We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with excellent location for skiing in Zell and Kaprun, friendly staff and very reasonably priced”
Review of Hotel Traube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Traube
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
attard
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel with excellent location for skiing in Zell and Kaprun, friendly staff and very reasonably priced”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed at the hotel in March/april 2013. It is within walking distance of the station and in the village of Zell am see so close to many shops, restaurants etc. Its is also only about a 5-10 minute walk from the bus station where one can take the shuttle to the slopes in Zell or otherwise to Kaprun, though we did not visit Kaprun on this trip. The hotel dinner is good and cheap. If one wishes to have a change there is a great bar/bistro in the basement which is very popular and reasonably priced. There are also many restaurants/cafeterias within walking distance and a supermarket etc. The places where we rented our ski epuipment were close by. We rented lockers at Schmittental at the foot of the trans express to avoid carrying equipment to our hotel every day. Booked everything over the internet and it all worked out really well. Very varied slopes for all levels of skiing. We had a wonderful time and hope to return.

Room Tip: I read that the rooms overlooking the lake are quieter but although our room did not overlook the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simone m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    43
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
29
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed here for a weeks skiing in early Jan 2013. Clean comfortable rooms with powerful showers (we stayed in the refurbished rooms-the older rooms have baths). Access to the reception is up a flight of stairs, though there was a lift from the heated boot/ski room. Small seating area in reception with PCs for free use and wifi throughout the hotel. Evening meals are very good, with unlimited bread and a limited wine list (Austrian Sauv Blanc is better than expected!) Great staff too!The breakfast is a bit of a let down, needs a refresh I think. There is a bar attached in the basement of the building which serves meals if you dont fancy the oily fondu offered on the last night (they put Reserved signs on the tables, but ask the staff and they are happy to let you sit there until the reservation time).

Its a short 10 min walk to the gondolas, and I would recommend renting a heated locker there so you dont have to schlep skis and boots up there everyday.

I would suggest planning your trip after the 14th Jan-that's when the Russians go home.

Room Tip: Mention when booking if you prefer a bath to a shower, and the lake view bedrooms tend to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stejaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed here in January 2013 for what has now become our annual ski trip. Lovely hotel in great location 15 mins walk from the cable cars (get a locker at InterSport by the cable cars and you wont have to trog the ski gear up the hill!). Whilst basic this hotel is VERY clean with lovely staff and lovely food. Only small downside are that some of the guests seemed to be a bit rude - but thats not the hotels fault. We had a great time there and would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed in Zell Am See right at the start of ski season. Hotel Traube is right in the middle of the town, which was pretty sleepy at the start of December - and totally dead on Sundays and Mondays - but livened up during the course of the week.

We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was okay but the bar in the evening was great - the food was really excellent, surprisingly so for a hotel of this size, and the bar was nice and pretty buzzing (though it's closed Sun/Mon). And the trump card is that there's a sauna, which was brilliant after days on the slopes.

The prices were pretty reasonable, a bit cheaper than we had expected.

I'd say it loses half a point for the ungenerous beds and bedding, which weren't all that comfortable, and another half for patchy wi-fi (ok in the bar, on-and-off in the rooms) - so four out of five.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I went skiing in Zell am See and Kaprun in March 2012 with my mother, (I forgot to write a review at the time). Hotel Traube is in a great location for bars, restaurants, shops and a short walk to the lake (beautiful).Suggestion: On the first day of skiing get a locker which saves walking up and down the (slight) hill with you skis. Also handy to the bus station if you want to ski Kaprun glacier. Hotel Traube - Pros: location, 3 course meal deal package, great little bar downstairs. Cons: small, basic rooms but adequate as you are there - I assume - to ski and not spend much time in your room. We skied March 11th for a week and the snow started to melt after a couple of days so we went to Kaprun glacier for most of the week. Get the bus early as it gets crowded. Staff member Tom in Hotel Traube restaurant always welcomed us with a smile.PS: Visit the big spa just ouside Kaprun. Wow!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bars and restaurant side. We had one overlooking the chalets towards th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Travelling as a family of four.

Booked a family room which turned out to be two separate rooms with a shared common entrance - note that only one of the rooms had a bathroom which was not a problem for us. Wasted 15 minutes trying to find our room as the hotel hadn't bothered to put the room number on the door - took a couple of trips down to reception to tell them we were having trouble finding the room before someone agreed to accompany us upstairs.

Rooms were simply furnished with wood veneer floors (Ikea style) with a reasonable amount of space. Each room came with a good flat screen TV - good for watching the European football championship! No aircon but this was OK even though we there in late June. Good location in the centre of town - it's not a big town so very easy to walk everywhere. Plenty of restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk. The beautiful lake was just a few minutes walk away.

Note that if you're arriving by car it's a little tricky to find the hotel since the front of the hotel faces onto a pedestrian-only street - had to park 50 metres away and pop into the hotel to ask for directions. Turns out that you can drive round the block to the back of the hotel (which is a very narrow street), unload luggage and then take the car to a public open air car park about 8 minutes walk away. You normally need to pay for the public car park but because we were there over the weekend, it was free.

Breakfast was included in the price - selection of breads, cold cuts, etc. Just about adequate - a little below the average that we experienced on our 2 week trip through Germany and Austria.

The broken bed? Sitting in bed watching the football when the bed suddenly started creaking and then the mattress collapsed. Pretty shocked as the bed looked pretty new. Turned out that some of the slats supporting the mattress had broken because whoever had assembled the beds had forgotten to instal some legs to support the centre of the slats. This happened around 10 pm - couldn't be bothered to go down to reception so we just put the mattress on the floor to sleep (very comfortable!). When we reported the broken bed the next morning, it didn't come as a surprise to the receptionist. Apparently a few other beds have had the same problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have just returned from a week's skiing in Zell am See. We stayed at the Traube as it fitted our budget requirement and I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. It is located in the heart of the town, just 5 minutes walk to the City Express lift (although if this seems too far in ski boots, lockers can be rented at the base of the lift for 4.70 Euros a day).
The rooms are simple but comfortable and spotlessly clean and there was always plenty of hot water in the shower.
We were booked on half board and the food was excellent, plenty of choice and always very tasty.
The staff are friendly and welcoming, especially Tom in the restaurant who is always happy to give advice and tips about the weather and the local resorts.
While we were there the weather was particularly warm which meant the snow turned to slush in the afternoons, so on a couple of days we finished skiing early and came down to enjoy the town which has plenty to offer including shops, bars, restaurants and leisure facilities and of course the possibility to walk by the beautiful lake.
All in all a great holiday in a great value, welcoming hotel. If I was going to stay in a hotel in Zell am See again I would happily choose the Traube.
The food is excellent,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 43 in Zell am See
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Glasererhaus
Hotel Glasererhaus
#19 of 43 in Zell am See
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#10 of 43 in Zell am See
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#22 of 43 in Zell am See
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lebzelter
Hotel Lebzelter
#11 of 43 in Zell am See
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Traube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Traube

Property: Hotel Traube
Address: Seegasse 4, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Traube 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Traube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traube Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing