We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for skiers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Der Schutthof
Ranked #42 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Really good place for skiing holidays with short walk (~250 m) to Areitbahn lifts or skibus (~150 m) for skiing in Kaprun or Kitzsteinhorn, good ski rental and service in hotel. Excellent wellness centre and rooms better than one would expect in 3*. Good selection of food in breakfast, tasty dinners and good bars. Free parking and Wi-fi, friendly and helpful staff.
We liked everything, but note further info. If you are without car - the hotel is located ~2,5 km from Zell am See in nice nearby village Schuttdorf. If you want silence - the hotel is located nearby church (bell rings from 7 to 21) and apreski bar on lively street and there are a lot of children in the hotel (because it is more family hotel).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D_M046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Der Schutthof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times in a group and recently with my family. Booking is easy and service and welcome excellent: all staff are very attentive to guests. Food is very good although the evening meal on half board on a few days was average( fish curry using up fish from previous two days). Ski location excellent with short walk to lifts and good ski rental and service in hotel very helpful chaning boots on request. A nice mix of guests too with not many brits.Excellent wellness centre and rooms better than one would expect in 3*. My only problem was noise- party in the hotel bar until 4 am one night and with no reception 11-7 difficult to resolve: i suspect the management will not allow this again in house? There is also road noise and church bells ( which are nice!) but also a fair bit of late night revelling which was less so. I was transferred to a new room but was also disturbed bt noise from bar opposite- not great but not much the hotel can do here. I recommend asking for a room not facong the roads and not above the bar - this is the only reservation i have about an otherwise good hotel

Room Tip: best rooms third floor not facing onto the road
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 221david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The hotel is located in Schuettdorf, about 5 mins. drive from Zell or a pleasant 20-min. walk along the lakeside. The rooms are comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a spacious bar & restaurant with an outside patio & garden (adjoining the Hotel Latini). One excellent feature of this hotel is the catering. We found the food & service to be of the highest quality and it was a pleasure dining there. Overall, this was an excellent base for a relaxing stay and for exploring Zell and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thrifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed in Gasthof Schutthof for a week during our holidays in the Alps and we were very nicely surprised and very satisfied with the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, as if they were from a guide "how to service your guests." We were not satisfied with the original room they gave us, because it was directly on the main road and against the church and didn't really meet our expectations of a quite stay. So they showed us two other rooms from which we then selected the second one. So we changed the room right at the beginning without any problem.
The breakfast was good, good selection of food and everything you would expect. Maybe a bit more fresh fruit would have been nice, but otherwise we were satisfied. And the dinner!! That was Dinner! Great selection, very good food, we certainly put on weight while staying there. You can choose from 3 main courses at the breakfast already, one option was always meat, one usually fish and one vegetarian. All three were ver good and if you didn't like any of the option, you could say what you want for dinner and the chef prepared it specially for you.
The rooms were cleaned every day, no problems there. The double room was a bit small as we would have wished for, but in the end that wasn't too much trouble. And the new wellness in Gasthof is great! We were there almost each evening, great saunas, very nice resting area and usually we were the only people there. The only drawback is that they close the wellness at 9 pm which was a bit too soon for us, as it was difficult to manage with dinner.
You also get a Zell am See guest case which we found to be a great value, since you save money on various entrance fees, lift tickets, on bathing tickets, on boat trips, etc. The card was included in the room price and it was really a great treat because we really saved a lot of money with that. So in the end, the hotel proved to be a good value for money as well.
But overall, we were really very satisfied with the hotel. We didn't expect it to be that great, as there usually are small drawbacks everywhere you go, but this one was really an exception. We can only recommend it further, it made our holidays perfect, even though the weather wasn't.

Room Tip: If you don't like the room, just ask for another one. I'm sure they will do everything they...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DiaMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

After many experience- all hotel categories over the world- we can recomand this hotel .
Check-in: 50/50 service, (arrive 2:30 p.m.), all information they had in hotel system, but, but, but...reception lady speak English very poor, I understand that is only *** hotel, but...
Parking: free parking on the street, but sometime is problem find any free space, or you can use cover garage from Latini hotel (7 EUR/per day), same family hotel owner but different condition.
Gastronomy : absolutelly OK for this hotel category!
Breakfast: 3 stages there, one hot with typical hotel bufet menu, eggs, ham, suasage. Second with ham, cheese,fruits,vegetables, local cheeses,home made yoghurt , third with bread/rolls, mussli, sweet cakes etc. Very quickly tea/coffee service and baby chair for our 15 months old daughter.
Diner: in other hotel Latini****, there was great staff, very friendly, PERFECT food, attention to our daufhter (small fork, spoon, baby chair etc)
Room: not new, but quality materials. We were in 4.stock, but lift is only to 3. stock, with pram and baby its a problem... TV list wrote by hand, ufff!!! Its really so hard use PC+printer? :-) Wi-Fi is free, but you must use name and password for any login.
Relax zone: very nice, new designed, excellent view to mountains, saunas etc.
Check-out:very quickly, lady at reception has a sharp invoice, no problem pamyent via card.
We recieved special Kaprun+Zell am See card with many free activities (muzeum, cableway etc) and some saves (Tauren Spa etc.), its really great idea for families!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kroulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

We stayed at Der Shutthof over Thanksgiving weekend and it was a wonderful trip. The trip was arranged through Tyrolian Tours and caters to Americans. It was our first time staying at a place with half board and I was concenred that either the food would not be good or I would get sick of eating at the same place for 4 days straight. I am happy to report that the food was GREAT. The hotel even provided a real Thanksgiving meal. The hotel was clean and comfortable. It is located right next to the ski slopes in Zell Am See.

The room we stayed in was a bit noisy since it faced the street and right across the street was a bar that stayed open late. But the rooms were comfortable and we slept through the noise. You might want to request a room on the other side of the hotel. We also enjoyed the hotel bar after a long day on the slopes.

I think this hotel is a good value for your money. It is in a great location and with the half board option is very affordable.

We were there to ski, but had to ski at the Glacier on Kitzsteinhorn (http://www.kitzsteinhorn.at/) since there was no snow this time of year at Zell am See. The ski bus to the Kitzsteinhorn Glacier stops right in front of the Shutthof.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnftr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

First of all, I reached the hotel only by taxi since the agency that booked me the hotel told me it is in Zell Am See while actually it was in another village that is 2km from Zell Am See. My GPS did not have an updated map for the Zell Am See area, so, I had to go by taxi at least for the first time. Other than this, The positive side of this hotel is that it was styled magnificently from the inside and out with wooden flavors all over. The hotel had lots of services including Free internet Access (near the reception), swimming pool and others. Part of these services were provided in the adjacent Latini hotel. The complimentary breakfast was average. The only negative side was the room. The room was so small and the toilet was tiny. The beds were not too comfortable too. Overall, It was OK.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AliAlAwadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.0 mi away
Latini Hotel
Latini Hotel
#27 of 42 in Zell am See
143 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pinzgauerhof
Hotel Pinzgauerhof
#33 of 42 in Zell am See
30 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Traube
Hotel Traube
#18 of 42 in Zell am See
121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Der Schutthof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Der Schutthof

Address: Kitzsteinhornstrasse 2, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Price Range: £76 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Der Schutthof 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Schütthof and the Team offers a wide range of Services to guests from all over the world. In addition to comfortable great value hotel rooms in summer and winter, attractive package deal offers, several restaurants and bars, a wellness & spa area with two saunas (60 and 90 degrees centigrade) and a steam bath are waiting for you at the cosy 3 star hotel in Zell am See. Spend an unforgettable holiday in Austria at this charming Hotel close to Salzburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Der Schutthof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing