We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Heitzmann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Heitzmann
Ranked #9 of 62 Zell am See B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Had a really good week at the Hotel Heitzmann.

We were there to snowboard and the hotel is not only really handy for the lifts, but also the first stop on the buses to the glacier and Saalbach-Hinterglemm (well worth getting the Salzburg super ski pass for). Its also really close to all of the main bars in town - and just around the corner from the Gin House- a great little haunt for the nail game.

The hotel was clean, friendly and had everything that we needed. The rooms were of a decent size - and serviced every day. The shower was clean, always hot and powerful - much needed at the end of a day.

The food at the hotel was excellent. After arriving late on Saturday and being warmly welcomed by the owner, dinner was ready and waiting for us in spite of the delay. The food was of a consistently high standard with service to match. I agree with another review on here about the standard of the steak - superb!

The boot room could do with being a little bigger, but other than that there is little to complain about.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    59
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
55
53
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zell am See, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very pleasant week at Hotel Heitzmann. Rooms very pleasant and everywhere spotlessly clean. Dinner was delicious every night. Good breakfast with hot options prepared on demand. Staff all very friendly and happy to take delivery of my ski bag before I checked in. Road can be a little noisy if window left open but radiators can be switched off so not excessively hot. Would certainly stay again if back in Zell am See.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I have nothing but positives to talk about when writing a review for this amazing hotel.
We stayed here as a large group for our wedding in Feb 2014. Before we arrived,I was already impressed by the level of help, care and attention provided by Rudi and Barbara in assisting us with the countless emails, questions and changes we made to our booking and wedding plans.
Due to delays at the ferry terminal, we arrived at the hotel after midnight (10+ hours later than scheduled) and were shocked to discover that the hotel had kept staff back to prepare and serve us a hot meal and dessert-a truly amazing gesture and one that I hadn't ever experienced or heard about before. Not only that, but Rudi also made himself available to greet our party too.
We stayed in the honeymoon suite, it is was huge with an enormous bathroom with twin sinks and a double jacuzzi bath. The rest of our party stayed in a variety of different room types, all were impressively sized with great internal decor. There was ample closet and storage space throughout-this was more important to the female members of our group than the males.
The food was exquisite. A fantastic, wide selection of hot and cold options at breakfast and a 5 course meal every evening. If you wanted to, you could quite easily manage without lunch everyday and still not be hungry. We travelled with a vegan as part of our group and the hotel were able to take care of her requirements and still maintain the highest level of quality. The waiting staff were very good, special mention must go to Benita who was an excellent front of house.

The hotel has a lovely quaint bar area and good sized communal areas for relaxing after a days skiing. I was pleasantly surprised by the prices of the drinks within the hotel. A bottle of good quality wine (still or sparkling) for around €20 is a great price for a bottle of wine in the mountains!!

We were allowed to make up the winter wedding room up as we wished on the day before the wedding- this allowed my fiancée to put her own personal touch to our day.
The wedding day was perfect, Rudi stayed with us right up to the wedding breakfast. He fine tuned every single aspect of the day, it was like having our very own wedding planner. We had our photos taken by the excellent photographer Susan (organised via the hotel) and were amazed to receive our beautiful wedding album just 3 days later. We also had some traditional Austrian music played in the evening by Hubert. This was such a uniquely entertaining hour which helped to set the wedding apart.
All in all, we couldn't have wanted anything more from this hotel. In my eyes a hidden gem in the middle of Zell am see.


Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Heitzmann two years ago and decided to go back again this year for another visit after the excellent service last time - we weren't disappointed - we love it here! The hotel is close to the main CityExpress ski lift and close to the local shops, the rooms are comfortable and spacious (we splashed out on the honeymoon suite this time!) and the service is always friendly. The food is excellent - the chef is very good and lays on a 5 course dinner every night (starter and soup course, salad bar if you want it and then main and dessert) - you choose the main at breakfast from 3 options. I had one of the best steaks I've had ( and I've had some expensive steak at 5* hotels) and the fish is always particularly good too.
This is a great little hotel with some quirky decor and we wouldn't hesitate to go back again :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MandHGascoigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from 25th January for a week. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite and as a party of five also had room 102. Both were spacious.
Cleaners were pleasent.
Rudi always had time to talk to us, and found found different but so much effort went into the preparation, very al la carte, but with fussy typical English men with us, they were always happy with something on either the a,b or c choice as soup was always fab!
Breakfast was always a good choice all cereals, fruit yoghurt and omelette, toasties,bacon and egg made to order always went away full up.
Wifi was free but best in lobby or on first floor and in the suite room easier.
Never really used the balcony a as it was right on the road so can't comment.
If skiing as we were they have a hotel heated storage for skis and boots found this useful, and then use lift up to our room.
TIP We booked a crystal excursion on the Wednesday and apperently is gala night. As we went down for dinner at 7 we needed to be out for 8, only to find out we had to wish for everyone to finish which made us finally finish at 9 and were Hungary so accepted we could not attend what we had planned (wish we had of knew this)
Drinks as stated are very expensive but a lot of places in zell were. It's the end of week bill that makes it seem more. But ours was not too bad and left a decent tip for all staff.
Overal first impressions for us was, cosy and character. We would defiantly recommend and found the staff helpful and food lovely. Thank you! :)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayLover0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I would not stay here again;(( the water is five euro, all the wines they serve is very cheap and not good , you can not smoke in the hotel , the servents are not smileing , becarefull , staying here!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sedat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Heitzmann, this is our second visit our first was 10 years ago when we got married here. I dont have a bad thing to say about this hotel we stayed in room 303 which was lovely we had a double bed and a single for our 5yr old the room was very clean and spacious, it was overlooking the main road but didnt find it noisy at all. The room was cleaned daily and all towels replaced. The food was exceptional breakfast was a choice of cereal, fruit, cold meats and cheese or cooked breakfast and at breakfast you chose your main for the evening meal from a choice of 3 options. The evening meal was 5 courses of fantastic fresh produce the childrens meal was also of good quality there wasnt a single meal we disliked. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure everything was to your satisfaction they even decorated our table and produced a birthday cake as it was my birthday while we were there. The hotel is also ideally situated being very close to the shops and centre and about 5mins walk to the city express gondola. Will definitely go here again fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel zum Hirschen
Hotel zum Hirschen
#14 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heitzmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heitzmann

Property: Hotel Heitzmann
Address: Weissgerbergasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heitzmann 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Heitzmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing