We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Der Waldhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Der Waldhof
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
airdrie
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just came home from our holiday to zell am see. It was yet another fantastic time in Austria. Weather wasn't too good but we made the most of it.
The hotel was lovely. In a nice quiet area yet only a 10 min walk to the centre. Half way between 2 cable car stations. It is on a hill but the bus service is good if you don't want to walk it.
The food was great, warm and fresh with a good selection each night. There isn't a children's option which was our only concern but they didn't starve.
The rooms were big, comfy beds and were cleaned every day.
We can't complain or criticise anything. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We were in the annex which seems new and is linked via an underground corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    64
    32
    6
    1
See reviews for
107
63
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed here for a week's walking holiday last year. The hotel is a cosy and slightly quirky property but overall we had a good time.

Pros:

- Great service from the hotel staff
- The food. We were all inclusive and the food was superb. Hearty breakfasts with lunch bags provided; cake and coffee in the afternoon if you were around and good quality local cuisine for dinner. Nice beers and schnapps included.
- Rooms were clean and comfortable, with a lovely balcony.
- Location: really close to the lifts and the town centre, but away from the bustle.
- Nice little pool.

Cons:

- Outdoor pool was nice but not well heated, so only open on very warm days.
- Rooms a little small, but as we were out and about most of the time, this wasn't an issue.
- The spa needs a bit of TLC. The infrared sauna didn't really work, steam room a bit mouldy and I wasn't convinced but the spa pools were working either. It's all a bit 70s / 80s. To be honest if this had been of better quality, I would have given the hotel 5 stars for it's price.
- Breakfast was lovely but no fresh juice. They had a machine with 'juice drinks'. I know fresh juice isn't included in the all inclusive for any time consumption, but it would be usual to provide a fresh juice at breakfast and I think most people would expect this.

Overall lovely hotel, great welcome and I would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weeks skiing late in the season as it got some good reviews on TA. I can honestly say it surpassed all our expectations. The hotel was very clean and the beds incredibly comfortable. The staff were friendly and attentive. And then there was the food. The quality was incredible, we ate like royalty every night. The hotel is a 10 minute walk into the beautiful town of Zell am See and a short walk to both a ski bus and the City Xpress gondola. Couldn't fault our stay and will definitely be returning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cycleprawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We are currently on a weeks skiing holiday in Zell Am See staying at Der Waldhof. The hotel is in a good location - ski to door if you have the snow- but even without it there is easy access to the gondolas. The hotel staff are really friendly and even though there is sometimes a language barrier they make every effort to make you feel welcome. Very relaxed atmosphere. Rooms very clean. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C1242AJKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have just got back from a weeks skiing in Zell Am See, Austria, upon arrival I thought there was no snow, however there was heaps at the top of the mountain and plenty of runs for all levels.
We stayed in the Pension Pepi apartments which comprises of just eight apartments linked to the Waldhof hotel, if your after close proximity to the lifts the apartments are the place to be, if you stay in the hotel itself you will have a 350 yard walk to get up the slopes.
The local town was fantastic, all people were very pleasant, we had a lovely pastry and a coffee in one of the local shops every morning, it was one of the cleanest places I have ever visited and the 'apres ski' was brilliant, I had a family and all we wanted was a nice quiet meal and a few drinks afterwards, this was very easy to do and if your after a party night there are also many other places for this.
All in all I would rate this as a fantastic holiday, a great place and we will be going back next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We headed to the Hotel Der Waldhof for a week long ski holiday in January and it was incredible. The resort was pretty quiet as it was off season but the hotel still had quite a few guests, esp. as we got towards the weekend. Right from the word go we had a great time here, the reception staff made you feel special, we had a room upgrade to a beautiful and huge room with a great bathroom and very comfy beds and the food was incredible. I have specific dietary requirements and the staff catered fantastically and nothing was ever a problem for them. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel even if it was just for the food alone!

The location of the hotel was great for skiing, right near the bus stop or a short walk to the city express. The hotel has a small spa area and a great outdoor hotel that we used twice in our stay, a great antidote to a days skiing!! There is also a heated ski storage room where your boots are kept nice and toasty, really useful in the mornings and evenings.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone fancying a great ski or outdoor week away. The staff were incredible and I wish I was still out there!

Room Tip: Possibly ask for a hotel above the first floor as this is where you walk to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a week in January,also stayed here some years before and much was the same. Nice people in reception,still fantastic food served every night and good breakfast !
Outdoor heated swimming pool and a small spa. Our friends first ended up in the annex across the road( also connected with underground tunnel) however found it too big and not so cosy so they managed to be moved into the main part of the hotel. The only drawback with this hotel is ,they still allow smoking in the bar which is a shame as that is the only place to sit for a drink or board games in the day/evening times ,No lounge area.Not nice if you are a non-smoker! The hotel sitting up a hill 10/15 min.walk from the main shopping area in Zell am See with nice cafe's and a beautiful lake to walk around. Great train service into Kitzbuhel and other places for daytrips .Nice hotel for a week relaxation winter as summer for everyone!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Mia209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Berner Zell am See
Hotel Berner Zell am See
#12 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Der Waldhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Der Waldhof

Property: Hotel Der Waldhof
Address: Schmittenstrasse 47, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#10 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#15 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Der Waldhof 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Der Waldhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Waldhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing