We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything a hotel should be”
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tirolerhof
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Everything a hotel should be”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here for ten nights on a package booked through Inghams. Although the weather was terrible for most of our time there, the hotel and staff managed to make our stay one of the best holiday experiences we've had. Everything was so well designed for the comfort of guests that it felt like a home away from home and we couldn't help just relaxing into it and not worrying if we weren't able to do all the outdoor activities we had thought we would be able to.

We were in a double deluxe room, which had lots of wardrobe space, two comfortable armchairs, a large comfortable bed, a luxurious bath and separate shower with both a standard power shower plus an overhead rainfall showerhead. The flat screen TV picked up a few English channelsincluding BBC and Channel 5.

All the food was amazing! Breakfast each morning was an absolute feast and offered most things you could imagine. Eggs, waffles and even pancakes were cooked in front of you on request and exactly to your liking. Cold meats and cheeses were available as well as a variety of fresh breads/rolls, croissants and pastries, cereals, yoghurts etc. We didn't need lunch at all throughout our stay we were so stuffed from breakfast! You were given a menu each morning to select choices for that evening's dinner. At any time if you weren't happy with the choices given, they had a selection of standard dishes you could ask for like wiener schnitzel, chicken, spaghetti bolognaise or ice cream. However, we always went for an option from the menu itself because without fail even if something sounded fairly odd and it wasn't something we'd normally order the quality was spot on and it delivered every time on taste. Although the portions look small at first - think cordon bleu/haute cuisine - you got four/five courses plus you could help yourself to as much as you wanted from the selection of breads so we were completely full every night. Several nights the first course was a "salad bar" which had a variety of choices that were very filling in themselves (pasta salad, potato salad, eggs etc). A couple of nights a week, the menu turned buffet style and it would probably be advisable to starve yourself during the day in anticipation as it was very difficult to leave any of the choices untouched. Wednesday nights were the dessert buffet - again fantastic choices.

One thing to point out about the double deluxe room is that it only has a tiny french balcony, which means standing room only (a couple of photos attached). If the weather had been better during our stay, we may have been disappointed at not being able to sit outside on the balcony. However, there are some good communal balcony areas so that could be sufficient. The standard rooms have a large balcony, and others staying in those rooms seemed happy enough although those rooms only have a bathroom with either a tiny shower or a bath from what we heard so I guess it depends where your priorities lie. The junior suite rooms looked amazing and have the best of all worlds so obviously a good choice but we weren't able to get that class of room through Inghams so not sure about the cost. Views are limited as the hotel is among other buildings close to the town centre, however the views were pleasant enough and the quality of the hotel more than made up for it. The little stream on the side of the hotel that has the double deluxe rooms (mentioned by others as being noisy) did mean you constantly had the sound of flowing water throughout the day and night, but we found the sound very pleasant and relaxing.

In case you're thinking of bringing a laptop, bear in mind that the room safe isn't large enough to fit one into (at least ours wasn't) although an iPad or similar tablet would probably fit. We didn't get charged for using the safe at all so I think they've stopped charging as previous reviewers had mentioned a cost. We managed to make use of the free wi-fi in our room on the second floor to check emails and browse on our smartphones - very useful.

One minor point of criticism is that hotter weather would have meant we would have felt stifled in the room as it was already fairly hot without air conditioning despite all the rain we were having. However, we were able to just leave the door a crack open (still secured) throughout the night and that kept things cool enough. I believe no hotels in Zell have air con anyway so this isn't unique to the Tirolerhof but it's something that would put the final touch on comfort.

The staff went out of their way throughout the time we were there and gave the definite impression they would have done anything to keep us happy. We had outstanding service from everyone - tell them your room number once and they just seem to memorise it for future visits to the bar etc. Special mention to Sevda in the dining room who looked after us at breakfast and dinner throughout our stay and always remembered our preferences without having to ask twice and genuinely seemed to love her job despite having to work long, unsociable hours with two children of her own to look after.

A few tips: Ask for a couple of extra pillows once you've checked in if you normally sleep with more than one each as the pillows are very soft feather ones - they give them to you with no problem whatsoever. Rather than paying high wine prices at dinner, ask for a carafe which costs 4.40 euros per quarter and tastes very good. There's a water spring across from the entrance to the hotel which you can use to fill up your own water bottles and avoid having to buy water to take on your hikes or keep in your hotel room. Just a couple of blocks from the hotel, there's a small pub called "A Bit of Irish", which is very welcoming and friendly and an excellent place to meet other people - especially if you join their quiz on a Thursday night.

Sorry for the LONG review, but I felt this special hotel warranted it. As mentioned by many others, there are a lot of people who return to this hotel time and again - we're likely to do the same!

Room Tip: Standard rooms have small bathroom but a large balcony - good value. Go for a junior suite if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travels_Muse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    135
    31
    7
    5
See reviews for
228
548
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ru55ell
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We enjoyed are 2 week stay at this hotel. The staff are friendly and efficient, nothing is to much trouble. The food is varied but always excellent and the rooms are very comfortable with all the amenities for an enjoyable stay. The bar/lounge area is comfortable and relaxing with excellent service for drinks offered by Sabrina

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ru55ell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Just finishing our fourth trip to the Tirolerhof in Zell am See. Terrific hotel: very friendly staff, quality rooms, good leisure facilities, great food. It really is hard to fault. Each year we hire bikes (stored in car park) and cycle for miles through Alps. Already planning our next stay - this time during the winter season.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GeorgeMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the tirolerhof. I have used trip advisor to check reviews of hotels although I have never written a review myself, but felt I must share our experience. It is the most welcoming hotel we have stayed in from the reception and lounge areas to the bedrooms, dining room and leisure facilities(you must go to the top floor and at least check out the new spa - its amazing). There are comfy chairs and cosy corners to sit EVERYWHERE inside and out! We were allocated a table in the dining room which was ours for the whole of our stay to use for breakfast and evening meal. The food was first class. We looked forward to each and every meal and were never disappointed. The staff were lovely, particularly Michaela who looked after us.The only negative is the charge of 4.5euros for a bottle of water. I had 2 glasses of wine for the same amount of money. On principal we would normally not pay this but as my husband does not drink alcohol we had no option.To pay over £30 in a week for water is ridiculous. I could go on and on about the way the rooms were cleaned, the bathrobes and towels for use in the indoor pool and the wonderful relaxation room but you really need to go yourselves as although i was very impressed by the reports I read being there in person surpasses all your expectations!

Room Tip: Ask for thired floor overlooking lake&mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsons2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia, England,UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We have been here three times now as a family, for skiing and, because we love it so much, for a summer holiday also.
What can one say... Its fantastic, elegant, welcoming, comfortable and just everything you want a hotel to be. The food is great and the service is perfect.
Part of its appeal is that its all the above without being pretentious.
If you're going to Zell, and can afford this why stay anywhere else!
I hope there's room for us next time we try to book!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star-electra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We have been visiting the Tirolerhof for 29 years now. Usually in the summer, sometimes in the winter although we do not ski. We have seen many changes over the years but the standard of hospitality has never changed. The food is of exceptional standard with an amazing variety, Breakfast has to be seen to be believed. A full range of cereals, yoghurts, fresh and dried fruits, cold meat, cheeses, eggs (however you want them,) bacon sauages plus a wonderful celection of breads, coffee and a choice of teas. A typical evening meal would start with a self service salad bar followed by a choice of hors d'oeuvre followed by a choice of soup, at least three main courses to choose from plus a choice of dessert and/or cheese. There is always a vegetarian option at all stages of the meal. The restaurant staff are always prepared to arrange variations if required. The area of Zell am See is wonderful with mountain walks well marked and the beautiful area around the lake to relax. Now you know why we have to have our Austrian fix every year!
Beryl & Vic Dyer

Room Tip: A great choice of rooms we always have a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

i have just had a week 29 june heer at the hotel tirolerhof this has to be one of the best hotels i have ver stayed in. the food was out of this world chef the iRaimund was first class & mrs Elizabeth and here team look after you so well.
my room was so nice and very clean each day i came home to it looking like a new pin.each night my bed was re made i need a nap in the day. all in all the best wekk away for a long time my thanks to all of then and the Familie Posch and all there team.
i went with INGHAMS and from start to finish they were the best holiday company .

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#11 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Property: Hotel Tirolerhof
Address: Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhohe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing