We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Tyrol retreat.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2010

When recently I decided, at very short notice, to join my boyfriend on a trip around the Tyrol that he was already on, the Mavida was the perfect place to check into. The somewhat fraught organising of the previous week instantly melted away when I walked into the cool, calm, contempory interior. I wouldn't naturally choose "cool and contemporary", but this place does it perfectly. As with other reviews I would agree that the rooms, restaurant and service were all superb. I can recommend the "full body peeling" in the Spa - nothing like as extreme as it sounds, in fact, very relaxing and I really do feel my skin felt better after! As my partner had taken his mountain bike with him, it was also really useful that we were able to use one of the hotel's bikes for me (free) so we could cycle round the lake. First time back on a bike in 20 odd years, but I survived and it's an excursion to be recommended! After all that, a quick dip in the pool and tea on the terrace was very relaxing :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

We went to Mavida for a few days after we got married. It was ideal for relaxing - the rooms were conducive to this - modern decor and quiet. We called room service several times and the order was there is a very quick time. All the staff were polite and very friendly, you felt special. The spa facilities were relaxing and we got used to wandering around in our hotel provided robes.
We stayed in one of the spa deluxe rooms and had a good view from our room - it looked over the outdoor pool and bar.
The evening food as part of our half board deal was the best food we have had and the pace it was served was just right. I will say that the wine list is expensive.
All in all a great hotel and we will be returning to enjoy the facilities and Austrian spa experience again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thornsboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

An unexpected find in Zell, where nothing is too much trouble and the Restaurant is superb. A linked Hotel offers what must surely be 'heaven on earth' for parents with children where offspring may be safely left to amuse themselves all day in the car eof Hotel staff / go off to vist a local farm, ;earn about nature, swim, horse ride, while mum & dad enjoy the luxurious spa facilities at MaVida, where no children are allowed in!!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Golfister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

The hotel is contemporary (a nice change for Austria), with chillout music playing everywhere. Bedroom is perhaps a little cramped near the wardrobe which is behind the bed and at one side where you can just get out, though the view of the mountains takes your mind off it (if you open the net curtains first and duck to avoid the tv hanging off the wall that is-i hate net curtains). There are 2 train tracks outside (one is very close) but they didn't bother us as the windows were usually closed. The hotel promotes a pillow menu but it was seriously lacking. As usual for Austria one was like a cloud and zero neck support and the other was about 4ft square (a floor cushion in a previous existence?). We've ski'd here since our honeymoon 25 yrs ago and the pillows havent changed, come on guys get your act together. When i asked for another type i got a bag of wheat (i thought this was a 4/5* hotel not a stable) haha, so i gave up.
The restaurant was fabulous, we were HB and had the run of the 'dinner' and 'a la'carte' menu. A surprise treat from the chef is always sent out first, then you leisurely work your way through the next 4 yummy courses and excellent wine. Presentation and textures are everything here and the portions are perfectly sized. Service was excellent and all meals were introduced in English by the staff and they always remembered that i had soya milk. There were children in the restaurant but all were impeccably behaved (unlike a lot of British ones i've experienced). Oh, and more net curtains....maybe to stop you seeing the trains running by?
Spa area is a balance (haha) of wow and disappointment for me. Let's start with the wow which was the pool area, the heat of the water is ooooooooh heaven for once (i might even get fit if i lived here)and is surrounded by heated water beds, everybody i saw lay on one fell asleep hehe-utter relaxation. I only have a couple of criticisms and they are that the Tepidarium wasn't warm enough (steam rooms are the fave of my husband and I and we don't like them very hot but this was poor), the foot baths felt slimy (euww) and i would have liked to have been asked prior to being given a male masseur. Yeah i can imagine you girls choking with laughter as you read it but trust me he wasn't that professional-or fit-questioning me about my tattoo, commenting on my tummy piercing and generally a bit of an Austrian version of a cheeky chappy, he had verbal diahorrea. When i was given him again on the 2nd day i told him at the start to "mund halten bitte"......also his hands felt like sandpaper and his technique was rough and lacking at times (after all, isn't the technique what we are paying for here?). My hubby and i booked the treatments together well in advance of our trip but got an email asking us to change them which was irritating as it forced us to have our appointments at different times and miss hours of skiing.
The only 2 English speaking news channels were frozen and BBC was never fixed during our stay even though we asked.
It is promoted that you can arrange skigear from the hotel but it was only on our last day that we noticed the area to do it by accident, nobody mentioned it.
After all said and done i would go back, though maybe ask for a lady masseuse next time? :¬)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalousie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Very modern and cozy hotel with great views. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmarcelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Stayed at the Mavida with my wife for a week in early August. On the whole, very impressed and would recommend to anyone seeking a reasonably priced yet well appointed boutique hotel. Particularly impressed by the restaurant which far exceeded standards expected for a hotel restaurant (breakfasts were incredible!). A fantasic pool area adjoins the lounge bar's outdoor terrace which is awesome if the weather is nice. My wife assures me the spa centre is also fantasic, very modern and with good range of treatments. This is clearly a hotel which has had a good deal of money and effort put into it.

The hotel also provides free bikes to get around on. Also numerous walking tracks up the mountains are within easy reach.

While I noticed that there were a number of families staying while we were there, the set-up wasn't focussed for kids so wouldn't recommend staying with children.

Only fault I could give it is it's location next to a railway line which could be noisey. However this wouldn't stop me from returning.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davron_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We stayed at Mavida for a short skiing break in February. We stayed with friends, both of whom had stayed before and recommended it highly. The hotel is distinctive, welcoming and contemporary. Rooms were spacious with great amenities and are spotlessly clean. Breakfast was wonderful; it's worth getting up to eat and drink as much as you can, including the freshly squeezed juice. The bar area is lovely with a real fire and fantastic service from knowledgable bar tenders. Our only complaint would be typical of all hotels in Austria (until 2010 at least) in that the bar was incredibly smokey. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was good quality, as were the local wines.

The spa facilities are wonderful; there is a range of saunas and amazing heated water beds next to the pool, where you could easily spend a few hours reading or dozing. The beauty therapies were good; we had a massage and used the 'blue room' and the standard of service was excellent.

The hotel is fairly expensive, but it's a perfect place to relax after a hard day's skiing. We would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Another example of good service that stands out is that we left a phone charger in the room; bought a new one when we got home and thought nothing more of it. One week later we received a parcel from Mavida returning the charger!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#9 of 42 in Zell am See
152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latini Hotel
Latini Hotel
#26 of 42 in Zell am See
143 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#11 of 42 in Zell am See
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See

Address: Kirchenweg 11, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#20 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#21 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: £98 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid a spectacular mountain landscape of the Austrian Alps, a few minutes walking distance from the valley station of the ski & hiking area “Schmittenhöhe” and the crystal-clear Zeller Lake, we have created a special retreat with a private atmosphere: The Mavida Wellness Hotel & Sport Zell am See. The special aspect about the Mavida is the combination and exclusiveness related to our 47 rooms/suites and his generously formed wellness-area with 1400m² Indoor - and Outdoor pool, Saunas and Relaxation rooms, varieties of selected beauty & body treatments. Unique personal spaces and relaxation. Every season have a very special offer in the region Zell am See: From alpine winter dream to the summer ski run on the glacier, the bike-and hiking trails at the Austria’s highest mountain the “Großglockner”. Our diversity of the sporting activities at Zell am See, combined with relaxing wellness hours, creates a perfect symbiosis for your freedom to stand out from everyday stress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavida Balance Hotel And Spa
Mavida Balance Hotel Zell Am See
Hotel Mavida Balance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing