We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
1 review
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for a week, skiing. The hotel is in a lovely location overlooking the lake, with breathtaking views. Theres nothing better than opening the curtains in the morning to have the sun rising over the mountains and lake!
Reception staff were friendly and helpful, quick check in. The room we booked had a balcony that we had to pay extra for (Thompson Ski) but well worth it.
The food was excellent, yes very Austrian, but we were in Austria!! Most evenings it was a 7 course meal with a wide selection for everyone.
The hotel bar was welcoming with the piano being played in the background, very soothing after a hards day skiing!
We were a little dissapointed that there was an extra charge for the grand spa, as we thought this was included in the booking. It would has cost us 30 euro extra each, per day. Please check before you go if it is part of your package. The other pool and spa in the main building was nice enough though.
Zell Am See is a fantastic ski resort, with night life if you want it, or quiet bars to relax in. Something for everyone.
Ski school staff were excellent. My partner and I had an hour private lesson each with english instructors, and our skiing improved no end. Great snow and fantastic bars around the mountain to stop at for a hot chocolate!
I would come stay at the Grand Hotel again and would ski at Zell Am See again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — 10 min walk to slopes, but hotel put on a free bus service twice a day.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tebbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    137
    52
    34
    26
See reviews for
204
231
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
overton
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Arrived at the hotel which we had booked a year before with Crystal Ski. We have been to Zell 3 times before and the Grand seemed to have a very good reputation which was very quickly shattered when the first room we were put in greeted us with the horrid stench of cigarette smoke - very odd as the hotel prides itself on being a non smoking hotel. It was that bad, even the pillows and mattress stank when I sat on the bed. We went to reception and were offered a replacement room straight away which we were very pleased at until we walked in to find the smallest, shabbiest, oldest, dirtiest room (to say this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel!). There was no shower curtain, no light bulb on the only bedside lamp and children's pine single beds pushed together. I was horrified. To cut a very long story short - the hotel blamed Crystal and Crystal blamed the hotel saying the room was not one in their room allocation. To top it all, one of the main reasons we had booked the hotel was after being told we would be entitiled to use their brand new wellness area and I fortunately took an email confirming this. When we went up to visit the spa, we were told that we would have to pay the lovely sum of 35 euros EACH PER DAY should we wish to use it, as we were not staying in one of their newly renovated rooms (which we had kind of gathered!!) despite being told that we were due to be staying in one of these by Crystal. At this point I hit the roof and after several phone calls to Crystal, we were offered a room upgrade which would also entitle us to use the new spa.
First day aside, the meals were lovely. The restaurant staff were lovely and the spa was welcomed after a hard day's skiing. We have stayed at the Romantik and Tirolerhof which dwarf the Grand in style, comfort and quality.
I do have more photos to show it's better side so if you'd like to see them please email me :)
If you do decide to go then make sure you get a decent room to start with but in our opinion your money can be far better spent and get the works as a basic rather than staying here and having to pay for the privileges.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — standard of rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank maxmolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Stayed at this beautiful hotel for a week just after new year and had got what I thought was a good deal with Crystal for a 2 bedroom sauna suite having booked back in May 2008.
We were all surprised to see our fab room very spacious with great bath wonderful shower and sauna , 2 great bedrooms,loadsof space for your things and spectacular view over the lake and mountain. The best view I have ever had! The food is unbeatable, very Austrian but so much choice. They also would cook fishfingers, sausagesand chips for my fussy son who also has a nut allergy and nothing was too much trouble.
The service is brilliant. The waiters are mostly Croatian and are very friendly. Even though we felt it was a bit posh for us, we also felt very relaxed. The drinks were expensive however but everything is in Europe at present. so glad we were half board as this kept the cost down.
Zell is a lovely town and the skiing was excellent. The hotel is a short walk (about 8 mins)from the city express gondola. It was difficult to get a locker for your ski and boots but they did keep our skisfor no fee every day. The stroll back to the hotel is even more pleasant stopping just before the hotel for my daily gluhwein which I really miss now. The lake froze while we there, an amazing sight and an eerie sound when the ice startsto crack!
All in all a fantastic holiday! We will return there when the euro is better as I doubt I will get the same great price again.

  • Liked — The spacious bedroom
  • Disliked — Price of the wine
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superdog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Even though I stayed in the new buildings (not the older one), the service are bad, the check in was slow, reception stuff was rude, the rooms are small, their breakfast was below average, I usually leave early and get back late but some times my rooms were not cleaned and I have to follow up with them. I even find mouses in some areas of the hotel.

This IS NOT a 4 star hotel AT ALL. As they don't have internet connection, and their business center had only ONE old PC.
There are no air-conditions, and only fans, the menus were in german only, bathroom doesn't have shampoo!!!!!!

I believe those who have to stay on the older buildings, they will have a worst experience. what else I have to say about this hotel? spend little more and stay at Seehof

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank hopamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Zell am See is very scenic especially when you can see the scenery through the rain - the place is very green with vast forests - it is that way because of the rain. The Grand Hotel charges overinflated prices because it is on the lakeside. The food is very good and the rooms are average - we booked a Junior Suite but were allocated a family apartment which could sleep six but the TV was in the living room so catching up on the news (either Sky or CNN) meant watching it other than in the bedroom. Wireless Broadband is only available in the hotel lobby and whilst appreciated would have been nice if one could have accessed it from the bedroom. We also paid for a lake view and to be fair it did look out on the lake (through the hedge). Our balcony was an irrelevance really as you couldn't see the lake through the hedge (we were ground floor) and the base of the balcony was see through glass looking down into the laundry - so one had to be properly attired when the laundry was working! Being ground floor meant that upper stories discarded their cigarette butts and condoms onto the grass outside our windows - not very pleasant although the hotel were quick enough to remove them when we complained. Zell am See is a little village and is down one of the many valleys - there's only one way in and out and when its raining there's not a lot to do. I'd rather have been in Phuket!.

  • Liked — The Restaurant is fine
  • Disliked — Ground floor accommodation
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Robertn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2008

The Grand Hotel is a wonderful building that was originally built in the 1800's and has been added to since. The location is superb even though the rail line runs right past the front door. We didn't find it that intrusive although we were surprised to find freight trains still passing at midnight.

This hotel, because of it's age i think, isn't as typically 'tyrolean' as its sister hotel, The Salzburgerhof, which is 200 metres down the road. But, the Salzburgerhof doesn't have such breathtaking views.

Our room was very average for a 5 star hotel. It was comfortable enough and the facilities within the room were ok. But, apart from the amazing view, it was nothing special and that was a little disappointing. In particular there was a big old ceiling light which seemed completely out of place and which dangled a little precariously with the rose hanging off the ceiling leaving the wires visible.

Parking was also a bit of an issue as there were no reserved spaces - we were advised to put it wherever we could find a space - even though the website, I'm sure, mentioned secure underground parking.

The eating arrangements were a bit unexpected as tables for two were pushed together so that you were effectively sharing a table for 4 with another couple. I'm ashamed to admit that my German is poor and, yes, we were paired with Germans who didn't appear to speak much English! I happen to hold Germans in high regard but the language barrier made for rather uncomfortable meal times - for me anyway.

These are minor gripes of course but deserving of a mention. My overall rating is purely based on a comparison with experiences of other 5 star (and some superb 4 star) hotels that I have stayed at.

On the positive side, the staff were wonderful without exception. The food was quite superb and the information provided on our table at breakfast we found to be really useful. The CityXpress gondola is a 5 minute walk away. You can hire a locker there (at the Intersport shop) and leave all your kit there overnight.
The pool and jacuzzi were OK and you can dry off - if it's sunny - on a sunbed in the 'conservatory' area by the pool, whilst marvelling at the wonderful views toward the Kitzsteinhorn mountain.

In summary, we did thoroughly enjoy our stay at The Grand but we probably won't return. If you do stay here, be sure to ask for a south facing room, on the 4th or 5th floors at the lake end of the hotel!!

  • Liked — The Views and the Food
  • Disliked — Seating arrangements for meals and the fact that the rooms weren't as grand as the building!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirGallavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2008

We have just returned from a four day break at the Grand Hotel - 5 adults, two babies and one toddler. My room at the top of the hotel was lovely . I could lounge in bed and take in fantastic views of the mountains through the french windows. The couples with children were very satisfied with the facilities in their rooms. The hotel is very child friendly, staff are friendly, helpful and efficient, food is good and the bar is roomy and relaxing. We all enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Overall experience
  • Disliked — Pool, water temperature and changing facilities
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie+mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 42 in Zell am See
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zell am See

Property: Grand Hotel Zell am See
Address: Esplanade 4-6, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#9 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Zell am See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zell am See and winter sports are like the sun and sky, great friends! Together with the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE, they form an unbeatable trio for the perfect winter vacation.Treat yourself to casual 4-star comfort, homely old Austrian tradition of hospitality, comfort and a touch of luxury alpine directly on the winter white lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Zell Am See
Zell Am See Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing