We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Austrian Welcome.”
Review of Hotel zum Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel zum Hirschen
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff at this hotel run by the Pacalt family. The look and feel of the hotel is traditional Austrian, with a big wood burning stove in the bar. This is Hannah the dog's favourite spot.
The room and facilities are clean and pleasing, the ski room was light and well ventilated. The sauna and pool area were a little limited in size. This was not a problem for us late in the season, but I think it may be a little crowded in high season.
The award winning five course evening meals were as good as we've experienced in Austria.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2011

Booked last minute for ski holiday with partner. Beautiful hotel in fantastic location, hotel website description is accurate. At best 150 yards or so to ski lift, lots of ski rental shops next to hotel. Hotel located in resort centre, you can walk straight out the front door into the town square. Very picturesque. Being the end of the ski season, the snow wasn't great in Zell, icy/thin lower down, runs incomplete so you couldn't ski down to the hotel, but to be honest not a big problem as the gondola back was very handy. Snow higher up was much better. However we spent most of the week in Kaprun, glacier skiing there, significantly better snow but consequently also busier.

Staff/service all great, very friendly, food excellent. Upmarket, 'michelin star style' cuisine. As we got a last minute deal, fantastic value for money, much better than previous chalet food. Bar staff excellent as well. Nice apres ski bar outside hotel and basement bar the 'ginhouse' with excellent cocktail making barman!

The room was fine, cleaned daily, spacious. Absolutely fab bathroom, double sinks, wide bath and separate loo. Very swish.

Small swimming pool and sauna, option for massage. Beware -- the sauna is a naked sauna. We went in shorts and bikini respectively and got cross looks from people! I was a little shocked that there was an entirely naked gentleman in the swimming pool and striding about the poolside -- there was no indication before we entered that this was their policy until we spotted a small plaque on the wall.

All in all though, unexpected naked experiences aside, fantastic holiday in great spot. Weather awesome and skiing superb. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrToots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This review covers a number of years that we have stayed at Zum Hirschen rather than just a single visit.

Overall, I would recommend both the hotel and the resort. The hotel is within a few minutes walk of the City Express lift & Intersport for ski rental.

Most years our rooms were very good, but the last year we went (2008) our room was located 2 floors above the kellar bar and the bass would come pumping up through into our room in a way I've never experienced before. On at least two nights I had to go down to reception (at 0200 or later) to complain as the music really was too loud. The weird thing is that reception was directly below us but you couldn't hear the noise there - it seemed to skip a floor somehow. One night they went down and got the bar to lower the music which was good . . . . until they turned it back up again 30 minutes later. I was very, very, very unimpressed. The problem with the noise travelling is obviously a known one.

The bar downstairs was actually good fun with a good line in gins.

The pool and sauna area were great and while small (like other Austrian hotels we've been to) I don't think anyone expects to be able to swim laps after a day on the slopes.

Food was good, but the bar service was a bit sketchy. I don't think the barman liked people ordering directly at the bar instead of ordering from the floor. Sometimes you just want to walk up to the bar and ask for a beer or an Almdoodler without having to wait to place your order, have the order brought to the bar, have it served, brought back to you, etc . . .

All in all, the plus side of the hotel outweighed the minus side. We don't go any more but more because we have changed resort (to Westendorf) than because of any problem with the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zigmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This is a super hotel with very friendly and helpful staff who provide excellent service. The hotel is very comfortable and feels very welcoming. The food was excellent and included the most impressive vegetarian food that we have encountered in any hotel that we have used in Europe. We were rather surprised to read the negative comments about vegetarian food in a previous report as this was completely different to our experiences.

The après ski bar located outside the hotel during the late afternoon is very popular and seemed to attract many regulars enjoying the relaxed atmosphere. Certainly we found this a great way to round off a day's skiing.

The hotel is well located (albeit bordering the main road through the town) and handy for the ski lift, bus station and the town centre. The owner of the hotel was very friendly and always seemed to be around and keeping an eye on what was happening.

We had a fantastic holiday at Zell am See and are hoping to return next year. If we do we shall certainly be looking to book in at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

What a fabulouse trip - we have just returned from a week at the Zum Herschen Hotel Zell am See - I cannot fault this hotel - the rooms, cleanliness and frendly atmosphere was second to none - and as for the food !!! well it was absolutely brilliant, 5 course dinner each night which was a "fine dining" experience - fantastic choice at breakfast too and the service was very good. In fact it was a perfect trip all round - just a couple of hundred yards to the gondola to brilliant slopes for all levels - good value restaurants on the mountain - apre ski was the best in fact I think this was the best skiing trip we have had in a few years , and the hotel definately made it for us. Pool and sauna great after a hard day skiing. We will definately go back and recommend it to friends. Travel from Salzburg is about an hour and half - and if you fancy a trip to Salzburg to break up your week - if there is a party of you (2 - 5 people) try the Enfach-Raus ticket which is a day pass on the trains covers all of you for only 28 euros which is a fantastic saving. There was 4 of us so for only 7 euros each we had a day at Salzburg which was a really nice break in the week.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryChristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

This is the first time I have been to austria,and it certainly will not be my last!

After landing in Salzburg late morning, we arrived at Zell am See just an hour and a half later. The Ighams rep on the cozch was very helpful, issuing the lift passes on the coach and helping with any other queries we had.

The hotel reception was very welcoming and homely. On arrival we were greeted by the hotel and families pet labrador Hannah, the most dorsile and adorable dog I have ever come across! shes lovely! we were giving a welcome pack wrapped with gold ribbon (this was a lovely touch), containing piste maps, townmaps,the evening menu etc.

On the first night, we were given just one option for our main course, of the 5 course meal but every other evening we were given a fish, meat or vegetarian option, all of which were of a very high standard. The starters were small but perfectly presented in a michelin star style, then came soup, then there was a salad bar, followed by main course and dessert. (I highly recommentd the apple strudel!!)

The room were spotless, with the bedlinen and towels changed, bath and shower cleaned and carpet hoovered etc daily. Housekeeping was impecable (although theres no 'Do not Disturb' signs)

Every evening, we went to the Gin House which is under the hotel. It is a small atmospheric club, suitable to sit with groups of friends or as a couple. The Bar Staff and owners are exceptional, and cant do enough for you. You can open a tab, or pay per drink, cash only. The cocktails they make are out of this world, an th way that they make them is ven more impressive! juggling icecubes, glasses, shakers and bottles! it was mesmorising to watch!!

Going to the Zell am See balloon festival is also a must if you go in january!

This is by far the best holiday ive had! (save the visibility on the mountain the second day)
I can also see how this resort and hotel would suit ramblers and more summer activity holiday makers, aswell as those with a love of fine food and wine.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metallena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I booked this hotel with Inghams ireland. When our plane arrived late in Salzburg and it was apparent that we would miss dinner in our hotel, our tour guide told us that there would be a 'cold plate' left in our room. The 'cold plate' was exactly that, a plate with cold meats on it, a bread roll each and nothing else. Drinks were to be found in the minibar..at a charge.... What good saving for Inghams and the hotel.Had we arrived on time we would have had a four course meal but we were penalised for being late. I would have thought the hotel could have at least supplied soft drinks and some sort of dessert, after all, we had paid for 7 evening meals. Rooms were of the four star variety but on those evenings when we needed our windows open there was noise on the streets below, loud enough to wake us.Overall food was of the typical Austrian four star variety which would compare favourably to many a gourmet restaurant here in Ireland. I felt that the breakfast buffet was a bit 'skimpy', i would have liked a better variety of breads( have stayed in other fourstar hotels in Austria where this was the case) and as in most austrian hotels they do not serve marmalade. There was no hot food offered at breakfast, however on about the third day we noticed a man at the next table eating scrambled eggs. We enquired and were told that , yes, we could request an omlette or scrambled eggs. We felt that this should have been obvious from the start.
The hotel interior was very clean but I thought that it needs a bit of a revamp, i.e. repainting and removal of the plastic flower arrangements at regular intervals on the stairwell. The pictures on the walls were a bit generic( boring etchings of 'old' Zell) and tired looking. We dined each evening in a wonderful section of the restaurant, probably the oldest part and therefore the most atmospheric. I noticed that there were several less desirable areas in the restaurant where one would feel uncomfortable due to the constant passing diners, to and from the morning buffet.
There is a tiny spa area in the hotel where if there were four people using it, there would be a crowd. This is unfortunate and not in line with many other larger, state of the art spas in other four star hotels in Austria. We used it one day but were not attracted back.
Blcycles can be used gratis in this hotel which is a big plus. The outdoor cafe is excellent for service, comfort , food and people watching (as it is on the main drag).
Cycle paths are excellent in Austria and in particular around Zell, the Tauernradweg in particular. Championship golf course is nearby and hotel guests get a 20% reduction (44 euro each for 18holes). A staff member will deliver and collect you for free. The golf club serves wonderful food. Overall I would not be in a hurry back to this hotel as I know that there are many more four star hotels offering a quieter location, better food, better spa facilities and better attention to detail.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
1,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#13 of 42 in Zell am See
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#11 of 42 in Zell am See
590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Hirschen

Address: Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#12 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: £106 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zum Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Hirschen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing