We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Little Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Seehof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seehof
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful Little Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Hotel Seehof is a warm, welcoming little hotel overlooking Lake Zell in the mountains of Austria. Rooms are small but comfortable with wonderful views. Breakfast includes cold cuts, yogurt, breads,cereals, and juice. Location is great for walking into town. Staff are terrific. Some mornings there is a market in the square where you can buy cheeses, meats and buns for a picnic. Great spot for photos, especially sunsets.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the train track. We never heard a train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    63
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
82
145
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Zell am See as it was a convenient stop between Fussen and Hallstatt. Hotel is right across the street from the train tracks but the noise did not bother us. Also has great views of the lake. Free parking and walking distance to the station.

Room was okay but furniture is tired. Carpets need replacing and bed linens could have been cleaner. Breakfast was very good with excellent selection of hot and cold options.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NanaimoIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at Hotel Seehof for 6 nights in August 2012. Our family suite had two separate bedrooms and a separate bathroom and a nice balcony with a clear view of the lake. They were clean and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was freshly made, with a good variety of things to eat. The hotel is close to everything in Zell Am See. They have a laundry service and free wifi in the lounge. I would definitely consider staying at Hotel Seehof again.

There were only two minor downsides to our stay: the hotel has very limited parking and it is across from the train tracks. We were lucky enough to get our car in there most nights. The alternative is free overnight parking about a block away, but you have to pay during the day which is inconvenient if you aren't using the car that day. Our room was located on the front side of the building facing the train tracks. Trains pass by regularly all day and night. For the first few nights, we were awakened by the trains, but then got used to the noise, so it wasn't too much of a problem. The hotel is otherwise quite quiet.

Room Tip: For light sleepers, request a room that doesn't face the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyage2Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at the Seehof over Easter for the last week of the skiing season. The Hotel was Comfortable, clean and spacious, enough for our needs. The reception had areas to relax with free Wifi. The dining room was spacious and well organised. A lift served all the floors. Bedrooms were comfortable, cleaned every day, towels changed if wanted. A kettle was provided with cups and glasses and a TV with basic channels. Decor a little dated but it added to the homely feel. The reception was manned up till 10pm, always someone there to help, there isn't a bar, but the reception served cofffee and beer, etc. Definitely on the quiet side.

Food was fantastic, 4 courses in the evenings, tasty and well cooked, they were very flexible with our fussy youngsters and allowed us to select and mix from the options. Portions were big, we never wen't hungry. Breakfast was well laid out with bacon and scrambled eggs available as a hot option, again a wide spread.

The staff were great, very friendly and helpful, from arrival and booking in to leaving the following week, they couldn't do enough to help. Everyone seemed to work hard and want us to enjoy our holiday.

The Hotel's positioned alongside the railway with views over the lake from rooms at the front. Church bells ring at 7am and train's can be noisy. However, with windows closed this didn't present a problem for any of us, even with windows open it didn't present any problems for me. It's position means you never get disturbed by late night revelers.

Initially we had some concerns over the position in terms of walking to the lifts, but, this was on easy 5 minute stroll straight through the town. Very convenient passing 2 supermarkets on the way for snacks and refreshments. The very short walk to the town centre was not a problem, 100m and you're in the thick of it. On 3 evenings we walked to the swimming pool the other side of town which was pleasant and easy, giving the chance to sample the town atmosphere on return. You definitely need to use the locker facilities at the main Cityexpress lift, especially with children. Free for ski's hired there, 11euros a day for a heated locker for 4, we did this as we have our own skis and gear, it was great to be able to leave skis, boots, helmets and gloves and return to them warm and dry in the morning. The buses run from outside the locker area so no benefit in taking your gear back to the hotel if thinking of going further afield.

Overall, a great place and somewhere we'd go back to.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

I recently stayed here with a buddy for a weeks ski trip. We were located on the top floor in room 42 overlooking the lake and surrounding mountains which are amazing. The staff were very friendly. The hotel was kept very clean. The breakfast buffet was varied and the meals in the evening were good with a nice salad buffet every night. The hotel is conveniently located within a few minutes walk of most of the town. The only potential issue people may have is that our room was located across the road from train-tracks. We didn't mind but it makes earplugs (supplied by the hotel) necessary if you want to keep a window or balcony door open at night. Overall its a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 42 has an amazing view but its on a floor not serviced by the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richiecuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Just returned from Ski holiday to Zell am See with Crystal. We stayed in the Seehof hotel. It was an excellent choice. The staff were all really friendly and the rooms were comfortable. Although the hotel is right next to the railway line this was not a problem. Ear plugs were thoughtfully provided but we didn't use them. Our room faced the back of the hotel with views to the Schmittenhohe ski slopes and the village centre. We were less than 5 minutes walk from the City Express ski gondola in ski boots. The lovely lake is just across the railway line (plenty of crossing points. The hotel food was lovely with a very filling and varied breakfast buffet and a wide choice of salads to accompany the tasty evening meals. And Zipfer Austrian beer or Edelweiss wheatbeer on tap. Yummy.

Room Tip: We went for a rear facing room. Ours on third floor had a balcony with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We have recently returned from a ski trip with friends to Zell am See. The owner and staff in Hotel Seehof were just so nice, friendly and very kind. They really made our visit really special. The food was great. The rooms were nice, each with a balcony with a view over the town towards the Schmittenhohe mountain. The hotel also has a great position 2 mins from the town centre and 5 mins walk to the City Xpress gondola for queue free access to the ski slopes. The train station is just round the corner for trips elsewhere and the the ski bus to the Kitzsteinhorn glacier stops there too. It also fronts onto the lake, which is nice.

The location is great but the owner and staff are the real stars, they are what makes this place special.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back get the sun on their balcony and have a great view over the town and up to the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#11 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seehof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seehof

Property: Hotel Seehof
Address: Salzmannstrasse 3, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zell am See
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#6 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seehof 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cosy Traditional Hotel embedded between the unique mountain lake and the historic town centre of Zell am See. As a family run Hotel we stand for an exceptional personal service. It is our aim for your holiday to be as pleasant and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Seehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehof Hotel Zell Am See
Seehof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing