We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Der Sonnberg
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Der Schutthof(Zell am See)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seevilla Freiberg(Zell am See)
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Latini Hotel(Zell am See)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Neue Post(Zell am See)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Fischerwirt(Zell am See)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seehof(Zell am See)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sporthotel Alpin(Zell am See)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
70
10
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
10
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate saunaclean roomsrecommend this hotelsuitemartinacolmountainsbalconyhostszellprivacyslopessnowsummer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Me and my partner stayed for two nights at Der Sonnberg. Zell am See is one of the most beautiful places I've been to and our staying at Der Sonnberg was a very good experience. The manager and staff were very friendly, the suite was in great condition and the view breathtaking ! Excellent breakfast was served on the terrace, very intimate and quiet , just what you need on a holiday. It is 20 minutes walk from the main shops but the walk is definitely worth it. We would definitely go back and highly recommend as a very good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rezme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This hotel is Great. it is all suites of great size. they ae large, nice and with tons of natural light. the wooden floors are great and give the rooms a very classy look. The bathrooms are modern and very well equiped. each suite has a sauna!!!!!!
The view from the rooms is unparalell!! Stunning!!
The service is great: Prompt, precise but personable!!!
finally, Very rarely you find the good combination of a hotel where you have privacy, but the staff knows what younare doing when you are out of the hotel and care about it, even worry about you!!!
I would return to Der Soonberg many times! Highly recommended!!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Smpletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My wife and I stayed in Der Sonnberg during our honeymoon. The suite we stayed in was great and very spacious. It even had its own private Sauna. The view from our balcony was simply stunning. The suites were spotless and the bed were very comfortable.
Since we don't speak any German, the fact that the staff spoke perfect English was very helpful. The staff were very friendly and helpful in terms of providing us with tourism information. The hotel was not cheap but the the suite was definitely worth it.
Free cable TV including Arabic channels was a bonus and a nice way to unwind after a long day out.

However, there were a couple of disappointing things for a hotel of such standard. 1) We were changed extra (charge was per hour rather than a flat fee) for an ironing board. 2) the breakfast buffet which was included in the room rate had no eggs. We gad to pay extra to get eggs. They could do with a better breakfast buffet.

Also the location may be inconvenient for those who wish to come back to their rooms during the day. As the hotel is near the top of the mountain, the only way down to the city centre (and anywhere else) is by cab which cost a flat 10 Euros each way. I would have prefered staying somewhere more central.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasser T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonnberg, Geschäftsführer at Der Sonnberg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013
Google Translation

Auf Grund eines Betreiberwechsels hat sich auch das Angebot im Hotel Der Sonnberg geändert. Beim Frühstücksbuffet sind Eiergerichte inkludiert, und werden bei Bestellung durch den Gast frisch zubereitet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

IT.s a beautiful hotel, with an astoninshing view...
When i booked this hotel, i have seen in the reviews, that reaching it , you have to have a car.. Ok! but we didn't thought that it was the last hotel from the hill.
It was very uncomfortable for us, beeing a family with a 3 years old boy, to have the hotel so far from everything.
The breakfast was just ok, nothing special, and no hot meals.

If you are going to zell am see, to ski, then choice a hotel in a more accesible place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjcc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

During our 2 week trip to Austria and Germany, the Der Sonnberg was our 'splurge' hotel for 2 nights. After a harrowing drive up the narrow curving road, we were not disappointed. The staff was warm, welcoming and helpful. The generous suites were twice as big as anything we had stayed in and, of course, the views were amazing. Our first night visiting the town of Zell am See, I was surprised that 9 out of 10 visitors were from the middle east. During our 2nd night, Zell am See was hosting an Austrian folk singing festival. Watching the native singing groups and costumes was one of the favorite parts of my vacation. While staying in Zell am See area, I highly recommend driving the Grossglockner road and hiking up to the Krimmel water fall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie From WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews