We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tirolerhof
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked the Tirolerhof on basis of good reviews ....unfortunately our experience was disappointing.

The Good Stuff - Zell am See beautiful/stunning. Hotel in good location well within walking distance of everything. Hotel has nice interior & spa facilities. Hotel very clean & the staff pleasant (although they clearly, whilst remaining pleasant, don't like their hotel 'criticised'). Wolfgang's guided walks are fabulous. Hotel 'beach' nice (bit too far away- 15 min cycle ride).

The Not so good stuff -
Too much difference in quality between new rooms & older rooms.
Food ranges from good to odd! Meals are 4-5 courses but some food is too 'fussy' with weird combinations & I am used to eating out. Please simplify your food & more traditional (simple ) dishes. Also restaurant could be lovely with a few more design touches & not having to sit in the same place for every meal it then becomes a canteen. I've never bring to a hotel that does that. And don't put water on my table and charge me for it, it doesn't feel nice I then feel like you just want money from me.

No real outdoor spaces in hotel to relax (all very small & crowded). Private hotel beach nice but a bit too far away.

Started badly - booked a junior suite & standard room. Then emailed to say could we upgrade standard room. I think they thought we wanted a free upgrade (I didn't) & stated politely there were no more suites available. There were we checked on their website & contacted Thomsons & paid to upgrade second room. Didn't feel good to be politely misled!

Prior to arrival I emailed twice (no response to first email) to request a view (part of why we tend to book suites) & more importantly quiet rooms as we're light sleepers. Got mo tsdpknse evdn though they avknowledged theyd hot emails on arrival. Our suites were on 1st floor opposite another hotel/car park (not a great view) & below was Tirelhofs garage/stores where all their deliveries (every day & very early) take place as well as staff wheeling in/out noisy carts & taking their breaks (smoking/talking loudly) not what I
expected for price we paid & suites in a 4 star plus hotel! When we checked in we asked for rooms to be changed & were told politely without any warmth they couldn't do anything as they were fully booked. A bit like the email saying no suites I could see there were clearly rooms that hadn't been checked into as yet! We put up with it for 1 night until we realised the noise level it was horrible & would (& did) potentially spoil our holiday. Only after getting Thomsons representative to push & our suggestion of any room instead of a suite did they offer us
anything else unfortunately the rooms (albeit smaller were nicer
& in new part) were near main road. What bothers me more was the lack of understanding or caring that a £4K week holiday can be marred by a bad room! Paying for a suite & getting a bad room in a 4 star plus is not ok in my book. We bought earplugs as doors needed to be kept open it was so hot & hotel has no air con. If noise bothers you don't stay in room 126 or 125 best views/quiet rooms 325/326. It's a pity because had the bothered to take in our request for a quiet room & being more considerate of how it was impacting our holiday it could have been a different experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ash C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMaximilian, Family Posch at Hotel Tirolerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not like your stay at our hotel.
We do apologize for the inconvenience. About the emails you sent us, you asked specifically for a Suite which are all booked throughout the season. Also we never had problems with the rooms 125/126 as they are some of our best rooms. Plus you have not been allocated in a standard room - which are in a different building.
We always try to put our guests into rooms that they wish, as we did with your booking. After you have been at the reception we tried to offer you our newest rooms - our double rooms vital - but sadly you didn't like them.

We want to thank you for your stay and that you took your time to review our hotel.

Kind regards

Fam. Posch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

From the 20th-27th July I stayed here at hotel Tirolerhof in Zell am see Austria I thought when I first came into the hotel there was a lovely welcome the reception manager gave us some welcome drinks then we checked in. The hotel was very nice very clean lovely staff and the rooms are always cleaned everyday. I would say that the hotel should be 5 star cause the hotel is very nice and very clean staff are always helpful and lovely. The food for breakfast and dinner is amazing for breakfast you get selections of sliced meats, bread, cereal, English breakfast, fruit and they also offer some fresh honey everyday from the bee hives which is really nice. For dinner you have a 4 course dinner first you have selections of salads then starter,soup,main course and dessert the food is very nice and it comes out like its from a 3 star restaurant which i really enjoyed about it. There is also different buffets during the days which is lovely and also entertainment in the restaurant. In the hotel there is a spa, a indoor swimming pool and sauna's the pool is lovely in the pool there is also different jets in the pool which are really fun and to relax in. I would recommend it to a older family with teenagers as with younger children its not suitable for them.the reason for this the hotel is more suitable for teenagers and over for babies its fine. The place where the hotel is in Zell am see which is a lovely place with a lake, shops, bars, restaurants, cable cars, bike hire, boat hire and lovely beaches. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms are very reasonable its got all you need the rooms are twin rooms good bathrooms and got g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the ' Tirolerhof ' and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.
The second you walk through the entrance, the high standard is obvious. All of the public rooms are spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. All of the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient, the food, ( we stayed on half-board basis ), was superb and the bedroom was very comfortable, spacious, and again beautifully furnished, ( deluxe double with French balcony ).
Should we ever return to Zell, we would also return to the ' Tirolerhof ' !

With many thanks to the Family Posch and all the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Excellent Holiday, Great base for skiing as we were able to store our ski boots in the hotel basement, great to finish off the day in using the spa facilities, extremely happy with our room which was a small double but had ample space, the food & stay at the hotel was most enjoyable. Well recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed here with my family at Easter this year.
The room was great, food yummy and the staff really friendly! The swimming pool and spa were great. My little brother and I enjoyed it as there was a jacuzzi and squirting jets in the big pool.
When we went ski-ing , it was a short walk to the lifts so Mum and Dad didn't have to carry our stuff too far!
The hotel was lovely and I hope to go back next year!!

Room Tip: Try to get a lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NyahP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Having read all the other reviews, we did wonder whether we could be expecting too much from the Tirolerhof, and might finish up being disappointed. However, this was definitely not the case.

Our room (one of the junior suites) was spacious, immaculately furnished, and spotlessly clean.The meals were superb, and the service could not be faulted. Add to that all the facilities on offer, and the prime location, and you finish up with a first-class hotel which we would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We just got back from our stay in July and only wish we had discovered this fantastic hotel years before now.
The situation is perfect and the service and food rank with the best we have ever experienced. Everything is immaculate and the attention to details is first class.
From the moment we arrived and were offered a welcome drink and a personal guide to the services the hotel had to offer we knew we had picked a winner.
We stayed for 10 days and each one of them was special. Our room was on the fourth floor, serviced by a lift with a small balcony and it was immaculate. The furnishings were good quality as were the bathroom fittings (although no bidet which we do prefer). The laundry service was excellent and the safe of a good size and easy to use.
We used the hotel as a base for a hiking and cycling adventures and it could not be better placed. Minutes from the lake, the train station and the cable car.
The pool and spa area in the basement are pure luxury with powerful massage jets to ease aching muscles after long days in the mountains. Everywhere is scrupulously clean with excellent features such as water beds to relax on after your swim, spa experience. A selection of teas to help yourself to before floating off to sleep for half an hour to recover energy before preparing for afternoon tea or an aperitif in the bar.

There are bikes for hire (stored in the garage) and safety helmets. Following our aperitif in the tastefully decorated bar we would go up to the first floor dining room to our dining table which was allocated to us for the whole 10 days. The food is absolutely first class and the menu eagerly anticipated each day. We made our choices for dinner at breakfast (buffet style with everything you could possibly want including cooked breakfasts prepared on the spot at the griddle) each morning which may sound a little strange but believe me when the choices and quality are of the standard at the Tirolerhof part of the joy of the day is anticipating what is going to be able to top the previous evenings food offerings!!
I must single out our waitress Elizabeth, she was amazing and anticipated our every need before we realised we needed it ourselves. A wonderful ambassador for the hotel who I understand has been there for 20+ years. Thank you for your commitment to providing a world class service Elizabeth.
This hotel is a real treasure house in a wonderful part of the world, already preparing for next visit.

Room Tip: Water rushes down from the mountain into the lake on the West side of the hotel. If you prefer to sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 33southeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 42 in Zell am See
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
367 reviews
1.5 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Address: Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: £142 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhohe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing