We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of Hotel Der Waldhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Der Waldhof
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just returned back from Zell am see where we stayed at the Waldhof and this place is what I say 'First Class' The whole place including the rooms were spotless & well maintained. The food was excellent; not one poor breakfast or dinner in the 7 days that we stayed there. The staff were very friendly & spoke good English. We went full inclusive and was definately value for money. Only slight problem was the 5-10 minute walk back from town but if you take your time it's not a problem. Certainly going to stay there in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Der Waldhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed at Der Waldhof for 6 nights All Inclusive as a party of 60 plus on Motorcycles. We do many tours but this hotel is the best of any we have ever stayed at.
The hotel its-self is maintained to a very high standard being spotlessly clean with ever attentive staff who cannot do enough for you. Entertainment was laid on nearly every night of our stay and the food is amazing. Cant wait to get back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a high standard
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RTman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hotel had plenty of extras, swimming pool, sauna etc and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean with easy access to the town either on foot - 6 minute walk or via the ski buses. The only downside is that when you go down into town you have the inevitable up. The food was excellent and even included a packed lunch to take on the slopes!!!!

Room Tip: We had two rooms and small rooms are a bit small but okay if you are out skiing all day. The second...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have been to the Waldhof around 5 times over the last few years but this year returned after a 2 year break.

All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially on the bar and our waiter in the restaurant.

The first two nights in the restaurant were a tad chaotic with not enough staff to serve on. However when on the 3rd night it changed to buffett service it was business as usual and we were once again happy.

It was worth going to eat earlier, rather than later as some of the delightful starters were soon gone and not topped up again.

My room was very good with a balcony and a pleasant view and had a wireless internet connection.

All in all I would probably use the hotel again even after the poor start .......maybe it was just one of those unlucky couple of days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank encodeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Pleasantly surprised with hotel after reading fairly mixed reports. Staff were charming and helpful. Bedrooms pretty spacious; the three bedrooms booked by our party of five included rooms in the old and new parts. We were all perfectly satisfied. Comfy beds, regular changing of towels and all had balconies with good views. Meals were very good. Evening meal buffet had lots of courses and a wide choice of well cooked food. The hotel offers a little entertainment; would definitely recommend the wine tasting. Delivered in the hotel cellar with humour and generosity!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have just had a half term sking holiday staying in this hotel which we found to be very pleasant. It is quite traditional in its own unique way but with modern well equiped accomodation and facilities. Our room, a room made up for three, was easily spacious enough for us with all our ski clothes. Our room had a partition seperating the bed area from the doorway which was handy to give privacy when dressing. The bathroom was bright, good extractor fan and good sanitary ware. Restaurant was nice and pleasant, good waiters and good food. Undoubtably the best ski room i've come across, boots always nice and warm and warm shoes to return to. Wellness centre and swimming pool was very adequate.
No fitness centre. Pool table, table tennis and childrens play areas.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoff_6f5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Arrived on 16/02/2013 as part of a package with Nielson's, travelling as two families of four (4 adults and 4 children).

I had read the reviews before we arrived and was a little concerned about some of the points raised about staff at the hotel, however the receptionist's were very welcoming.

The suite we had was on the opposite of the road from the main hotel was wonderful, very clean with lots of storage areas.

The two sides of the hotel are connected via a well lit underground tunnel. The boot and ski room, which was very large and well heated, is located in the underground area.

On the first night we were shown to our table in the restaurant, we kept this table for the duration of our stay.
The restaurant staff were fantastic, very efficient, polite and helpful, particularly with the children. We seemed to have the same waitress most days and she could not have been better, always polite and smiling.

The food is buffet style, which was great for the children being able to choose what they liked. The food on offer was of a very high quality and the choice was amazing, both in the evening and for breakfast.

Coffee and light snacks are available in the late afternoon

An outdoor swimming pool is available from late afternoon, the water being very warm, so a great place to go after a days skiing. Towelling robes can be hired from the reception and additional towel's are available for pool use.

There is only one main ski lift in the town which takes you well up the mountain (The City express). This sited about 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel (downhill from the hotel). You can walk a short distance from the hotel car park onto a piste (16) at the back of the hotel and then ski down to the City express lift (Via the bottom of a black run), this was easily done by my children aged 10 and 13.
The town centre is about 5-15 minutes walk from the hotel, again down hill. The hill down to the lift and town centre is not too steep. Though a bus does run about every 20-30 minutes, we did not use it, but I understand it was free.

Contrary to some of the reports I have seen on trip advisor,I found that the hotel staff were excellent.

The food was fantastic and the rooms very clean, I would be very happy to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Hotel is split on two sides of a road. The suites are on the opposite of the road from the main hot...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Howienotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#11 of 42 in Zell am See
584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#13 of 42 in Zell am See
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Der Waldhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Der Waldhof

Address: Schmittenstrasse 47, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#11 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#15 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: £120 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Der Waldhof 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Der Waldhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Waldhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing