We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic! They think of everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Magic! They think of everything!”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We wanted to experience a White Christmas & chose The Grand Hotel Zell Am See for our first one! We weren't disappointed. Superb location, right on the lake. Superb room with bunk beds for the kids, and ample room for a week's stay. We arrived with snow in the air 5 days before Christmas & it was magical! The hotel had activities on almost every night & we began with a candle lit tour through the town, the old church, accompanied by the hotel's owners & a singing quartet serrenading us. It was that unique I do not have the words to describe it. The hotel is a 4 star (unashamedly so..I don't know what the fuss is about on previous postings), extremely well appointed ameneties, heated floors, food basket in room, quaint public areas. Christmas decorations, huge tree, Santa Claus came on Christmas eve, hotel gave all kids & guests a gift. The front desk staff were exceptional - esp Alexander & Ruben who suggested & organised everything for us from ski lessons, ski passes, sleigh rides, toboganning, ice skating..and even taxis! They answered all our questions (as ski novices we had loads of questions too.) The room we had was on the ground floor(1st floor) with doors that opened onto a balcony so we could build a snowman - the best part however was that the balcony made way to the snow covered lawn & our children had direct access to this wonderful winter wonderland whenever we came back from our daily activities. Indoor swimming pool was large & a nice treat...the Spa was exceptionally appointed with out of this world views from the top floor of the adjoining building. The only downside was the food - very Austrian & not to our liking. The breakfasts were fine but the half-board dinners left us dissatisfied..one or two nights is ok but for the whole week was not to our liking. The quality of the food & the quantity was superb - just not what we liked. We prefer the ability to be able to eat out of the hotel & there are loads of places in the small town. However I think there is only a half board option (or atleast there was for the period we booked). Our attendant Mandy was extremely helpful & genuine & there was entertainment in the dining room every night & pre-dinner warm wine/punch on the snow covered terrace by the lake! A real experience! We cannot fault this hotel - it had thought of everything that a guest might need..both old & young. My only comment would be to extend the wi-fi to the rooms not just the main reception area. We have just recommended this to friends who are travelling there next week - it is a SUPER hotel & a superb location. We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Family Room on the ground floor (1st floor) with balcony & direct access to the hotels gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 40fusDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    132
    46
    34
    24
See reviews for
200
216
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in the Grand Hotel for a week from January 21st this year and overall enjoyed the experience. Some of the earlier reviews referred to the hotel as being 'tired' and this wasnt really applicable, all the public areas were fine and couldnt be faulted at all.

Reception, restaurant & bar were all of a good standard, the only area lacking was our bedroom which was indeed a bit tired and in need of an upgrade. Always well cleaned and left tidy, however they seemed to be rationing the toiletries and their resupply!

Food in the restaurant was of a very good standard with a wide selection and the staff in particular were helpful & really friendly.

Hotel offers WiFi in the reception area although while we were there it was continually dropping out and speeds were low - staff were aware of this, but I couldnt say if this would be improved on your visit. Hotel also offers a shuttle bus to connect with one of the ski lifts and also buses to the slopes.

BTW, in case you dont know there is an option to leave your skis etc in lockers at some of the slopes, saving walking in big boots and carrying skis and poles and only costs €5 per day...a good option to consider.

Kitzsteinhorn, the 3,000m glacier mountain about 20 minutes away is well worth a visit, even if like us you didnt ski there. Views are fantastic and if you take the 660 bus at the train station it takes you right to the mountain base where 3 gondolas get you to the top. Bus and lifts included in your ski pass.

Very nice cafe less than 100m directly in front of the hotel called Cafe Seegasse for great coffees and cake selection.....you wont resist!

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Perhaps see if there are upgraded rooms? Railroad tracks to the rear of the hotel (not as bad as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We have stayed in the hotel several times within last few years. There is a good reason - great central location with majestic historical building that has been stepwise refurbished without loosing its characteristic features. Pleasant indoor swimming pool, tasty cousine supplemented by friendly bar, music etc. Apres ski located next by with night bars that are anyway well separated from Grand hotel and do not bother sleeping guests.

Room Tip: Some rooms next to the railway should keep theie windows closed overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5700grand, Marketing at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Your entire GRAND HOTEL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Eventhough ,We have been regular Zell am see visitor in winter for six years.We stayed at Grand hotel first time this year.When I compare with other 4 stars hotels with Grand Hotel. It is real 4 stars hotel.I stay at many famous hotels in the world.I think It is the one of the best of them.Its location is in most beatiful and central of Zell am see.It is very clean ,staff are polite and frienly.Restaurants are clean ,staff are professional,meal are very delicious.Live music and other music in restaurants and bar were nice.We havent taken any negative sense in a week.We left the hotel after a week happily.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unal u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We arrived at lunch time new years eve to at least a foot of snow everywhere...the Grand was majestic and magical. The suite overlooked the lake and the view was spectacular. The New Year Gala celebration was the best experience of New Years Eve that we have ever had....without exception, the staff, in particular Dieter (the manager), made our stay superb.
We wish to thank all of the staff for making our stay so special. It was a perfect holiday, in a perfect hotel. in a perfect location. We would recommend the Grand Hotel without reservation.
Kevin and Dale Swansea

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinanddale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

After booking our holiday I read Trip Advisor and was slightly concerned about the reviews, however, since visiting the Grand Hotel Zell, I urge all readers to ignore any bad reviews of this hotel.

We stayed at the hotel over the Christmas period, it was our first Christmas away from home and family and was made very special by the hotel. We thought our lakeside room, the cleaniness, the Christmas decorations, the daily Christmas entertainment and the staff were wonderful but particularly the food was amazing. I have to follow a strict gluten free diet, unfortunately the travel agent had not passed these details on, however the hotel could not be more accommodating and the chef adjusted the 6 course Christmas Gala menu at short notice and then continued to provide such gorgeous variety of 5 course menus! When it came to dining, it was the most relaxed holiday I have had since being diagnosed with CD, I felt completely comfortable that the chef and waiters were carefully looking after me, I did not need to mention it again and I was provided gluten free bread at each meal, a rarity at many restaurants! We found all the staff, from the maids, to the waiters in the restaurant and Imperial Bar to the Managers, all extremely helpful, very polite and friendly. Apart from a few pleasantries recalled from school days, we did not speak German and had no trouble speaking with any of the staff in English.

We don't have children, however, there were a few families with young children, they used the Kinderclub, Santa Claus visited, waiters interacted with the children and all seemed very happy.

We skiied each day, the hotel advertises they are 8 minute walk from the Gondola so they provide a minibus every 15 minutes in the morning and during the afternoon which can also carry your skis, however, we found it was only a few minutes walk, we rented our skis from Intersport beside the Gondola so we could leave them there overnight and the walk was very pleasant and helped relax and stretch our tired leg muscles!

Even if you don't ski, a visit in the winter to walk up on the mountains, using the Gondolas, would be wonderful, there were many people walking on the mountain while we were skiing. The hotel also provides each morning a leaflet showing the weather, what is on in the hotel and around the town which had activities such as snowshoe hiking, sleigh rides, ice skating shows, etc.

We stayed half board, normally we would still eat out around the town to try other restaurants, however the standard and quality of the food in the hotel was sooo good we felt nowhere else in the town could improve on this.

I did not feel the hotel was dated nor needed refurbishing, if others had read the history of the hotel maybe they would understand the reasoning (the hotel was rebuilt in 1980s if I recall correctly due to damage by flood to structural walls in the style from previous years), I know it is personal taste, but I enjoyed the history and architecture of the hotel (if you only like modern stark buildings maybe it's not your style).

We found no reason why this 4 star hotel could not be a 5 star hotel and would recommend to friends and family to stay at this hotel either in the winter or summer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Location, location, location. That is what this hotel is all about, at the lake downtown Zell am See. The interior of the room was a bit old fashioned, but I guess that belongs to the hotel. Breakfast was not bad, but I had better ones. I couldn't imagine that one will book this hotel for an active winter sports holiday, but for a relaxing weekend it is just fine. They have a very nice looking kids play room, but I was there for business without my kid.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freq_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zell am See

Property: Grand Hotel Zell am See
Address: Esplanade 4-6, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#7 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#9 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Zell am See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zell am See and winter sports are like the sun and sky, great friends! Together with the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE, they form an unbeatable trio for the perfect winter vacation.Treat yourself to casual 4-star comfort, homely old Austrian tradition of hospitality, comfort and a touch of luxury alpine directly on the winter white lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Zell Am See
Zell Am See Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing