We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May work for many, doesn't for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinderhotel Zell am See
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was our first, and probably last attempt, at the increasingly popular and wide-spread "Kinder-Hotel" concept in Germany and Austria. And it didn't take long into our 8 day summer stay at Hotel Hagleitner in the picturesque, if somewhat tourist-scarred Zell am See, for me to develop the theory underpinning the Kinder-Hotel's popularity in this part of the world: Germany (I know it's Austria, but let's not get technical, and culturally there is really no difference) just isn't very child-friendly. These hotels are the only places you can stay with children without forever feeling guilty that the gentle gurgling of your offspring may be disrupting your fellow traveller's afternoon routine of coffee and cake at the table next to you. Nowhere is this exemplified more than by the extistence of Hagleitner's ajoining sister hotel, Mavida, which brands itself as a design hotel, and caters very much to the opposite clientele.

Let me therefore direct my words at giving potential future guests of this hotel the kind of enlightenment I would have appreciated before we booked. This hotel is all about the kiddies. And they are everywhere, all the time. Adult time can really only be found in the Mavida's extensive spa, which is excellent. The grounds are decent, if a little cramped, but the lake is neither in sight, nor within reasonable reach. However, the hotel does share a private property on the lake, which can be reached 20 minutes by  bike or car, and was a much preferred alternative to the moderately sized pool in the hotel. The kids club is as good as one would expect, with very structured programmes throughout the entire day. This is useful, if your intention is to give the kids away all day (as may very well be appropriate for older children), but less convenient, if - like us - you only need a few hours of child care a day. Food is excellent most of the time, but again there are no separate dining times for children and adults. Indeed, dinner finishes at 8:30pm, so the few times we did try to get our angel to bed before we sat down to dine, we were challenged to still be served at all. Staff do their best to be friendly and helpful, though at times seem overwhelmed as there are just not enogh of them. Not surprising that the poor girl I saw cleaning windows before a full dinner service the same day called it quits the following day. Also not surprising that the general lack of staff results in a system of slightly odd rules, whereby dinner choices need to be made over breakfast, and if you miss the 2pm deadline to bid for an outside terrace table at dinner, you're confined to the indoor glass-covered restaurant which could easily also function as a sauna.

So, overall, a well-run, structured and kid-centric place with excellent food and spa and quaint, if over-run alpine sorroundings, that should definitely make those people happy who enjoy the complete freedom of a guilt-free holiday in Germany/Austria despite having children. It's a care-free oasis for families surrounded by a landscape that tends to see the nippers as a nuisance. And that, I'm afraid, is why it didn't work for us. We would rather spend our family time in an environment that caters for both big and small without the need for family ghettos.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shamal_PLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Good hotel, focusing on kids. Excellent playroom+cinema. Very good spa and bar at connecting hotel for adults (Movida). Shuttle bus whole day to the lift (2 mins drive). Spacious rooms, excellent breakfast and nice (albeit slow) dinners. Very good tea, beverages.

Only disadvantage - very weak mattresses, which require change and no elevators. But rest is from very good to perfect

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndersUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed here for 10 days in August. After a very poor start ( the taxi the hotel arranged didn't have the required car seats), we all had a fabulous time. Facilities for children are great. Ours are still talking about it and asking when can we go back.

The food exceeded our expectations and the evening arrangements where the kids food is a buffet works really well. As the outside play around is enclosed, the kids are able to play freely without constant supervision. This worked especially well in the evening when the kids headed off to play after eating their dinners whilst we sat on the terrace enjoying a leisurely paced meal.

Service was excellent both in the restaurant and kids club. It's great that the kids can use the club for whatever length of time they want rather than fixed sessions. Service from reception was not quite to the same standard but perfectly acceptable. Rooms are not especially stylish but are spacious and very functional.

We will go babk for sure.

Service was excellent at all times

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abro66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We have a 4 year old and Hagleitner offered us something different to other hotels/resorts. It is actually 2 hotels, Hagleitner which is for families and Mavida which is the opposite and geered towards adults wanting a spa/wellbeing break. We only used the Hagleitner facilities.

The room is like a sutie for families.with some simple kitchen facilities a couple fo rooms and a balcony. We didn't use the kitchen facilities (Ie: a hot plate, fridge, cupboards...) much as all as the Hotel is all inclusive but it was useful to have a place to store snacks and drinks. The suite was decent sized with space to sit in the vening plus a balcony when the kids are in bed.

We used the pools quite a lot which was fine. It was 30c+ mostly so we spent most time in the outdoor pool but on one day when we had an all day storm we did vlaue the indoor pool. We also sued the soft play a couple of times and the play facilities in the gardens (eg: zip wire a favourite).

The food was excellent and never stopped coming. The nice this wa shte blend of 'adult' oriented options in the evening while having a parallel childrens menu. Usually kids food is via a buffet which means they cna help themselves which is something I appreciate.

We used the bikesfrom the hotel a few times, agian being child friendly having a trailer/kids bikes is helpful.

The Hotel were at all times helpful including collecting us from the railway station and dropping us back at the end of the holiday at no extra cost.

All in all no complaints from me, excellent holiday and i'd certainly consider going back. .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We loved our stay here and this was our best holiday since the kids were born by far. The long trek from Ireland via Munich was worth it.! The food and the spa are two of the strongest points. The food is of a very high quality and there is differentiation between adult and child food at evening mealtime which makes a pleasant change. The kids have a buffet to choose from which is a huge plus. the theme nights are a good idea and over the 10 days the menu never repeated which we appreciate. The adult spa is vast with many different options to choose from. Staff are friendly and helpful. The location is superb. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CODriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Just returned with my family from a wonderful 10 days at the Hagleitner. I can't recommend this hotel more highly, everything was perfect for our honeymoon with our daughter. Plenty to keep us occupied, food was great, the staff worked very hard, and always had a smile for us. Non of us wanted to leave, and wished we had booked for a little longer. Our apartment was a perfect size for the three of us, and included wifi.

Really looking forward to the chance to be able to take another holiday here in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Erlberg apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jase2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hagleitnersa, Inhaber at Kinderhotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

We are happy to hear that you had a great time at our family hotel! Especially if guests have a special holiday - like their honeymoon - it is very important for us to do everything possible to make their stay unique. And it is super that we succeeded!

Hopefully we see you soon again!

Ilona Hagleitner & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We were during 10 days in May: mum,dad, and son 3 y.o. Most impressive for me is how everything convinient and well thought-out . You dont have to watch out your kids every second, and spend some time for yourself. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The food is good, but for us breakfast is not suitable due to lack of hot cereal (onli rice pudding) and pancakes. Mavida spa is highly recommended as well. If you thinking to visit I recommend you come to website of the hotel - a lot of pictures and information. Wanna back again

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nata25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hagleitnersa, Inhaber at Kinderhotel Zell am See, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Thanks a lot for your review! We are very happy you had a nice spring holiday in Zell am See and that your family could relax for some days!

We look forward to welcoming you again! Best regards,

Ilona Hagleitner & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
597 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
1,188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
1.3 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#9 of 42 in Zell am See
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinderhotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinderhotel Zell am See

Address: Karl-Flieher-Strasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria (Formerly Hagleitner KINDERHOTEL Zell am See)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#4 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: £279 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinderhotel Zell am See 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our hotel, giving your children or your partner a treat also means giving yourself a treat - with our newly defined family holiday concept combining two worlds, the young, colourful and exciting Family World and the quiet, elegant and pampering Parents World. We believe that you deserve dreamlike well-being days in our MAVIDA Spa that covers an area of 1,400 m2, and also a varied family holiday with your children in an Alpine lifestyle ambience.Come and enjoy SEVERAL types of holiday in ONE resort, with everythingfrom adventure to recreation, from fantasy to magic, from greatexcitement to deep relaxation, from wining and dining to enjoying familymeals, from variety to the unique!- family restaurant with breakfast, lunch buffet, cake buffet, dinner, all day long: fruits, coffee, cappuccino, espresso, hot chocolate and tea, cold soft drinks, baby and toddler food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kinderhotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hagleitner Family Balance Hotel Zell Am See
Hagleitner Family Balance Hotel And Spa
Hotel Hagleitner Family Balance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing