We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb views, excellent service”
Review of Der Sonnberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Der Sonnberg
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Devon, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb views, excellent service”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

A beautiful hotel overlooking Zell am See. All the rooms are suites with private balcony. Our room also had a sauna. It was very peaceful and easy to get a good nights sleep.

The staff are friendly and speak excellent English. Nicole was very helpful when I had to find a pharmacist open on a Sunday.

The breakfast is very good and Nicole is always on hand to offer extra cups of coffee. The evening menu was of a high standard with an Asian twist.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell all the rooms were of a similar high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepusseycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
35
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We chose to stay in Zell am See because of it's beauty and close proximity to The Grossglockner; the highest alpine pass in Austria. My husband is a cyclist and climbing this col was a dream of his. Zell am See is a quaint and beautiful town on a gorgeous lake. The town has become quite popular with wealthy families from the Middle East in the summer.
The hotel is located right outside of town up and out of the way from the crowds but close enough to enjoy town.
Der Sonnberg has the best views in Zell and all the rooms have private spacious balconies/porches. We stayed in a suite, which I think all the rooms are. It was contemporary, clean, and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge and included a
sauna. Only generic shampoo, shower gel, but this seems to be common even in the most luxurious hotels in Europe.
The staff was very welcoming and warm and helped us get settled in even though we
arrived early. There is a large storage area for skis in the winter and we used it for my husbands bicycle; very convenient to the parking area.
I took a walk every morning and enjoyed the local farm animals and the incredible views of
the lake and mountains.
Breakfast was great with the wonderful European selection of breads, meats, cheeses,
granola, fresh fruit, and jams. The staff makes you whatever hot beverage you like;
cappuccino, latte, teas, coffee, hot chocolate.
Now for dinner. The absolute best meal we have had, ever. We have been to many places
in the States and Europe including the Michelin starred. This was #1. We ate outside on a
lovely night. Our waiter was excellent; friendly and professional. The food was perfectly
prepared and beautifully presented without being pretentious. Although Zell isn't close to
any Ocean the tuna was perfect. I enjoyed the best duck entree I have had and I have ordered duck throughout France! The waitress we had in a restaurant from town, the
previous night came to dinner here. That tells you something.
We were so taken with our meal, we spoke to the chef the next morning to thank him.
He is Top Chef and Der Sonnberg is Top Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same exquisite view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paintermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This hotel is so lovely, we had an apartment with two double bedrooms and a living/kitchen area. The staff could not have been more attentive, they were exceptionally helpful and no request was too much trouble for them. The food was unbelieveable - the best I've ever ahd on a holidaqy, each dish was like a work of art, chef, thanks so much, it really made our trip so special. The purpose of our trip was a ski holiday and though late in the season menat that snow in zel am zee was poor, we headed to nearby Kaprun each day. IT was great to relax in the sauna in our room after a long day on the slopes. The trip from town to the hotel reuires a car and a steady hand to navigate the road but the view from the hotel make this all worth it. Waking up each morning with such a wonderful view wasw a delight. This hotel is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifetime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed at the hotel as a group of 12 and had a simply superb time!
Der Sonnberg is a fascinating hotel with the most amazing staff, located in the most idyllic location in Zell am See. Suites are wonderfully comfortable, equipped, clean and decorated. A stylish modern ambient with an impressive panorama, which we will definitely cherish.

At it's restaurant we indulged in pure gastronomic pleasure, refined in such a warm atmosphere all in the creation of chef Thomas. Nicole is a true gem of Sonnberg Hotel and she made us feel right at home.

We hope to come back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjaLukic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed at Der Sonnberg for a couple of days this month. It was a lovely hotel with a terrific view of the valley and lake below. Nicole was extremely charming and made us feel right at home. The only negative is that the hotel is high on the surrounding hills around the town and can be difficult to go back and forth from. But, overall we enjoyed our stay a great deal and plan to come back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We stayed at the hotel for one week for our honeymoon, breakfast was included. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that we got 10% discount for the one week stay. We've read so many good reviews about the hotel, but still i was nervous because i didn't personally know anyone who stayed at the hotel. We booked a Junior Suite, and from the pictures, it looked amazing and was hoping that our expectations to be met when we see it in reality because sometimes the pictures can fool you.

We arrived at the hotel by car very late at night, around 9:30pm. We were greeted by the lady responsible for the hotel accommodation named Nicole. She is extremely friendly and very welcoming. The check-in was super quick, then Nicole guided us through our suite and showed us the rooms. I can't say enough of how much i loved the suite, it looked even better than the pictures, it was spacious with very nice decorations, the bathroom had a Sauna and a shower. The bedroom had a balcony with a superb view of the Zell Am See lake. The living room with dinning table along with a small kitchenette looked nice and spacious. It had a huge balcony with an overview of the lake.

We were so happy during our stay, myself and my wife consider our stay at this hotel in Zell Am See truly the best part of our honeymoon (we had our honeymoon in Paris and Switzerland also). It was extremely quite and peaceful so it was perfect for us. We can not complain about anything. The laundry was quick, the breakfast was delicious (must try the omelet, it was sooooo gooooood), it was daily served at the restaurant with an amazing view over the lake, the staff was SUPER friendly. Our stay was just wonderful. The only thing that is may be worth mentioning is that the TV doesn't have English channels except for CNN, but i guess who cares about TV when you're out all day long. However, i was told by Nicole that the hotel is planning to get satellite channels in the coming weeks.

I think what made our stay at the hotel extra special is the friendliness and helpfulness of the lady behind the counter by the name Nicole. She is just SUPER in every sense of the word.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a great and an amazing time in Zell Am See. I especially recommend it for couples for a wonderful and a romantic stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khalid_Romaih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

this hotel is the best you can get in Austria. Nicole is the heart and soul of Der Sonnberg. I appreciate her welcoming face and her concern and support to the gist, My stay in this hotel was the best during my trip defiantly I will back to this hotel for longer time

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eidy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#11 of 42 in Zell am See
387 reviews
1.4 mi away
Schloss Prielau Hotel & Restaurants
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 42 in Zell am See
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seevilla Freiberg
Seevilla Freiberg
#26 of 42 in Zell am See
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Sonnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Sonnberg

Property: Der Sonnberg
Address: Sonnbergstrasse 57, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#12 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Sonnberg 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the contemporary atmosphere of our 10 suites in a quiet place, panoramic view included. All suites with private sauna. 2.5 km from the center, and 250 meters above the roofs of Zell am See. In our restaurant "Kochatelier" you can enjoy with the eyes of the creative dishes and pamper your pallet with the taste of the diverse components. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Der Sonnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Sonnberg Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing