We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austrian Delights”
Review of Hotel Gruener Baum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gruener Baum
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Wife and myself had such a wonderful experience of Austria, Zell am see and the hotel Gruener Baum. We got a warm friendly welcome and our room 142 had the mountain view we had wished for. Our room in the main centre building has been recently renovated and was first class in all aspects, even heated floor in bathroom with shower and seperate bath. The hotel is in the centre of town with everything reachable in a couple of minutes. We arrived by train from Munich via Salsburg with magnificent mountain views along the way and had a 5 minute walk from station to hotel even wheeling two suitcases.
Beakfast had plenty of choice and we dined in the hotel restaurant on a couple of nights, it was all very good and got to meet a lovely Norweigan couple. The staff were so helpful and friendly.
Zell am See was beautiful and had much to offer as we both enjoy outdoors and hiking. Day one we walked the lap of the lake, brilliant. Day two we walked to the top of the Smittenhoen, local mountain, 2000mtrs and back down again, took us 6 1/2 hours, magnificent. Day three we took local bus to base of Kirstenhein Mountain and three cable cars later were at 3024mtrs and enjoying the breathtaking delights of the Alps. Day four another local bus took us to Krimml waterfall the 5th heighest in the world and walked to the top of the 800mtr falls.
Day five we had to rest and then go home to Ireland. We certainly achieved all we wanted to do on this memorable trip to a very special place, Zell am See. Many thanks to the Gruener Baum for your service and hospitality and brilliant Austrian welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelwilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

Friendly staff. Good food and wine. Big bathroom with a spacious modern shower.
Only problem was the balcony door could not be left open at night because of obnoxious groups of people partying in the streets at 4am. ( And this is low season for tourists) Would not stay here in the summer because of this. Other seasons probably ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Very friendly staff ready to help, fantastic breakfast, new well maintained rooms, large bathroom with floor heating, hotel with excellent location
Problem is a little poor wireless internet connection

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel new renovated block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnevio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Good location in the middle of city. Room was clean and lately renovated. Free car park. We had a view to ski slopes from our balcony. Will come again. Helpful staff; ski school can be booked from reception desk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VisaElectron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We were a group of 10 ladies aged 40-50 years. The hotel is in a wonderful location - 10 minute walk to the lifts, and right in centre of the town, excellent for apres ski. A 3 minute walk to Villa Crazy Daisy where the live music and friendly atmosphere made it the best choice in town for us. We rented boot lockers and used ski storage at the Intersport shop beneath the gondola station, so we did not have to walk to the lifts in ski boots carrying skis. The rooms at the Gruener Baum were spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable, we had a balcony with slope view, beautiful bathroom, with natural stone floor and huge shower head, modern sink and loo - again all very clean. The balcony door/windows were well insulated to keep down the noise of the nearby apres ski if you want to take a pre-dinner nap! The girls on reception could not have been more helpful, even sorting out our lift passes and restaurant reservations. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and they were always friendly and approachable. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious - meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, different breads, scrambled egg and the best boiled eggs I have ever had in a hotel (soft boiled every time). We ate in the restaurant half board on the first night, and it was good value but there were not many full tables. After that we tried eating in the hotel's restaurant (also open to outsiders) the Gaststuebe, which had a lovely lively atmosphere and fabulous food - I had beef in peppercorn sauce which was delicious. We enjoyed it so much, we went back again, this time I had the Ox steak, which was excellent. There is a bar in the Gaststuebe, and a small apres ski bar on the ground floor, plus Greens Cocktail bar in the basement, also a sauna and ski storage room in the basement. All this at very modest cost - I would definitely stay here again if returning to Zell am See and recommend it to other travellers!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeePenhaligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Great location, lifts only a 5 minute walk away. Wifi was not the best for our room, had to stay in 1 corner of the room to get even a decent signal. Breakfast was downstairs and included in the price, made getting food before a day on the slopes very easy. Overall a great stay for the price when you consider how close it is to everything.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merrill454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

A group of 4 of us stayed here on Jan 2013 for a 5 night skiing break. We had 2 double rooms. The rooms were warm and spacious with substantial balconies, bathrooms great, good shower. The rooms were facing their own apartments, and across to the start of the bar area so there was a little noise, but the windows-doors were double glazed so not too noisy. The rooms were very light at night - outside lighting I think, and the pillows weren't great. Facilities were good, they have a sauna, games room, ski-room. We had a b and b deal - breakfasts were efficiently run, plenty to choose from - typical Austrian breakfast fare - wish they didn't put speck in the scrambled egg though - one down side - the juice was awful, like very very weak squash, but not untypical of the country.The staff were always friendly and helpful. There was some noise in the hotel - but that was just other inconsiderate guests coming in late at night ...

Room Tip: Rooms in the part of the hotel where reception is will be quieter, the other part of the hotel is ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#7 of 42 in Zell am See
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
1,188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#13 of 42 in Zell am See
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 42 in Zell am See
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruener Baum

Address: Seegasse 1 | Sebastian-Horl-Strasse 5, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: £112 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gruener Baum 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run hotel is centrally located on the pedestrian zone in the famous mountain town of Zell am See - in the south of Salzburg province. Free car parking is available in our hotel-owned underground garage or adjacent to the hotel. All our rooms and apartments are equipped with modern facilities, including complimentary wireless Internet. Our cuisine is traditional Austrian and our à la Carte restaurant is well established as one of Zell am Sees most popular dining destinations. The Zeller lake, the mountain cable cars of the Schmittenhöhe and the stylish nightlife of Zell am See are all within a few minutes walking distance from the Hotel Grüner Baum. The golf course in Zell am See (36 holes), the Kitzsteinhorn glacier skiing resort and the newly built Tauern SPA in Kaprun are only a short car drive away. Throughout the region a wide variety of exciting cultural and sporting events, beautiful golf courses and not forgetting the breathtaking panoramic views of the Alps await you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruener Baum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing