We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and everything is included.”
Review of AlpineResort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AlpineResort
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location and everything is included.”
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed with six people and got three rooms, two of which were on the top floor that had really pretty views of the mountain from the balcony. This hotel is out of the way from downtown Zell am See which we liked, and right next to the cable cars. We got an all inclusive package which included breakfast and dinner buffets and lunch at the hotel, or you could make sandwiches from the breakfast buffet and bring them for lunch. You get all the drinks you want including beer and wine from 11am to 11pm, but it can be hard to get served if the terrace or bar is busy. The food is above average, the rooms are clean, and the service is cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenMtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    39
    16
    19
    9
See reviews for
62
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Just returned from a weeks skiing with a party of 12 consisting of family and friends. The hotel's location, right on the side of a short blue run, is lovely and it is very close to 3 of the main gondolas which are accessable either on skis or walking. To say this is a ski in/ski out hotel is pushing it though as the only runs that link the hotel are 3 black runs. One (15) is no more than a red in most other gradings but involves a short walk so doesn't really qualify but 13 and 14 are steep blacks. The only other accessible run blue 12b is a narrow track which goes uphill in places and finishes a long way down the hill and is a hell of a trek back up to the hotel. We tried it once and vowed never again so came back each day in the gondola.
The hotel's cleanliness and sevice was excellent and the room we stayed in was very good. We took a kettle with us and would recommend that you do as no drinks are provided except at breakfast. There was small fridge which they say is for their drinks only but we put milk and juice in there with no problems. The hairdryer provided was also good . Our room was a superior double and was lovely with a large modern bathroom, flat screen TV (only CNN in english though), a nice seating area and a small balcony. The rooms do differ though as we found out by comparing with other members of our party. My adult son's room which he paid a supplement as a single was in the eaves, very small and rather dark with an equally small and very dated bathroom. As other reviews have stated, the drinks in the hotel were very expensive - 4 euros for a large beer and 20 euros plus for a bottle of wine with a meal, 37 euros for a modest drinkable red. They had a promotion on that included a bottle of water with wine and they will save the bottle for the next night if you only want a couple of glasses. The owner did say when questioned that tap water is not charged for though although we only found that out on the second to last night! The breakfast was buffet style and excellent with an extensive range of hot and cold options ham, eggs (fried, scrambled and boiled), toast plus a wide range of continental options, cereals yogurts etc. The apres ski snack is very welcome after skiing and consisted of either soup or pasta plus cakes but again no drinks unless you pay for them. Dinner was excellent every night - a mix of generous 4 course meals which you chose in the morning and 3 nights buffet style. The food was plentiful and very well prepared and served although did tend to be on the salty side. Again no coffee after dinner included though.
There is a lovely small indoor pool and a sauna and steam room which some people chose to go in naked but definitely not all, robes need to requested, but slippers and towels are provided with a deposit of 30 euros added to your bill which is deducted when you hand them back at the checkout. The ski bus runs about every 15 mins from the car park by the ski cash office and is free with your ski pass. It does stop around 6:30 but a taxi is around 10 euros. We booked an 8 seater into town and it cost us 2 eros each person, 6 in each taxi. There are some small but decent supermarkets in Zell to stock up on beer, wine etc but if you want anything on Sunday you have to go to the Jet station shop as everywhere else is closed. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank footnotes_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Having booked a last minute ski holiday where our accommodation was allocated upon arrival, we were extremely pleased to be placed in this hotel. Here are our thoughts:

Location: Great for easy access to the slopes, and there is a conveniant ski hire shop nearby. Only problem with the 'ski in ski out' aspect of the hotel - you've got to be a competant skiier as the only route in without too much walking is a black run. The bus stop into town is virtually opposite the hotel, which is great although services stop after 6.30pm meaning a taxi is the only option for getting back to the hotel after a night on the tiles.

Food / Drink: We found the food to be plentiful and of excellent quality. Our last night 'gala' meal was fabulous, although the only downer was the price of wine and water. At 6euros for a bottle of water, we thought this was a complete rip off and worked out that the beer at the hotel was the cheaper option! Wine was generally poor quality and tasteless, and expensive for what it was.

Service / facilities: Excellent service all round with some helpful and polite staff. Nice pool and sauna/spa facilities, and clean communal areas where you can relax. The bar area was small but cosy, and again - beer the best option.

Rooms: Rather basic and the decor in the bathrooms was typically Austrian - shame they can't be updated. Towels and bedlinen were rather 'thin' but overall the room was tidy and well presented.

Overall, an excellent hotel but once best for families rather than groups of friends looking to have a great apres ski life in Zell. Pricey but worthwhile if you like a lot of good food and are happy to drink beer and nothing else. We'd certainly come again!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ac338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South east, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Like many others I read the reviews after I'd booked it so was a little worried but turned out to be one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. The recent reviews seem more positive so maybe they've improved over the last year or so. The location is fantastic and I imagine would be a great base for skiing. The room was perfect - we stayed on the second floor on the left side of the building (wondered if the eaves rooms on the top floor might be a little small so maybe worth paying a bit extra - think we got upgraded). The staff were very friendly and spoke plenty of english and couldn't fault the food (only that there was too much!). We only stayed a week but would have love to have stayed longer - also enjoyed Zell Am See very much

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonSoutheast_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Stayed for a weeks skiing with toddlers and teenagers. The hotel's location, right on the side of a short blue run, could not be faulted for accessing the slopes, ski hire, and ski-school and kindergarten. 3 gondolas were a stones-throw away and accessable on skis by the most inexperienced skier. The ski school for the very young was excellent and used a mini-truck to get the smallest up to the top of the gentle blue adjacent to the hotel. Our daughter is only 2 and managed 3 ski lessons, achieving a wobbly snowplough at the end.
The hotel's cleanliness and sevice was excellent and the room we stayed in was very good - although tea/coffee making facilities and a microwave would have been useful. There was small fridge and the hairdryer provided was useable (sometimes they are just useless!). The room was a double with a fold out double bed - which although was suitable for our 2 year old wouldn't have been comfortable for anyone over the age of about 6. The hotel does have larger rooms, with 2 Austrian twin beds which were very roomy and beds much better (our friends had one of these).
As other reviews have stated, the drinks in the hotel were very expensive - 4 euros for a large beer and between 21-26 euros for a bottle of wine with a meal. But this does seem comparable with the hotel we stayed in in Hinterglemm last year. The breakfast was buffet style but had an extensive range of hot and cold options = ham, eggs, toast plus a wide range of continental options. Dinner was excellent every night - a mix of generous 5 course meals and buffet style. There was a choice which could be made at breakfast - food was plentiful and very wellprepared and served.
The wellness facilities were satisfactory - the pool being a little on the small side and the saunas striclty "naked" but the teenagers enjoyed the use of the poole at the end of each day's skiing - robes, slippers and additional towels were also provided free of charge. There is also plently of space right outside the hotel to use a sledge or bum board.
It was quite a trek into town - the ski bus running about every 30 mins - not as often as advertised, but was quite early in season. However, we didn't need to go down there, except to stock up cheap wine and beer from the SPAR shop!! Would defibately return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Family 16 Age Group 8 -47 Travel aarranged with Top Flight
Stayed inthis hotel Jan 2009 and had such a good time retuned agin Jan 2010.
What a wonderful Place to stay for a ski holiday. Every thing is just outside the Door, Lifts ,ski hire, ski school no need for ski bus . Martina once again at reception looked after our every request and always with a smile
The restaurant staff were great and the food was wonderful. In fact all members of staff are a credit to Mr Daxter what a great team he has put together.
If you are going on holiday with a group and do not ski. Just go to the ski pass office in front of hotel every morning at 10 am where each day there are guided walks arranged free of charge. nothing too hard and well worth doing.
Thans to all for a wonderful time see you again next year with the help of God
Spillane Family ireland

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFFORDSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We were greeted by very friendly staff and a warm log fire. The hotel was extremely clean, the domestic staff seemed to be cleaning all the time. The room we were in was fabulous, plenty of space, the bathroom was modern and clean (a few more cupboards would have been helpful). The restaurant offered great breakfasts and evening meals; some nights had buffets others a set meal which you chose in the morning; all were delicious and there was plenty of it. The restaurant staff were very friendly and professional. The location is perfect for a skiing trip. Immediately outside the hotel you can ski onto 3 gondola lifts.

My only issue would be that the drinks were very expensive, (the house wine with our evening meal was 25euros minimum), It would have been useful to have a kettle in the room (or information before to say what facilities are in the room so we could have taken a travel kettle) this is very helpful when you have children.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would defo return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAYStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
226 reviews
1.9 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Latini Hotel
Latini Hotel
#28 of 43 in Zell am See
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gartenhotel  Daxer
Gartenhotel Daxer
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
253 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kinderhotel Zell am See
Kinderhotel Zell am See
#4 of 43 in Zell am See
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlpineResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlpineResort

Property: AlpineResort
Address: Schmittenstrasse 125, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AlpineResort 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AlpineResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schwebebahn Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing