We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with wonderful staff”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Zell am See and will definitely be returning next year. We traveled with our two children of 9 and 14 and had booked one of the grand suites which had a separate bedroom and a second double bed just off the living room and a terrace with an absolutely beautiful view of the lake. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, efficient and friendly, especially the restaurant staff. The food was excellent and very well presented and even the children's menus varied from the standard "chicken nuggets" or "spaghetti bolognaise" offered in most other hotels. The hotel has a really nice bar with live music in the evening where you can enjoy a drink beside the open fire. All in all a fabulous place to stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellux1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5700grand, Manager at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Thank you so much for your positive feedback!

We would be very happy to welcome you again!
With best regards,

Your team from the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    135
    47
    34
    24
See reviews for
201
223
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Our first trip to Zell Am See was to be the best skiing trip we have had to date. We choose somewhere different every year but after staying at the Grand we are going to return next year and take more family with us. the hotel is beautiful, the staff so very friendly and the food is amazing especially the dessert buffet...WOW! For the non skiers the swimming pool is fabulous and the spa offer discount treatments, whereas a walk around the beautiful town only leaves the difficult choice of which gorgeous patisserie/coffee shop to visit (I tried them all and they were fabulous!) I was made to feel so welcome by the staff when I sat in the bar in an afternoon whilst waiting for the rest of our group to return. This hotel is top class.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lcuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We booked a late deal with Neilsons. Arrived early but no problem, one junior suite made available straight away and the second 20 minutes later. Young lady receptioist insisted on carrying our skis and showed us to the locker room to drop our kit off.
Rooms really spacious and overlooking the lake, lounge area with TV, settee, fridge etc , double bedroom upstairs. Wooden decking overlooking the lake and we were on the fifth floor !
The restaurant and food was second to none....five courses every evening and although I kept quiet about my birthday they sent out complientary sparklg wine for all the party!
I would certainly recomend this hotel and go back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webby011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2011

When we arrived we were assigned a room that didn't have a direct view onto the lake, so we asked at reception if there were any alternatives and they couldn't be more willing to help - our new room was fantastic with direct views onto the lake. The breakfast was the best I've had for a while, and the 5-course dinner was truly excellent. The restaurant & reception staff were very friendly and always had time for us. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Rather than brave International airports to return home for Christmas we booked a 5 night Christmas package and had a fabulous time at the Grand Hotel. The staff were the most helpful ever encountered. The comfortable lake view room was huge with views of mts and lake. A 4 day ski pass was included with the Spa providing good end of day relaxation before a 5 course gourmet dinner. Various activities were offered during the week -family ski day, sleigh ride, etc. A fruit basket was in the room on arrival and a Christmas gift was delivered by the Hotel "angel" on Christmas eve. The hotel was grandly decorated for Christmas and live music heard every night. The area is beautiful and we look forward to returning to the Hotel in the spring.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcmanus40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Our first visit to this hotel and village exceeded our expectations and made an outstanding holiday for 2 adults, 4 teenagers and one 8 year old.
From the warm welcome at check-in to our final departure, the staff were superb and helpful.
We have no criticism of any areas. The rooms, facilities and food (especially) were excellent. We also appreciated the short walk into town, the hotel shuttle to the ski lift and various extra optional activities (guided walks, Santa for the children, performers in the bar/restaurant) and the spa.
We usually ski in Whistler, Canada, but will definitely be back to the Grand in future.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackStPeterPort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We have experienced a very nice Christmas stay experience in December 2010 with my parents and it was unforgettable. Zell am See is beautiful in winter and the whole atmosphere contributed to our pleasant holiday. The staff, menu and the location were excellent and for the price of the special Christmas package we really received an adequate value. Storngly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#6 of 43 in Zell am See
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zell am See

Property: Grand Hotel Zell am See
Address: Esplanade 4-6, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#7 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#9 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Zell am See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zell am See and winter sports are like the sun and sky, great friends! Together with the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE, they form an unbeatable trio for the perfect winter vacation.Treat yourself to casual 4-star comfort, homely old Austrian tradition of hospitality, comfort and a touch of luxury alpine directly on the winter white lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Zell Am See
Zell Am See Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing