't end up getting 'cabin fever' as we have experienced in some smaller locations.

The rest of the hotel is similarly delightful. The Berner family have owned it for some time and whilst the brothers have taken over their parents and modernised systems and procedures, they have taken care to retain an authentic 'Austrian' feel. Staff are dressed in traditional Austrain garb, Peter the accordian player appears on the first night to play through the meal, and food is local or based on traditional recipes, including a daily complimentary cake buffet every afternoon when you come off the slopes. Although this may sound like a theme park, please rest assured that it is not - the charm and immense warmth of the people ensures that there is no sense of artificiality but rather one of genuine pride in their culture and a desire to share it with others.

A number of other reviews here suggest that the food is quite heavy going, but I would refute this - the six course dinner every night has a lovely sense of occasion and portions are appropriately sized so you don't end up feeling too gluttonous. Make sure you try the knoedels!

In terms of other highlights - the spa is a lovely facility and particularlly welcome after a day's skiing and the guided trip on a Monday morning is well worth participating in, if only to marvel at the Berner Brothers' skiing ability.

This hotel deserves to win every award going - it proves that good independent hotels, run by local people who care will always surpass huge multiplexes - and long may it last!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura_Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

In the 30 years we have been having an annual ski holiday the Hotel Berner was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We have read many reviews, but have never written a review before, however this hotel deserves a special mention. From arrival to departure we were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble for the polite hosts and staff, everyone was friendly and there were a number of points of attention to detail that sets them apart. The rooms and the meals were of high quality, as were the other facilities. A most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: A 4th floor room with a lake view would be nice
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Q5MrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

From reading other reviews knew this hotel would not be a disappointment. From the personal greeting on arrival from one of the owners, Christophe, we had excellent service from all the staff, superb 6 course evening meals and a very comfy room. The room was a little warm, but think that's because we were over the sauna and swimming pool area, which was another plus-point of the Berner. Good location for the town, for apres ski and a 5 minute walk to main ski lift up to the slopes. The biggest compliment we can pay is that we will be back!

Room Tip: Would try to get a high floor room for a better view of lake
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GorgieGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews