We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay. We will return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb stay. We will return.”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We just spent a week at the Grand in a family room. This consists of a room with double bed, sitting area with bunk beds off it (they're in a recessed bit with sliding doors so no difficulties getting the kids to sleep), toilet, bathroom and small balcony with wonderful lake view. For a family with 2 smaller kids it was perfect for us. We got a great deal on a half board stay for the week, with the kids staying free.

Things we liked:
- superb location. Breathtaking views from our room, dining room, the pool, the spa. Being such a short walk to the beautiful town of Zell even though the lakeside setting makes you feel very secluded.
- minibus to and from the ski lift.
- service in the restaurant was superb. A very special mention must go to our main waitress Vivien. Overall we found all of the staff genuinely friendly, welcoming and very helpful. The food was good, in particular very tasty options for the kids. Yes, it's very Austrian (lots of dumplings, terrines etc) but there is a good enough choice that we had no trouble finding things we liked each evening.
- the pool was wonderful, nice that kids were allowed in the sauna and jacuzzi which was a great novelty for them
- the grand spa was a real touch of luxury
- free child care which the kids absolutely loved and kept asking to go back to. The two ladies in charge were exceptionally caring. Going to the grand spa for a few hours was completely guilt-free given how happy the girls were.
- getting to feed the ducks/geese/swans daily
- being able to get ski passes and book ski lessons in the hotel


Things that weren't quite so good (only one, in fact):

- the timing of the afternoon snack (15.00-16.00), which is a great skiing ritual. It finishes much earlier in the Grand than in any of the many other places I've stayed. Getting to ski just once a year I want to maximise time on the mountain. If you want to get back in time you have to finish skiing much earlier than I would personally want to. And boy do they adhere strictly to the finish time! On two occasions we got back just after 16.00 - once having waited almost 20 mins for the minibus (very much the exception, it must be said) - to find everything cleared away, much to the bitter disappointment of the kids. The food is very good when you do get there, with a mix of savoury and sweet. Come on the Grand, let's have a later finish please!

Overall, we had a really wonderful holiday thanks in large part to our hotel stay which felt very luxurious. Can't wait to book again. Well done to all at the Grand.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    135
    47
    34
    24
See reviews for
201
223
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Although I had been to Zell am See before, I had not stayed at the Grand Hotel. I wish I had! It is a lovely hotel situated on the lakeside. We were a party of 8 celebrating my sister's 50th birthday in December 2013 (sorry to be late providing my review!). The bedrooms were large and comfortable which overlooked the lake. Views were stunning. Only slight critique is that I would have liked a larger shower. The whole hotel was very clean and well maintained. All the staff were helpful and courteous. The food was excellent and plenty of it. Considering we were a party of 8 with all different likes and dislikes when it comes to food, no-one was disappointed. The sauna and indoor swimming pool were frequently used and again very clean and well maintained. The location of the hotel is also great. It is easy to get around on foot and if you do not use the hotel's bus shuttle service to the nearest ski-lift, it is a short walk. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We are already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lake were fantastic! Lifts are available for people not wanting to use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was fantastic for our needs. The ski shuttle in the mornings and afternoons took any negatives about not being close to the slopes away, it worked fantastically. The free snack in the bar from 3pm was a real treat, and the hotel staff were great, particularly our waiter who was so good with our 8month old son.

All in all, it was a great experience, great views, zell am see is a lovely town too!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank IanandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

a very good location. superior food. wonderful view. only the spa was not so good. the water at the jakuzzi was not hot enough. after skiing one is looking to relax at the jakuzzi but it is not possible with the "not so hot" water in the tub.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keremic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for a ski trip and it was the right choice. The rooms are spacious and clean, the meals are of high standard and the shuttle bus service to the nearest ski lift complete the comfort.
The staff is very friendly, the sauna is a treat after a day skiing.
Its location at the lake shore offers great views.
The only two minor drawbacks are these:
The hotel and its rooms are heated to a temperature that was sometimes a little too high for my taste and it can't be regulated other then opening a window a little (my wife had no complaints :-).
An open window combined with a room close to the rail track that runs in front of the hotel can be cause for nuisance at night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the train tracks if you want to sleep in a cool room without bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eertje64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just back from a wonderful week's holiday. Loved both Zell am See and The Grand Hotel. The town has plenty in it but its small enough to walk round. During the week the locals set up a ski run in the pedestrian precinct for a slalom race. There are also other events going on too in the town.

Every morning The Grand Hotel produced a useful leaflet which gave an idea of what events were happening both in the town and the hotel. It also showed that evening's dinner menu and information about The Grand Spa. This is the area where there are a variety of treatments available, saunas and relaxation rooms. As I had a couple of saunas I was able to use the Relaxation Room otherwise you need to pay. (I think its 15 euros but that also includes the use of the 5 saunas in the afternoon:

http://www.grandhotel-zellamsee.at/en/wellness/saunaangebot-zellamsee/

However there is also the Classic Sauna in the same building as Reception where there are saunas, a pool and jacuzzi, plus sun-beds. This is all free for guests.

We had an amazing time staying in The Grand Hotel and I can honestly say everything was perfect. The staff were polite, friendly and very efficient. The majority of staff spoke excellent English. We booked with Crystal so our room was a standard one, facing the car park, railway line and mountains, but was a nice room and very well furnished etc.

Food was of a high standard, especially breakfast.

Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iceland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I am very grateful for choosing this hotel as everything was perfect. The room had a balcony with beautiful view over the lake, the staff was outstanding and the Spa very very relaxing after a whole day of skiing
I will definitely come again, thank you very much
Best regards
Mrs. Arnadottir

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank islandesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
1,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#6 of 43 in Zell am See
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zell am See

Property: Grand Hotel Zell am See
Address: Esplanade 4-6, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#7 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#9 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Zell am See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zell am See and winter sports are like the sun and sky, great friends! Together with the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE, they form an unbeatable trio for the perfect winter vacation.Treat yourself to casual 4-star comfort, homely old Austrian tradition of hospitality, comfort and a touch of luxury alpine directly on the winter white lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Zell Am See
Zell Am See Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing