We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Neue Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Neue Post
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Not the first time I have stayed in the hotel but have no reason why we need to change. Rooms are comfortable, clean, some can claim they are dated or you could call it 'rustic decoration' (depends on their opinion). In any event, the decoration is pleasant and pleasing to the eye. Bathroom facilities are more than adequate and hot water is readily available. Breakfast is not the most varied I have seen but has the basics and will get you through the day. Everything is fresh and bread is freshly baked.
Staff are very attentive and Anita the director will try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. She will suggest what to do with any type of weather conditions and her advice was spot on.
Hotel located bang in the centre, soundproof rooms and has garage facilities!

No complaints and I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurodepor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    51
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
79
54
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Dirty wellness, you must pay even for bathshoes, empty minibar at the room, bathrooms are really poor, old. I stayed there together with my family for 3 nights in beginning of August 2012. Location close to centre is fine, but I think you can find better performance price/value in Zell am See.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Unfortunately we booked a holiday at this hotel before reading the bad reports on trip advisor, when we did we tried to change hotel but neither Neilson or iglu ski would oblige and we were told to ignore what we had read! We travelled as a party of 6, 2 adults and 4 teenage daughters in 3 separate bed rooms. The rooms were actually ok, they were spacious and clean if not a little dated but that was al right. The hotel is conveniently situated very near the ski lifts and is surrounded by ski hire shops but the food was absolutely disgusting.
As a family we would describe ourselves as foodies,we eat good quality well cooked food, that of a 4 star hotel you could say that was until we stayed at this 4 star hotel.As i have previously said we had huge concerns about the food before we went after reading so many bad reports but we had no option but to try and go with an open mind after taking the advice of both Nielson and iglu ski.When we walked into the restaurant it was like going back in time to the school canteen.the choice was awful it seemed to be a mishmash of al sorts of cheep odd food
all cooked badly it was either well cooked or under cooked. There seemed to be a large amount of young men piling their plates sky high with the different combinations of food so this left many of the serving dishes empty although i dont think this was a bad thing! 2 of our children are vegetarians and there was a fantastic cross contamination of meat and vegetables which was virtually the only thing that was available for them.On this evening there was no lovely bread or rolls just cheap white sliced bread that was openly pulled from a cheap plastic bag in front of everyone.Because we went with an open mind i thought it was unfair to comment on the food if we had not even tried it so we put a little bit on our plates and did just that.it was disgusting grisly, dried out food there was no way it was an acceptable standard of a 4 star hotel.Listening to other guests comments there was a lot of disappointment amongs them and i know that like ourselves they too ate out every night after that. The breakfast was a little better but no way 4 star.You could ask for fried eggs or an omlette but on most occasions you could not tell on from the other. If you chose the scrambled eggs then when you served them out of the turine you would find that the underneath of them was burnt!All the meat and fried bacon seemed to be of a low quality allthough there was a large amount of cakes being served which kept the children happy.Luckily there a few nice restaurants right next to the hotel including an Indian restaurant which sold fabulous food. We made our complaint to the hotel and after a meeting with the manageress and the nielson rep it was agreed that we could have 8 euros per night each back which obviously did not cover the cost of a 3 course meal and sadly they would not give us the money back until the last night.
In a nushell the hotel rooms were OK , there was a fabulous spar, the breakfast was very disappointing and the evening meal disgusting. If you like your food then you should not visit this hotel under any circumstances ever, there are plenty of real 4 star hotels in the resort of Zell am See which is a really nice ski resort. For the last 7 years we have stayed in 4 star hotels in Austria and have always had an excellent experience except for this one. Disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife took this late booking through Iglu-Ski. Central location, 3 minute walk to ski-lift and right in the heart of Zell's eateries and pubs.
Our room was 209 on 2nd floor. Very roomy, with table & chairs, ample storage and big bathroom with fab power shower and double basins. The balcony overlooked the town and gave a good view towards Kaprun.
We were half board and found the food good both in quality and choice. We were allocated a table in the restaurant for our week's stay - I liked this as it avoided the usual search. It also meant we got to know our waiters and waitresses who were very attentive.
The bar area was pleasant and plenty of comfy seating. As ever, hotel bars aren't the best value and we did tend to go to bars and pubs.
Is this a 4 star ski hotel? In my view, yes, due to a few factors (inc. comparisons to France and the US). The Spa facilities are good. Includes free sauna, steam room, jaccuzzi and an external but covered small and heated swimming pool. There's a gym too (looked ok). As it was my wife's birthday she had a massage at reasonable cost - very enjoyable!
Also helping the 4 star rating is the boot room facilities. It's roomy, well laid out and accessible from the street rather than traipsing through the hotel. Best feature here is the heated boot rack, drying out ski-boots radynformthe next day. Fab!
If found the service excellent all round including room service, restaurant and especially reception. They organised several birthday treats with me for my wife, including flowers, bubbly and a cake at dinner. Really impressive was the indoor firework that accompanied the candles on the cake. Nothing seemed too much trouble.
In summary, for me it was a great location, good value for our money and very good facilities in a busy ski-resort that also gave good food and excellent service. Well recommended!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AndySP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Its the little things that can make or ruin your vacation and the Neue Post missed on most of them:
No soap refill after every cleaning session(we had to ask for soap every day!).
At dinner,if you don't load tons of food at the begining you are left with nothing because(again) they don't refill.
The staff's attitude was cold and unfriendly. We had to ask twice for everything(like coffee).
The positive point is the location.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for this price and its not a 4 star hotel attitude.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nishnushim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Hi! We really had a great time in Zell am See and there was nothing to complain about the Hotel. We had a nice and warm welcome, big and clean rooms, a nice breakfast buffet and excellent hospitality. The Spa Area is really big and offers pretty much everything. I would definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isahersil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Great location 100 m from the City Express cable Car. And that is not a brochure 100m. Clean, warm and with a great ski room that has heated boot racks. The rooms are fine with standard German/Austrian separate beds. The location is also perfect for the Apres Ski and shopping for die Frauen. The staff were great, dressed in traditional Tyrolean outfits, and the decor was well, er, traditional. Breakfast is fine, catering for most Gaelic, Anglo Saxon & European tastes, and dinner has a good salad bar. But the food at dinner was generally poor. I've stayed in four separate hotels in Zell am See and I would stay here again, and recommend it mainly for the location. I'd just suggest you go for the B&B option and eat out!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 45 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 45 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 45 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 45 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#9 of 45 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neue Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neue Post

Property: Hotel Neue Post
Address: Schlossplatz 2, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#11 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neue Post 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Neue Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neue Post Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing