We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel for all the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We are just back from our 7th family ski holiday in the Grand Hotel. Once again we thoroughly enjoyed the week .... great rooms for a family of four, service excellent, superb food and kids love the pool. We will be back again next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right of the hotel (as you stand facing the main entrance) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here for half term with our 13 year old daughter. Every member of staff was professional and very pleasant the food was great, with an extra choice for children if they didn't fancy the main courses offered. We found the breakfast to be above average with plenty of choice. The skibus worked very efficiently, we never waited longer than 5 minutes for one to take us to central lifts and back. The swimming pool and sauna area were great and treatments at the grand spa were lovely, and well priced. We were worried about train noise having read other reviews but did not find it woke us in the night. If windows were open and we were awake we did hear them, however with the window closed we did not have a problem. Staff we found particularly welcoming were Mandy and Katarina in the restaurant and Conny in the bar, but as I have said there were no staff who were ever unpleasant in any way. We will definitely return

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A year ago we stayed in Kaprun up the road. One evening we came to Zell Am See and when my partner saw the Grand Hotel all lit up she instantly declared we're staying there next year - and so we did!! We returned this year for a weeks skiing in January.
Upon arriving we experienced our only glitch of the week and it's something to be mindful off when booking into this hotel as no one had for warned us! The Grand Hotel is actually two hotels! There is the magnificent building shown in all the brochures and on the web site which is where we imagined we had been booked into and another 'Annex' or plain building next door that runs along the bank of the lake. After booking in we were led down a corridor (which we later realised runs under the road to the building next door) and up a lift to our room. The room was small and the furniture looked slightly worn. It was when I looked out of the window I realised we weren't in the main building. We went back to reception and complained that this was not the standard of room we had been expecting and not even in the right building! At first the receptionist said unfortunately they were fully booked and that to stay in the main building we would have to pay extra. We were not having this and asked to see the manager. She arrived and we explained to her the problem and within two minutes she had arranged to show us up to a room in the main building which if we liked was ours. We went up to have a look and what a difference, this room was everything we had expected. It was at least twice the size of the other room and had a magnificent view out over the lake. The bed was comfortable, there was an on suite bathroom, separate toilet and plenty of storage space. Perfect, we took it.
After that false start everything else during our stay was pretty much first class.
Zell Am See is a picture postcode Austrian town with the Grand Hotel in a very special location jutting out into the lake, we did have an initial concern that this location was far from the ski lifts but we needn't have worried as the hotel runs its own little mini bus which runs constantly back and forth from the hotel to the ski lift, both in the morning and afternoon which was great, it was almost like a ski in ski out with no walking at all! The boot room under the main hotel is also heated so yours boots are nice and warm in the morning when you first put them on.
We stayed at the hotel on a half board basis and really came to look forward to breakfast and our evening meal. At the buffet style breakfast they provide you with a run down of the days weather and snow forecast which was a nice touch and in the evening you get a fancy printed menu from which there is a large choice on offer. Your not tied to one menu either, as you can mix and match if you wish, (which we often did!) Basically, every night you have a five course meal after which most nights we could hardly move! The lobster soup we had on our first night was the best I've ever had. The only negative comment I would make on the food was regarding breakfast in that apart from wonderful scrambled eggs and streaky bacon there was no other hot food on offer. I would have liked to have seen sausages and mushrooms or even some smoked salmon to go with the scrambled eggs!
On the ground floor the hotel has a swimming pool, spa, jacuzzi s, sauna, and a gym. On several afternoons we wandered down to the swimming pool in the toweling robs provided. The facilities were very good, with a view out over the lake from the pool! However, after two days we stopped going as the pool and jacuzzi were full of children who were jumping and diving in the pool screaming their heads off. There was no staff present that we saw controlling them!
The Grand Hotel is very luxurious and the staff were very courteous and helpful. The dining room was very nice and the food served was of a high standard and plenty of it! We found the skiing in Zell was very good and catching a bus (free with your lift pass!) to Kaprun (another ski resort a few miles up the road) was no hassle at all. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return again in a cold spell when the town is covered in snow and the lake frozen over!

Room Tip: When booking a room, make sure you get a room in the main building and not the annex especially if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustinHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We just spent a week at the Grand in a family room. This consists of a room with double bed, sitting area with bunk beds off it (they're in a recessed bit with sliding doors so no difficulties getting the kids to sleep), toilet, bathroom and small balcony with wonderful lake view. For a family with 2 smaller kids it was perfect for us. We got a great deal on a half board stay for the week, with the kids staying free.

Things we liked:
- superb location. Breathtaking views from our room, dining room, the pool, the spa. Being such a short walk to the beautiful town of Zell even though the lakeside setting makes you feel very secluded.
- minibus to and from the ski lift.
- service in the restaurant was superb. A very special mention must go to our main waitress Vivien. Overall we found all of the staff genuinely friendly, welcoming and very helpful. The food was good, in particular very tasty options for the kids. Yes, it's very Austrian (lots of dumplings, terrines etc) but there is a good enough choice that we had no trouble finding things we liked each evening.
- the pool was wonderful, nice that kids were allowed in the sauna and jacuzzi which was a great novelty for them
- the grand spa was a real touch of luxury
- free child care which the kids absolutely loved and kept asking to go back to. The two ladies in charge were exceptionally caring. Going to the grand spa for a few hours was completely guilt-free given how happy the girls were.
- getting to feed the ducks/geese/swans daily
- being able to get ski passes and book ski lessons in the hotel


Things that weren't quite so good (only one, in fact):

- the timing of the afternoon snack (15.00-16.00), which is a great skiing ritual. It finishes much earlier in the Grand than in any of the many other places I've stayed. Getting to ski just once a year I want to maximise time on the mountain. If you want to get back in time you have to finish skiing much earlier than I would personally want to. And boy do they adhere strictly to the finish time! On two occasions we got back just after 16.00 - once having waited almost 20 mins for the minibus (very much the exception, it must be said) - to find everything cleared away, much to the bitter disappointment of the kids. The food is very good when you do get there, with a mix of savoury and sweet. Come on the Grand, let's have a later finish please!

Overall, we had a really wonderful holiday thanks in large part to our hotel stay which felt very luxurious. Can't wait to book again. Well done to all at the Grand.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Although I had been to Zell am See before, I had not stayed at the Grand Hotel. I wish I had! It is a lovely hotel situated on the lakeside. We were a party of 8 celebrating my sister's 50th birthday in December 2013 (sorry to be late providing my review!). The bedrooms were large and comfortable which overlooked the lake. Views were stunning. Only slight critique is that I would have liked a larger shower. The whole hotel was very clean and well maintained. All the staff were helpful and courteous. The food was excellent and plenty of it. Considering we were a party of 8 with all different likes and dislikes when it comes to food, no-one was disappointed. The sauna and indoor swimming pool were frequently used and again very clean and well maintained. The location of the hotel is also great. It is easy to get around on foot and if you do not use the hotel's bus shuttle service to the nearest ski-lift, it is a short walk. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We are already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lake were fantastic! Lifts are available for people not wanting to use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel was fantastic for our needs. The ski shuttle in the mornings and afternoons took any negatives about not being close to the slopes away, it worked fantastically. The free snack in the bar from 3pm was a real treat, and the hotel staff were great, particularly our waiter who was so good with our 8month old son.

All in all, it was a great experience, great views, zell am see is a lovely town too!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank IanandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

a very good location. superior food. wonderful view. only the spa was not so good. the water at the jakuzzi was not hot enough. after skiing one is looking to relax at the jakuzzi but it is not possible with the "not so hot" water in the tub.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keremic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
1,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#7 of 42 in Zell am See
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zell am See

Address: Esplanade 4-6, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: £181 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Zell am See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zell am See and winter sports are like the sun and sky, great friends! Together with the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE, they form an unbeatable trio for the perfect winter vacation.Treat yourself to casual 4-star comfort, homely old Austrian tradition of hospitality, comfort and a touch of luxury alpine directly on the winter white lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Zell Am See
Zell Am See Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing