We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stay and we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Worth the stay and we'll be back”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

If you want to relax for a few days, enjoy all the spa and treatment facilities and the nature, you are at the right place.
Very good and friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleo1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    27
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
86
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Suffolk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Actually stayed here March 2009 but just getting round to writing a review! The hotel is located just outside Zell am See but you can walk in alongside the lake. It's about a fifteen to twenty minute walk. The hotel will also pick you up from the station in Zell am See. The welcome was nice but you could smell stale smoke in the reception/bar area straight away. I would imagine smoking laws have changed now as they have in Switzerland but it wasn't the nicest aroma to take in!
However the welcome was good with drinks and a tour of the hotel. Our room as mentioned in some posts was small but when you're out skiing all day does it really matter? Pillow menu was novel and I found the bed comfortable. Also took advantage of the DVD library one day as got blinding drunk one night with friends in Zell and spent all day in bed with a hangover! Lost a whole day skiing. I'll never learn!
Good location for the ski lift and the free hotel ski lockers are handy at the base station.
Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice. We ate a couple of times in the restaurant and found the food and service very good. We also enjoyed the free homemade cakes in the bar/ piano room after skiing.
Spa area was extensive. The waterbeds around the pool and sleep/quiet room were comfy and relaxing after a days skiing.
All in all an enjoyable stay.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcellio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Great place for relaxation, sport and entertainment. Many possibilities for children, friendly staff, always satisfy all your wishes
Delicious food.
Thank you for great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronikaPetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney (originally UK)
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Contemporary spa hotel with everything catered for. Great spa, comfortable rooms with beautiful views over the mountains and fantastic food at the restaurant (the rates included all meals). The staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the swimming pool and heated waterbeds by the pool. The only downside is that it is not really in Zell am See, but Zell am See south, about 10 min walk to the lake and 35-40min walk along the lake to Zell am See. But we found some good hiking trails starting from here and enjoyed walking along the lake so it wasn't a prolem. We had a spa bath room which is probably a bit bigger than the standard room, which might be pretty small. If you want a really big room, this probably isn't the hotel for you - ours was adequate but the design of having the bed in the middle of the room meant that there wasn't a huge amount of free space, but then with a separate wardrobe area we didn't need it. Overall we had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoutiqueHotelAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I have stayed in some amazing hotels all over the world and this one beats it all. Apart from the cost, the rooms are so small that you feel cheated. I have had bathrooms bigger.
To cap it all the reception is totally useless and the room fobs do not work.
Avoid this hotel even if it does look appealing on the website.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roxterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hagleitnersa, Marketing at MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay in our hotel and that we couldn't convince you with our service and offer.

Best wishes from Zell am See,

Ilona Hagleitner & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
339 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

When recently I decided, at very short notice, to join my boyfriend on a trip around the Tyrol that he was already on, the Mavida was the perfect place to check into. The somewhat fraught organising of the previous week instantly melted away when I walked into the cool, calm, contempory interior. I wouldn't naturally choose "cool and contemporary", but this place does it perfectly. As with other reviews I would agree that the rooms, restaurant and service were all superb. I can recommend the "full body peeling" in the Spa - nothing like as extreme as it sounds, in fact, very relaxing and I really do feel my skin felt better after! As my partner had taken his mountain bike with him, it was also really useful that we were able to use one of the hotel's bikes for me (free) so we could cycle round the lake. First time back on a bike in 20 odd years, but I survived and it's an excursion to be recommended! After all that, a quick dip in the pool and tea on the terrace was very relaxing :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We went to Mavida for a few days after we got married. It was ideal for relaxing - the rooms were conducive to this - modern decor and quiet. We called room service several times and the order was there is a very quick time. All the staff were polite and very friendly, you felt special. The spa facilities were relaxing and we got used to wandering around in our hotel provided robes.
We stayed in one of the spa deluxe rooms and had a good view from our room - it looked over the outdoor pool and bar.
The evening food as part of our half board deal was the best food we have had and the pace it was served was just right. I will say that the wine list is expensive.
All in all a great hotel and we will be returning to enjoy the facilities and Austrian spa experience again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thornsboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seevilla Freiberg
Seevilla Freiberg
#25 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.2 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See

Property: MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
Address: Kirchenweg 11, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#19 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#20 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design in combination with mental balance, spa and gourmet cuisine bring body, mind and soul in line”, that’s the success of the MAVIDA Balance Hotel & Spa. Numerous awards, like “Hotel of the year 2011 in Austria”, HolidayCheck TopHotel 2011 or the Golden Service Crown, category wellness hotel, underline the concept.MAVIDA Facts:43 design rooms and 4 design suites, awarded gourmet restaurant with show kitchen and walk-in wine cubus, cosy bar with open chimney, incentive room INVIDA (ca 50 sq), 1.400 sq Balance Centre & Spa with Private Spa Suite, Blue Box, Floating Pool, outdoor sport pool with terrace (summer), indoor pool, bio-, herb- and Finnish sauna, Kneipp pool, tepidarium, fitness centre and relax rooms, beach property at the Zeller lake (summer), shuttle service to the ski area Schmittenhöhe (Areitbahn in Schüttdorf)The gourmet full board of the Best Wellness Hotel Austria will persuade you:late-riser breakfast buffet, snacks, fresh fruits, fingerfood and cakes in the afternoon. In the evening the cuisine team spoils you with exquisite dishes, the courses can be combined from the à la carte menu.Position:• 5 minutes walk to the ski and hiking area Schmittenhöhe• 5 minutes by car to the 2 x 18 holes Leading Golf Club Zell am See/Kaprun• 10 minutes walk to the Zeller lake• 10 minutes by car to the hotel’s property at the Zeller lake• 20 minutes by car to the glacier skiing area Kitzsteinhorn (October-May)• 5 minutes by car to the centre and train station Zell am See ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavida Balance Hotel Zell Am See
Mavida Balance Hotel And Spa
Hotel Mavida Balance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing