We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central location & great place to eat”
Review of Hotel Lebzelter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lebzelter
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have been to the Restaurant and Sportsbar attached to this hotel and found them both to be very enjoyable. The restaurant serves an excellent a la carte menu and the set menu which we had. It was excellent value and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

As is likely obvious from our reviews, we like to stay either in a deluxe 5-star hotel, or a small hotel with rustic, local charm. This hotel, for sure, falls in the latter category. Yes, the man who runs the hotel can be gruff, but that's just his way. His daughter is always helpful and always working.
We've stayed in Zell am See a couple of times and on our first trip, we stayed elsewhere, but we ate in the dining room of the Lebzelter and really enjoyed it. So the following year, we decided to stay in the hotel.
Our room was large, on the top floor but quite rustic. More rustic, in fact, than we expected. But we kind of like that in a ski hotel. The mattresses were a bit hard, though.
We book half board and ate most nights in the dining room. The staff prepared gluten free meals for us every night. This is huge for us and we often are unable to eat in many hotel dining rooms.
The bar in basement if very cool if not a touch spooky. We enjoyed having a drink there a few nights. If we didn't go there, we went to the more traditional bar adjacent to the lobby. Also nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mkouzmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I did not stay here, but came across it whilst looking for a nice place to eat lunch in Zell. For that, it's super. The staff are very friendly, including the owners; all very welcoming. I can highly recommend the regional dishes on the lunchtime menu. Very typical of the local cuisine: maybe not the healthiest option, but really tasty. The place had a cosy, welcoming feel. I'd be surprised if this was not the case if you were to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I arrived here for a week's skiing, the location of the hotel was good, one of the few positives. The rooms are very basic and the bathroom is very small, in which we encountered a shower door which was hanging off. When we reported this the response was "We know", quite odd. We then told the rep that we weren't happy about this hoping it would lead to the problem being fixed. The shower door was finally fixed, and we were approached in the middle of dinner (literally mid bite) by the woman who ran the hotel (skinny brown-haired woman) who very patronisingly told us it was fixed and that did we even know it was fixed. The worst customer service I have ever come across. The food was very inconsistent in quality (they can't cook a chicken breast) and you only had the option of 3 main courses. The breakfast was good and the staff at breakfast were the most friendly, probably should teach the management a few lessons. The only time I experienced the woman who ran the hotel being polite which was when I was buying wi-fi, which in fact is not free anywhere in the hotel. A positive being the Kellar bar, the man who runs it being consistently friendly and always greeted us whether it be in the bar or outside. I stress this is no way in normal terms a 4 star hotel. If you are used to a 4 star standard, this is not it. I will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The hotel is in the pedestrian area of Zell am See and has a lot of history attached to it. It is very centrally located and is only a few minutes walk to the lake or the gondola to take you up the mountain (for walkers), the bus station and the train station. The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak very good english. We were welcomed by the owners Mr & Mrs Schandlbauer and also on our departure by Mrs Schandlbauer who was keen to know if we had enjoyed our stay in their hotel.

It is a very well positioned hotel for visiting the surrounding areas and a very reasonable price for a 4 star hotel. The food was plentiful and varied.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the middle of town so most rooms face a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golferLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Didnt stay at the hotel but came across the beer cellar below - what a fantastic place amd the bar manager, Gunther, was terrific too. If there is a better bar in Zell then we didnt find it. The situation and decor were great, music brilliant (generally old favourites played just at the right volume so you could either listen to the music or cjhat and still be heard) and Gunther was very friendly and helpful.
A must visit !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I haven't written a review before but felt I had to after reading some of the negative comments in the older reviews here. We booked upgrades for our rooms and the rooms were extremely clean, the cleaner cheerful and helpful. They were a good size, even the single one. Not many hotels offer a single room without having to pay a vast amount for single occupancy.
The hoteliers were very polite, helpful and friendly as were the staff. The buliding has great character.
The food was fine. There is always a vegetarian option. You do order your evening meal at breakfast but this isn't a problem. In fact, I liked knowing what to look forward to in the evening. Generally, the meal starts with an appetiser, followed by soup, followed by salad, the the main meal and then a dessert - a small Austrian cake, fresh fruit salad, ice cream and then cheese. No-one need go hungry! All in all I would say that one should disregard the poor reviews and go and stay at the Lebzelter.

Room Tip: We had rooms 109, 110, 104 and all were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goose21831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
1,180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#13 of 42 in Zell am See
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lebzelter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lebzelter

Address: Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 7, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#10 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: £96 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lebzelter 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 500 years tradition and history - you family-run hotel in the pedestrianized area in the heart of Zell am See. Enjoy the atmosphere in the unique bar "Sportstüberl" or traditional Austrian cuisine in our restaurant. Take advantage of the Zell am See-Kaprun summer card whilst your stay in the summer, or the walking distance of 300 m only to the next gondola station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lebzelter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebzelter Zell Am See
Lebzelter Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing