We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Heitzmann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Heitzmann
Ranked #9 of 63 Zell am See B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another excellent trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Heitzmann two years ago and decided to go back again this year for another visit after the excellent service last time - we weren't disappointed - we love it here! The hotel is close to the main CityExpress ski lift and close to the local shops, the rooms are comfortable and spacious (we splashed out on the honeymoon suite this time!) and the service is always friendly. The food is excellent - the chef is very good and lays on a 5 course dinner every night (starter and soup course, salad bar if you want it and then main and dessert) - you choose the main at breakfast from 3 options. I had one of the best steaks I've had ( and I've had some expensive steak at 5* hotels) and the fish is always particularly good too.
This is a great little hotel with some quirky decor and we wouldn't hesitate to go back again :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MandHGascoigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    59
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
55
55
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from 25th January for a week. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite and as a party of five also had room 102. Both were spacious.
Cleaners were pleasent.
Rudi always had time to talk to us, and found found different but so much effort went into the preparation, very al la carte, but with fussy typical English men with us, they were always happy with something on either the a,b or c choice as soup was always fab!
Breakfast was always a good choice all cereals, fruit yoghurt and omelette, toasties,bacon and egg made to order always went away full up.
Wifi was free but best in lobby or on first floor and in the suite room easier.
Never really used the balcony a as it was right on the road so can't comment.
If skiing as we were they have a hotel heated storage for skis and boots found this useful, and then use lift up to our room.
TIP We booked a crystal excursion on the Wednesday and apperently is gala night. As we went down for dinner at 7 we needed to be out for 8, only to find out we had to wish for everyone to finish which made us finally finish at 9 and were Hungary so accepted we could not attend what we had planned (wish we had of knew this)
Drinks as stated are very expensive but a lot of places in zell were. It's the end of week bill that makes it seem more. But ours was not too bad and left a decent tip for all staff.
Overal first impressions for us was, cosy and character. We would defiantly recommend and found the staff helpful and food lovely. Thank you! :)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayLover0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I would not stay here again;(( the water is five euro, all the wines they serve is very cheap and not good , you can not smoke in the hotel , the servents are not smileing , becarefull , staying here!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sedat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Heitzmann, this is our second visit our first was 10 years ago when we got married here. I dont have a bad thing to say about this hotel we stayed in room 303 which was lovely we had a double bed and a single for our 5yr old the room was very clean and spacious, it was overlooking the main road but didnt find it noisy at all. The room was cleaned daily and all towels replaced. The food was exceptional breakfast was a choice of cereal, fruit, cold meats and cheese or cooked breakfast and at breakfast you chose your main for the evening meal from a choice of 3 options. The evening meal was 5 courses of fantastic fresh produce the childrens meal was also of good quality there wasnt a single meal we disliked. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure everything was to your satisfaction they even decorated our table and produced a birthday cake as it was my birthday while we were there. The hotel is also ideally situated being very close to the shops and centre and about 5mins walk to the city express gondola. Will definitely go here again fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel 07/September 13 for a week we had booked and paid extra for a room with a balcony .On arrival we had a very warm welcome from Rudi the owner and he told us that we had ben upgraded to a suite,we thought our luck was in ,this was not the case.On arriving at room 304 on the third floor we found that it was above the busy main road It had great views of the mountains but no balcony just full lengh windows that opened fully so you could look out.The paintings on the walls are a matter of taste and we woke every morning to a landscape with Roman pillars and an angry looking parrot staring at us.
The food in the dining room was ok but not the best we have had in Austria and the gala dinner was a let down as there was no atmosphere at all ,and the supposed dress code was not enforced, it said you should be smart casual however we sat next to a guest who wore shorts and T shirt every night in fact he was drunk one night and was using foul language which was not addressed.
The main problem we had was that on the Tuesday we found that a bag of chocolate sweets we had left in the room had been eaten by vermin .I took the evidence to reception and they promised to sort it out and apologised ,because a number of these sweets were found in my boots they thought it was a squirrel or something like that and everyone thought this amusing .On the Thursday evening we had cause to move the sofa bed in the lounge area to be shocked to find mouse droppings and some more of the sweets all along the floor I looked in the sofa bed to find more mouse droppings .I immediately went to reception to tell Rudi who again apologised and promised he would get it sorted out.On the Friday we went out for the day and on returning at 4pm we foung that the maid had cleaned the room beds made towels arranged and the like, I looked behind the sofa bed to find the mouse droppings still there ,I was livid and went to look for Rudi who wasn't there and we didn't see him again before we left the following day .I can appreciate that hotels can have these problems but when you inform reception 4 times and nothing is done it is appaling .The problem is not helped by guests not on half board leaving pizza boxes outside their rooms
I have visited Austria 7 times and stayed in some very nice hotels but this was not one of them and I would not return, and finaly this hotel unlike many others in Zell am see does not give its guests the resort card and you can't buy it anywhere so if you want to go into the mountains you have to buy a 6 day lift pass which costs 79 euros each for something people at other hotels are issued for free .

Room Tip: room 304 has mice in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daiddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heitzmann11, Front Office Manager at Hotel Heitzmann, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We would like to thank the guest for the positive remarks and are sorry to hear that they had to experience some negative issues.

We would like to take this opportunity to explain, that in this case it was a squirrel which has found it's way into the hotel. Our hotel is being checked 4 times a year to avoid pest infestations and in case of an acute case like this we have of course hired the company once again to check the room.

Unfortunately, a matter like this might happen when a hotel is located in a country side area like Zell am See and we apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is NOT a 4 star hotel. Whilst there are some positives, there are issues which mean that I would not use this hotel again.
Positives being the location, which is very central, and easy walking around Zell am See. Good food, although items on buffet are not replenished when gone. Friendly waiting staff and comfy beds. However, some rooms are tired and shabby, we asked to be moved. Decor throughout the public areas is very individual and off putting. Attention to detail is lacking and does not match up to expectations for a 4star hotel.
I was most disappointed by the attitude of the owner, after our request to move room due to it's poor state of repair and lack of facilities. No apology and really seemed not to be very interested.
Photographs online do not fully represent the reality.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heitzmann11, Front Office Manager at Hotel Heitzmann, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hotel Heitzmann would like to take this opportunity to make representations to the above statement. We would like to thank the guest for the positive remarks and are sorry to hear that they had to experience some negative issues.

We assume that the guest is especially referring to the sofa in the public area, which is of very expensive design in zebra look. The look of the composition leather was especially machined and is of high quality.

The guests were booked in room 201, which is a standard room (guests wished for 2 single beds). The interior of this room is 6 years old and certainly not shabby. All rooms will be checked by our house keeping on arrival of our guests.

However, we have promptly reacted on the complaint of our guests and moved them to a junior suite with no extra costs. Of course, our junior suites are bigger and nicer decorated than our standard rooms, which regulates the room prices. We would have appreciated if the guests would have asked for a change of rooms immediately at the front desk and when our manager later on asked if they were satisfied with the new room, they agreed and thanked us.

We are once again sorry to hear that the guest was not satisfied as we aim to fulfill every wish and hope that they have a great time in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Noisy location, food pretty basic, especially breakfast. No atmostphere. shower head held up in both bedrooms with elastic bands. Even though water is drinkable you had to buy water at meals. We asked for glasses of ice going to bed and were not refused, then we had free water during the night. Broken fridge in daughters bedroom, was replaced when we asked but wasn't worth getting, no better than broken one. Disappointed overall. Rudy the owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. One positive thing at least.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitzer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#11 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heitzmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heitzmann

Property: Hotel Heitzmann
Address: Weissgerbergasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heitzmann 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Heitzmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing