We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vitalhotel Glocknerhof
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Reviewed 8 March 2013

What a brilliant Hotel, Spotless and the staff and food was amazing.
i have travelled to over 20 different ski resorts and feel like i have found one i want to return to again and again.
This holiday i was away with friends but the resort and hotel caters for families as well. Highly recommended.
Pool and sauna was great and above all clean and if you do swim in out door pool then you must have a roll in the snow.
Only moan is the church bells next door that start at 7am and ring sometime over 50 chimes.........fine for us as thats the time we wanted to get up.Also you can still smoke anywhere in Zell am See. ok if you smoke
A 20 minute walk after dinner and you are in town. Perfect to walk off the 3 or 4 course meals that are exceptional.
Kebab place in town is okish..........i am Dave 2 kebabs.....mention my name for a discount.

Room Tip: Try and be opposite side of Church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013

Three guys on a ski holiday. Nice friendly staff, good selection and quality of food. The whole hotel was spotless. Great facilities in the pool area, Sauna, Steam etc. We would have no hesitation in returning one year. Only downside is a short taxi ride required to get back from the more lively areas of zell am see but only 8 Euros so did not see this as a problem, on the plus the ski lift is a few minutes walk away. Stay away from the kebab house opposite the station and if you must only one !!! ask Dave two kebabs ;-)

Room Tip: Right hand side can be loud as the church bells ring from 7.30 is, not bad for us as we wanted to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We just stayed here for the second time, and must say this hotel is not so good anymore. I think Austria has its own star rating system because this place is not 4 star for sure.
We did enjoy the food - a good selection available every day.
What we hated was:
The bar area is very small and always packed with smokers including the staff - it stinks, and you have to walk throught it to the dining hall. If you want to enjoy a drink before or after dinner and you don't smoke then forget it - you have to go elsewhere. We could not believe how people allow their small children to sit there in all that smoke!
There is a lot of noise from the bar area until the early hours including the bar staff - shouting laughing - really over the top.
The spa is only open a few hours a day.The showers are not private and you are clearly meant to be naked in there but they allow children to play in there?! It has a chilling-out area but forget it when there are screaming children everywhere.
They have no storage for ski equipment, the other hotels all do - so rather go there.
They only have german TV so forget on catching any CNN or anything - I guess they don't want international guests?
The church next door has an annoying clock tower and it seems there is very little air coming into the rooms so if you leave the window open you hear it every quarter hour.
Staff were generally nice, except for the owner (wife) who was very business like, and even though she knew we did not understand German - she would always answer us in these looong German sentences - well we got the message (speak my language or go away).
This hotel needs to decide what it wants to be - either a spa, or ski hotel, or family hotel - at the moment they try to be everything and they don't do it well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel is located near a busy road, also called on all day near the church.Rooms at 3 * All Inclusive * Level 2.Great reluctance on the bar staff when dispensing beverages, especially bartender Mara.Zell am See and its surroundings are beautiful, but in another hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are bad (church bell)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank o_zeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We visited Schüttdorf on a package skiing holiday. Everything in the hotel is ok, but a 4star? As we traveled with children a buffet formula for breakfast and dinner is ok. But still then the standards could be higher (plain calorie-rich ski-food). We really liked the soups, so there a plus for the chef. Strange that in wine you can only choose from red or white and only by glass. Where is this wine coming from? I prefer red, but their choice isn't fantastic.
The hotel is quite good equipped for skiing (groups) with a storage room, a parking next door, being close to busstation and Areitbahn. The spa is nice but sometimes loud when children also use it. The roomsize is also good and bigger than in most resorts. The element that was less ok was the second bed. It was a couch bed from not the best quality. This is not even close to 4star when you stay for a week. When you offer quadruple you should be able to offer all guest full quality bedding. I would rate it an average 3star tourist hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Daemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The best point for this hotel is the spa. I have been in a lot of hotels with spa and some just say they have a spa (with a small wooden sauna and a plastic jacuzzi). This hotel has a real spa area (at least 100mp) at the basement - you take the elevator in your bathrobe and come to the spa area. Two steam saunas, one infrared sauna, one wet sauna and an exterior pool (water pretty cold in winter though).

The next best thing is that in the hotel's parking (large good parking in the courtyard by the way) comes a bus where you can rent the ski equipment from. You just go inside and it is full with equipment. No more going on foot to rental shops. And at the end of the trip you just leave the ski equipment in the special heat room for skis of the hotel (another nice feature of this hotel which is clearly made for skiers - the room with a separate entrance from the parking where you leave your skis and boots overnight to dry).

Also, the free ski bus station is just 50 meters away. For me it was an excellent stay for the ski trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Codzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Imagine you are in Austria-beautiful landscape,rich country,usually high level service (e.g. when you go shopping the staff is sometimes even annoying so hard they want to be nice ),nice helpful village people....And now you come to the 4 * VITAL hotel Glocknerhof...Website very promising-all inclusive,internet,wellness area,swimming pool,nice pictures of the hotel and the garden with the pool (according to the picture functional also in winter),reasonable price....Well this is what you would actually expect as a standard in 4* hotel in Austria..At least that is my experience...Pool & internet (due to my work) is a must in a hotel..I guess this is not too much to ask for in 4* hotel.......But VITAL hotel Glocknerhof is different..I guess their website is a big joke..And you would find out yourself as soon as you'd arrive.But hey don't risk it !!! It's not worth it !!!...Better read this ;).....ALL Staff (I saw around 20 people during my stay) looked like they were ALL FIRED...I never saw so many frustrated faces in one place..I rather skipped the paid for lunches (which were anyway crappy-leftovers from breakfast transformed to kind of dish-even don't know how to name it) & coffee/cake (from 4-5pm) just not to see those faces...UNBELIEVABLE ...I do not ask you to stick your head into my butt,however to smile and be helpful to your guests is called ADDED VALUE !!!!........Now we come to the VITAL part...another joke..Why the hell are you calling your hotel VITAL when the wellness area is open for only 4 hours a day (from 4-8pm) ???? And swimming pool ?..Beautiful ,sunny day,25 degrees outside,11:30am and voila- pool CLOSED !!..HELOOOOOOOOOO???I had to go to the reception and ask them to open it..and you should see it,guests were waiting half a day for this moment..the garden & pool got full right away!..Is this what you call 4* VITAL WELLNESS HOTEL ???????...Well I don't think so...And what about internet ?..I desperately needed to do some work and needed internet..well I probably forgot I'm in 4* hotel & I can't have everything what they promised on their website....good guess-I DID NOT GET ONLINE BECAUSE THEY SWITCHED THE ROUTER OFF...but guess why - THEY WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO PRINT FLYERS FOR DINNER..so we were 3 days without internet connection & I had to buy an internet card from a shop....Usually when I go home from vacation I feel sad that is over..Unfortunately I was glad to leave this crappy,frustrated place !..Mystery remains : HOW DID YOU GET THE 4* ??......

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0_be_fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zell am See
0.1 mi away
Latini Hotel
Latini Hotel
#26 of 42 in Zell am See
149 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hapimag Resort Bad Gastein
Hapimag Resort Bad Gastein
#11 of 36 in Bad Gastein
68 reviews
24.3 mi away
Gut Wenghof - Family Resort Werfenweng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Gradonna Mountain Resort Chalets & Hotel
Gradonna Mountain Resort Chalets...
#2 of 3 in Kals am Grossglockner
226 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
1,200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#11 of 42 in Zell am See
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitalhotel Glocknerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitalhotel Glocknerhof

Address: Brucker Bundesstrasse 49, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Hotel Class:4 star — Vitalhotel Glocknerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vitalhotel Glocknerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing