We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great week in lovely setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Zell am See

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great week in lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was fantastic for our needs. The ski shuttle in the mornings and afternoons took any negatives about not being close to the slopes away, it worked fantastically. The free snack in the bar from 3pm was a real treat, and the hotel staff were great, particularly our waiter who was so good with our 8month old son.

All in all, it was a great experience, great views, zell am see is a lovely town too!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank IanandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    127
    43
    33
    24
See reviews for
189
209
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

a very good location. superior food. wonderful view. only the spa was not so good. the water at the jakuzzi was not hot enough. after skiing one is looking to relax at the jakuzzi but it is not possible with the "not so hot" water in the tub.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keremic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for a ski trip and it was the right choice. The rooms are spacious and clean, the meals are of high standard and the shuttle bus service to the nearest ski lift complete the comfort.
The staff is very friendly, the sauna is a treat after a day skiing.
Its location at the lake shore offers great views.
The only two minor drawbacks are these:
The hotel and its rooms are heated to a temperature that was sometimes a little too high for my taste and it can't be regulated other then opening a window a little (my wife had no complaints :-).
An open window combined with a room close to the rail track that runs in front of the hotel can be cause for nuisance at night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the train tracks if you want to sleep in a cool room without bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eertje64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just back from a wonderful week's holiday. Loved both Zell am See and The Grand Hotel. The town has plenty in it but its small enough to walk round. During the week the locals set up a ski run in the pedestrian precinct for a slalom race. There are also other events going on too in the town.

Every morning The Grand Hotel produced a useful leaflet which gave an idea of what events were happening both in the town and the hotel. It also showed that evening's dinner menu and information about The Grand Spa. This is the area where there are a variety of treatments available, saunas and relaxation rooms. As I had a couple of saunas I was able to use the Relaxation Room otherwise you need to pay. (I think its 15 euros but that also includes the use of the 5 saunas in the afternoon:

http://www.grandhotel-zellamsee.at/en/wellness/saunaangebot-zellamsee/

However there is also the Classic Sauna in the same building as Reception where there are saunas, a pool and jacuzzi, plus sun-beds. This is all free for guests.

We had an amazing time staying in The Grand Hotel and I can honestly say everything was perfect. The staff were polite, friendly and very efficient. The majority of staff spoke excellent English. We booked with Crystal so our room was a standard one, facing the car park, railway line and mountains, but was a nice room and very well furnished etc.

Food was of a high standard, especially breakfast.

Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iceland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I am very grateful for choosing this hotel as everything was perfect. The room had a balcony with beautiful view over the lake, the staff was outstanding and the Spa very very relaxing after a whole day of skiing
I will definitely come again, thank you very much
Best regards
Mrs. Arnadottir

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank islandesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalundborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

What can I say? Grand Hotel simply has it all.

It all takes its beginning in the reception where you are welcomed by at smiling and very helpful staff. The restaurant, with its beautiful view to the lake, serves an outstanding breakfast (believe me, I have traveled the world and always 4* or 5*) and an excellent gourmet dinner. The rooms and all over the hotel it is very clean. The garden and terrace, next to the lake, is stunning with beautiful flowers from spring to autumn.
Two or three times every year for the last four years I have stayed at the Grand Hotel, and today I consider the Grand Hotel as my 2nd home, and I always feel I’m going back to “family”.
Marianne, Kalundborg

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We visit Zell am See every year and ALWAYS stay at The Grand, this might be a 4 star hotel, but the offering is certainly 5 star!

Great staff and management, brilliant location, awesome spa and comfortable sizeable rooms.

We visit both in summer and winter where both seasons just have so much to offer.

The restaurant serves a really good breakfast, but the evening menu can be a bit ambitious. We often prefer to eat somewhere in the village. They would do good to introduce a second more relaxed menu or restaurant within the hotel.

Room Tip: The Wellness rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTHZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zell am See

Property: Grand Hotel Zell am See
Address: Esplanade 4-6, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#9 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Zell am See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zell am See and winter sports are like the sun and sky, great friends! Together with the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE, they form an unbeatable trio for the perfect winter vacation.Treat yourself to casual 4-star comfort, homely old Austrian tradition of hospitality, comfort and a touch of luxury alpine directly on the winter white lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Zell Am See
Zell Am See Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing