We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible week and great hotel”
Review of Hotel Der Waldhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Der Waldhof
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Incredible week and great hotel”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We headed to the Hotel Der Waldhof for a week long ski holiday in January and it was incredible. The resort was pretty quiet as it was off season but the hotel still had quite a few guests, esp. as we got towards the weekend. Right from the word go we had a great time here, the reception staff made you feel special, we had a room upgrade to a beautiful and huge room with a great bathroom and very comfy beds and the food was incredible. I have specific dietary requirements and the staff catered fantastically and nothing was ever a problem for them. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel even if it was just for the food alone!

The location of the hotel was great for skiing, right near the bus stop or a short walk to the city express. The hotel has a small spa area and a great outdoor hotel that we used twice in our stay, a great antidote to a days skiing!! There is also a heated ski storage room where your boots are kept nice and toasty, really useful in the mornings and evenings.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone fancying a great ski or outdoor week away. The staff were incredible and I wish I was still out there!

Room Tip: Possibly ask for a hotel above the first floor as this is where you walk to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    66
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
113
67
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a week in January,also stayed here some years before and much was the same. Nice people in reception,still fantastic food served every night and good breakfast !
Outdoor heated swimming pool and a small spa. Our friends first ended up in the annex across the road( also connected with underground tunnel) however found it too big and not so cosy so they managed to be moved into the main part of the hotel. The only drawback with this hotel is ,they still allow smoking in the bar which is a shame as that is the only place to sit for a drink or board games in the day/evening times ,No lounge area.Not nice if you are a non-smoker! The hotel sitting up a hill 10/15 min.walk from the main shopping area in Zell am See with nice cafe's and a beautiful lake to walk around. Great train service into Kitzbuhel and other places for daytrips .Nice hotel for a week relaxation winter as summer for everyone!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Mia209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely ! The food is excellent ! And the hotel has a spa and heated swimming pool ! The pool is lovely , it's outside but is so lovely and warm it just makes it more special! Location wise it's up rather a steep hill, it was fine for me but could see it being a problem for some ! But on the whole a lovely welcoming hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank sheenabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous weeks holiday in Zell am See. We stayed in Der Waldhof and were really impressed by the hotel. It was very family friendly being visited mostly by British and Dutch families during our stay. Every question and request was accommodated willingly and with a smile. The staff couldn't do enough to look after us - opening the sauna/steam room outside of the usual hours due to inclement weather putting the kybosh on the skiing, changing the kids ski boots when needed and reserving our tickets for the local ice hockey match. We particularly enjoyed the great food on offer - plenty of it regardless of when our meal time was. Our children (9&8) loved the heated outdoor pool and the Christmas Eve visit from Santa Claus. We found the location of the hotel ideal - a short walk to the bus stop then a 5 minute ride to the Schmitten gondolas and ski schools. Downhill from the hotel is the town centre about 10 minute walk. The town is so compact and lovely - no need for taxis. Would definitely recommend both the resort and hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bex2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

You get a friendly greeting when you book in to this hotel and a friendly greeting every time you return from a day out . The Room was modern and had a large balcony with a nice view. I would recommend you ask for this type of room if you want a balcony as all rooms may not be the same. The Food selection was excellent and had a good choice of different countries cuisines,of it. One unique event is that on a Friday night everybody goes into the Kitchen and makes and eats their first course there. This is a good experience and enjoyed also by the Kitchen Staff.
Good Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed for a week at The Waldhof at the end of August. Had a great time. The food is nice and they cant feed you enough. The bar is also great and with the all inclusive as soon as you finish your beer a fresh one is in front of you. The walk into town as mentioned is about a 10 min walk and nice after your tea. Zell has plenty to do and /it was nice after a long walk up the mountain to have a swim in the pool and chill on a lounger.
Staff are great fun and the kitchen party on the Friday was crazy..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smudger57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed just 4 nights in a fantastic room- 401- in the old part of the hotel.it had fantastic views as was on a corner. The view from the shower was even amazing ! Food was very good but found we had to delay going into the dining room by half an hour to avoid the rush. Swimming pool only opened late afternoon, which wasnt very good if you have a hot day and want a day by the pool.also the pool towel supply is from the spa area on the other side of the hotel,and on a different floor,which was rather annoying, but once you are in the know, you go and get your towel first and take it back to your room.overall it is a fantastic hotel, great location, brilliant views,friendly helpful staff. We will return.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
1,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Der Waldhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Der Waldhof

Property: Hotel Der Waldhof
Address: Schmittenstrasse 47, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#10 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#15 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Der Waldhof 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Der Waldhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Waldhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing