We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good overall - but smoking ban can't come soon enough!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alpenblick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alpenblick
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good overall - but smoking ban can't come soon enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We visited this hotel for 5 nights as a family of 3 (including our 8 year old) in October half term. Booked on the internet for half board and the communications were excellent. The hotel is in Schuttdorf, just outside Zell am See and approximately 15-20 minute walk (nice, along the lake) to the main commercial centre of the town. Rooms at the front of the hotel have views of the mountains but not much of the lake.

Welcome was very good, with a free glass of bubbly and a good explanation of the hotel layout and facilities. The reception staff all spoke good English, and although we do not expect everyone to speak our language, it was a bonus in this case simply because my German is so shamefully poor!

Our family room was huge, very nicely furnished and had loads of storage, a lovely bathroom and very comfortable Austrian twin beds (2 single mattresses pushed together in a single bed frame with a king sized bed sheet but separate single duvets). Our son had a comfortable sofabed. There was also a safe in the room, free of charge.

The hotel had a lovely spa facility offering treatments and a great indoor/outdoor pool. Although it was October it snowed heavily when we were there, making the views from the outdoor section as the sun set over the mountains really atmospheric. There was also a fantastic child/teenager activity room in the basement, with internet connected PCs, Xbox, Playstation 3, Wii and table football. Some readers may be tutting at this point, but our 8 year old enjoyed it in moderation only, and not as a replacement for outdoor activities.

Food on the whole was very good, with an extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast (including an egg/omelette station. Choices for evening meal were made in the mornings at breakfast, but we like this kind of thing. Evening food was mainly good, but with 4 or 5 courses each night, understandibly some things were a bit hit and miss. Local house wine was very nice and excellent value, as were the drinks in general.

Our biggest bugbear was the bar. There IS anti-smoking legislation in Austria, but it is being implemeted very slowly indeed. If you smoke its great, back to the good old days in England, but if you do not, its awful, back to the bad old days in England. It seemed smokers vastly outweighed the non-smokers (possibly due to the 'mature' age of many of the guests), so best you could do was choose carefully where to sit, then just grin and bear it, which we did.

We were at the hotel between the main tourist seasons, and it was very soon clear that the hotel keeps going during these periods by taking a lot of coach tours on single night stays. Most were from Germany and all were of senior citizens. No problem really, except all the entertainment was aimed at that generation and was a bit samey. There was lots of local thigh-slapping music and dancing and bingo (yes, bingo!). The coach tour guests all seemed to enjoy themselves though and were universally friendly, so the atmosphere was good, and we had a few good laughs simply watching the action. The biggest shock to us was when there was a crossbow firing contest arranged for one elderly group, with real crossbow and real bolts. Nobody got hurt, but some of the participants struggled to keep the loaded crossbow steady and upright before firing. The health and safety bods in England would have had a fit if they'd seen such a thing going on back home, but they weren't there and all seemed to have fun!

The staff generally were couteous and bar service was pretty good. There was an extensive cocktail list, but these were all commercially premixed, so not the real deal but probably cheaper as a result.

All in all this family-run hotel tries pretty hard and comes up short on very little. The smoking issue will go away when the Austrians are ready and willing to do something more concrete about it. I would expect a very different guest age mix in the main seasons, which will probably mean more varied entertainment. Although not very close to any of the main ski lifts, there is a skibus stop right outside the hotel, with buses going all the way to the Kaprun Glacier (7km away) if needed. On that subject, we had 2 fantastic days skiing in October which was a real bonus, so worth bearing in mind if you're a ski nut!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorDaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    27
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
22
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

it was the first time for us in the Alpenblick and everything was outstanding.We loved the local cuisine, the spa area is excellent and the rooms spacious and clean. The hotel offerd free bikes to rent for trips around the lake. The free ski shutlle bus is leaving in front of the hotel and within 2 minutes you are at the ski station.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Probably the nicest and most helpful hotel staff, from cleaners to owners, you are ever likely to meet. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Bearing in mind that this hotel is used by skiers in the winter the rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was good and there is a good bar and we had good entertainment in the evenings. The lake is a 10 minute stroll from the hotel and the main shopping area is a 30 minute stroll beside the lake (as walked by someone with a heart condition). Do not miss going up to 1400 mtrs on the Areitbahn or sailing on the lake on the MS Schmittenhohe.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oapcameraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

Stayed here for 5 night in September 2008. When we arrived, we were given a welcome drink at reception and made to feel very welcome. We had been upgraded to a larger room free of charge, this new room was indeed beautiful and very spacious but we had to ask for another room as it was quite warm (no apparant air conditioning in hotel) and looked out over the front of the hotel over a busy road and part of the train line towards the mountains which we found too noisy. The receptionist was great and just booked us into a room at the back of the hotel which had a side view of the hotel garden. This room was still very nice, clean and above average size so we were more than happy.

The spa area is great, there is a good size indoor and outdoor pool, various saunas and steam rooms, rest rooms and there is a beauty consultant on hand if you want facials/ massages etc. We made good use of the spa as it rained a couple of the days we were there and we really enjoyed relaxing around the pool and using these facilities. There is also a nice garden area outside although you do get a bit of noise from the road.

The food is nice, there is always a choice of main course and on some evenings there was a buffet style themed evening, we were there when it was mexican evening! Generally, you got a starter, soup, salad buffet, main course and dessert. The service was good and the quality of the food was nice. I got the feeling the hotel was powering down a bit as we were there in low season, so i think if you stayed here in Summer or Winter, there would be even more choice.

There is a nice lounge/bar area, very spacious, a conservatory and terrace where you can have drinks and ice creams and free internet access in the reception area.

Parking facilities are good, plenty of room both outdoor (free) and a garage indoors (chargeable)

The staff were all extremely friendly, the hotel was spotless and was cleaned and hoovered regularly

The two things that go against the hotel are

1. Noise- this is only because of its location, on the busy road that runs round the lake that is the main road through the town. You also get some train noise but all the rooms are sound proofed which does work when you close your balcony door, and to be fair most of the hotels on this road and around the lake would have the same problem. The only way to avoid the road and train noise would be stay at the back of the town but that tends to be a bit hilly. I would still stay at this hotel though , just ask for a room at the back. The rooms themselves were quiet, and we didnt hear any noise from other rooms even though there were quite a few coach parties in.

2. Locations- you are about 15-20 mins walk out of the town centre and not directly on the lake. Again, this isnt a problem if you have a car (lots of parking in town centre) or you dont mind using the bus which stops right outside the hotel every half an hour and would only take 5 mins to get you into town.

You are also a bus/car ride from the main cable car, but that is the same for all hotels in the centre as the cable car is at the back of the town up a hill. There is the city express cable car in the town centre, but this one was closes in early september. You can still go up the mountain using the other main cable car at the back of town.

I would definately recommend this hotel and would go back and stay there. It would be perfect if it were located a little nearer the town centre and had a bit of a quieter setting but it is almost perfect as it is so go and enjoy!

  • Liked — The spa area, the food, the friendly staff
  • Disliked — some noise from the road and train, out of the town centre
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuddlyelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
1.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenblick

Property: Hotel Alpenblick
Address: Alte Landesstrasse 6 | 5700 Zell am See, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#11 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpenblick 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alpenblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Alpenblick Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing