We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tirolerhof - Zell am See”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tirolerhof
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tirolerhof - Zell am See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just come back from our second visit to this fantastic hotel, the first being 7 years ago as part of a package holiday. This time was booked directly with the hotel - even this was a great experience! The service here is second to none, from being greeted by name on arrival with a welcome glass of bubbly all the way through to being encouraged to return on departure.

Everything about this hotel shows the care and attention to detail of the owners - they obviously take pride in really looking after their guests. The food is delicious and varied, accompanied by an excellent selection of Austrian wines. The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need including delightful Elemis toiletteries - what a treat!

The spa area is a perfect way to relax - the swimming pool is great (if a tad on the cold side) and the hot tub extremely inviting. If you get the chance to try the Segway tour around the town do - it's a really novel way to see the area.

Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    135
    31
    7
    5
See reviews for
228
546
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just returned from a great week at the Tirolerhof. I cannot sing the praises enough of this hotel, the owners and the rest of the staff. A warm Austrian welcome greeted us along with a glass of bubbly before being shown to our room. We were in the new extension to the hotel and it was a great room-spotless, comfortable and overlooking the stream which was a delight to listen to when drifting off to sleep. Lovely touches incuded a dressing gown and slippers and even an umbrella-which came in useful! The restaurant which has been newly refurbished is a credit to the hotel-beautifully decorated and the food is high quality-something you would expect from a really expensive restaurant in the city.
The spa and pool are also a great reason to stay there. I hate to sound prudish but the only snag with the sauna/steam rooms are that you have to be naked-not something the Brits are used to I'm afraid! But then again in Rome do as the Romans do...so shouldnt complain.
Every single member of staff was friendly and helpful (something we arent used to over here!). The owners are a lovely couple and the hotel is a credit to them and we look forward to returning to the Tirolerhof.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F1ossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We visited 10 years ago, and loved it then. We returned on Easter Sunday to find it's still a wonderful, classy but friendly (that's a tricky combo to achieve) hotel. Warm welcome, good food, great staff. (Thanks Oliver, you're a star).

Only a couple of moans, wi-fi so slow it wouldn't download my e-mails, and times-out after 15 minutes, so you're constantly re-entering the fussy password and user name. Drove me and another guest round the bend! Considering there were only about 20 people in the hotel at the time, it makes you wonder how it would cope at all if the hotel were full. The hair-dryer was another minor irritation, very heavy and you have to keep your thumb down on the button to make it work - by the time I had finished drying my frizz-inclined hair, I thought I had a dislocation in my thumb joint! And the mattress in Room 123 was probably the most uncomfortable I've ever slept on.

But these three tiny annoyances didn't stop us having the most wonderful 4 night stay at the Tirolerhof. We cycled round the lake in the mild Spring weather, went up the Smittenhof and stood in awe gazing at the scenery while listening to the rock music and drinking coffee, we went on a guided walk with Wolfgang, swam in the hotel's slightly cold but wonderfully empty pool, and came home feeling completely relaxed.

Can't wait to go back, hopefully won't have to wait another 10 years.

Room Tip: Check the mattress if you get Room 123! Other than that this room is great although it might be a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trudytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMaximilian, Family / Hotel owners at Hotel Tirolerhof, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you so much for your great review and your second visit at our hotel.
It means a lot to us that you have taken the time to review our hotel.

Hope to see you again

Your family Posch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Last minute ski holiday 31/3/12 to this very pleasant looking Austrian family run hotel. From the moment we stepped into the welcoming reception area, with blazing log fire we knew we had chosen a special place. Throughout our break the staff were very helpful and friendly.The facilities were exceptional and the standard of food was excellent, from the extensive breakfast to the five course culinary delights each evening. Our request to stay in the newer part of the hotel was met and in fact we were given an upgrade to a deluxe room. The room, with mountain views, was spacious, very clean, well equipped and comfortable ( could have done with tea and coffee making facilities ). It has certainly been one of the special hotels that we have stayed in over the years. We would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: The river does give some background noise but the double glazing is effective
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billystickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMaximilian, Family Posch at Hotel Tirolerhof, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Hello from Zell am See,

Thank you ver much for your outstanding review. We are very happy to hear that you liked you stay.

Until the next visit, we send greetings from the sunny Zell am See

Your family Posch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buncrana, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Treated so well from the moment you arrive. The receptionist said I was to take a seat and she would give me a form to fill in, and I was offered a proseco or a juice while I completed the form. I was going to send a text and the receptionist asked if I would like the password and code for the hotels Wi Fi. So my first impression at check in was very good.

I stayed here 2 years ago, and must say I did expect to be treated well, as the last time I stayed was so good this was the only hotel for me.

The meals were also very nice, and the restaurant staff were all very helpful. Oliver the restaurant manager was great at his job. made you feel welcome each evening, I think there was a lady called Elizabeth who is also one of the waiting staff, also deserves praise, but all of the staff are very helpful.

I intend to be back skiiing end of January 2013, and will be back in the Tirolerhof.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMaximilian, Family / Hotel owners at Hotel Tirolerhof, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hello from Zell am See,

A big thank you from the entire Tirolerhof team for your great feedback.
Your positive comment about the hotel employees, makes us very proud and confirms our afford.

Until the next visit, we send greetings from a sunny Zell am See


Your family Posch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Lovely Austrian Hotel. Stayed on a half board basis and the food was excellent. Good choices and plenty to eat. Service in the restaurant was exceptional. All staff very friendly and helpful. Nice bar and lounge area. Hotel has a first rate spa and good gym and leisure area. Close enough to be able to walk to the slopes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxp89, Family / Hotel owners at Hotel Tirolerhof, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you very much for spending time to write a review on tripadvisor.
We are glad you liked our hotel and all provided services.

Greetings from Zell am See

We hope to see you again.

Family Posch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were really impressed by this hotel. They've just completed a great new extension housing more rooms and an extended restaurant. It's fab! The info in the brochure and online simply do not do this hotel justice. It's a lot better than is portrayed. The food was top top quality and never ending! Watch out for the very expensive table water though! Rooms are nice but very traditional Austrian in style which is not to everyone's taste. The gentleman who is the restaurant manager couldn't have been better at his job - so welcoming and friendly. If you want luxury without feeling like youre in a massive hotel this is the place for you - roaring fire after a day on the pistes and an amazingly relaxing spa...can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrickson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#11 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Property: Hotel Tirolerhof
Address: Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhohe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing